2005 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2005 Dodge Durango Limited 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6200 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

The Durango and it's HEMI motor are by far the most awesome car/truck I've ever owned

Faults:

A flat tire, caused by a nail.

General Comments:

This is an awesome truck.

It is faster than my 99 Durango, by a LOT.

The ride is smoother, and the appointments are much nicer. It's bigger and is more functional than my 99.

The best ride I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

2005 Dodge Durango from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Death trap

Faults:

Heads up to potential Dodge Durango buyers! I rented a low miles All Wheel Drive well equipped model while on a ski trip in Colorado last February (2005). While driving up the mountain pass in pretty poor snow conditions the car suddenly veered hard to the left. I've driven without an accident in all kinds of weather conditions for over 30 years and in my opinion the car was not controllable.

I think the wheel might have fallen off. We went off the road front first down a boulder strewn path (big boulders - like several feet diameter) and ended up about 20 to 30 feet below the horizontal plane of the road way. By the grace of God the boulders formed a stair step pattern that safely carried us down. Pure luck. One of the front wheels was detached and pinned under the car where it came to rest. Fortunately, no one was hurt. I'll give the car credit for taking the 'bumps' fairly well! But it ended up being totaled. Sure that most at the accident scene thought it likely that the wheel came off on the way down... but from the way it initially handled... I really believe it fell off earlier before we left the roadway and is what caused the accident. No way to prove it though.

I would never consider buying one of these vehicles. I consider myself lucky to be alive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2005

27th Aug 2005, 17:52

Well you had some great, good luck with your accident there. But why the reveiw? You know nothing of the vehicle over the years and only rented it. So what right do you have to post a review on a vehicle that you rented?

And the wheel problem. Well I don't know what really happened, but it sounds like poor maitanance and serious abuse was done to that car before you drove it. Typical rental.

10th Sep 2005, 19:19

The ball bearing joints are a real issue, and would not be surprised to learn that this will be an issue with the 2005. Great review. Keep up the good work. I wrote a similar review on the same year/model and a couple of car salesmen chewed me out!

19th Oct 2005, 05:09

My friends rented an 05 Durango this past weekend while driving to Orlando from Miami. The vehicle began to make some noise just before the driver lost control of the vehicle. Both front wheels fell off and the vehicle flipped 3-4 times. Two out of the eight occupants were killed. I've searched the net for similar incidents involving the Durangos and I have found they have a history of problems with the front wheels. I'm sorry for those who defend the vehicle, but this was serious and considering it's history it was just a matter of time before this happened. I must admit that being a rental, it may not have received the proper maintenance either.

7th Oct 2011, 02:54

Sounds like maybe the wheel came off due to improper installation of the wheel.

2005 Dodge Durango from United Arab Emirates

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Faults:

The AC has not worked properly from purchase at brand new. We have just taken it to the dealer for its 1000km service and they said there was nothing wrong with it. We made them test our AC with an identical model using a temperature gauge and in our presence. And guess what.. after five minutes our gauge showed 25 deg and the other vehicle showed 16 deg! They have said they are looking into it.. I have only just discovered that the internet is full of Durango complaints and I am now really concerned that we have bought a money-pit and my AC is just the tip of the iceberg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2005

8th Jan 2006, 21:54

Odd... Mine has had zero problems and I have 36k miles on the 05 model. Fast, smooth and powerful. Dealer has been good too.

21st Jan 2006, 02:41

Good luck to the person who's getting good service from their Dodge dealer in the UAE. You obviously work for them, otherwise I'm sure you would want to speak out the truth. I have totally given up on intelligent life being found in Rashidiya!!

29th Apr 2008, 14:25

I own a 2005 limited 5.7 Hemi in Saudi Arabia.

I have have no problems at all.

It has a superb engine, very comfortable (I'm a frequent traveler), very nice sound system, a lot of space to put things, 6 cup holders, far back seats are much more comfortable than any of the SUV's in its class, sound control and cruise control in steering wheel.

The only not so good thing I can think about is the abundance of plastic in the interior.

The dealer in Saudi is known for being crap, but I know someone although I never needed the dealer for anything other than routine checkups.

Again great engine and sound system, best things on the car.

8th Feb 2010, 23:59

2004 Limited, bought 2nd hand with 35k kms on it. I have used and abused this vehicle to no limits. And love the hell out of it. Very powerful, very comfortable.

It's laughed on cars in its segment like the Nissan Armada, which cost so much more. Note I said 'laughed', because back in 2004-2008 there were not many better cars its size with such value for money. It's not built for the Gulf heat. But is still a fantastic option within its budget.

I recommend any Durango owner to throw out the engine fan and place a radiator-mounted fan (blackmagic e-fan fits) as it solves most GCC problems. Other aftermarket parts do wonders.

Great car. Much recommended. Stealership is sh** :( Running 200k kms now.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews