29th May 2008, 00:20

I just started having the stalling problem mentioned above, and found this info that might be useful to others:


10th Jun 2008, 23:33

My 2005 Dodge Durango is surging and stalling at low speeds. The other day it quit when I was waiting to turn against oncoming traffic!

Have taken it to dealer twice and they've cleaned the throttle body and replaced the spark plugs. Waste of time. Didn't get 300ft from dealership before it started surging and the check engine light came on.

Looked on the net and there is a TSB update regarding some software download that the dealership did that is supposed to fix this problem - no luck. Anyone else?

11th Jun 2008, 10:46

Wednesday June 11th 2008 - I am having the same problem with stalling. The truck will run most times up to 30 minutes and then the truck just dies! If I have a full tank the gas reads empty when it not and near the mileage it reads I thought No Gas but see everyone is listing no bus. I also have the 1999. The truck used to start 20 minutes later now it takes well over two hours to cool down. What can I do here as I lose power steering and have almost crashed to to the power shuting down. Something is wrong here and someone is going to get killed. I think Dodge needs to step up and let everyone know what is wrong here!!! Please help with any info.

Thank You and be Safe if you have one of these!!!

12th Jun 2008, 13:39

I also own a 99 Dodge Durango. It stalls, NOBUS. Very frustrating and scary. It is currently in the shop. My mechanic replaced the computer, took it for a drive and it died again. Can't we get together and sue?

16th Jun 2008, 11:35

I also have a 1999 Dodge Durango that stalls with the NO BUS error message. Very frustrating and dangerous. Saw several people have replaced the pcm, is this a definite fix? Tried numerous other things with no solution. Was wondering if it is just a bad connection if the new pcm makes a difference.

23rd Jun 2008, 10:46

Folks, yes you need to replace the PCM as I have replaced mine two weeks ago and all is fine now. Do NOT take it to the dealer (Dodge) or you will pay up to 1200 to 1800 for work that is NOT needed. Go on line (Ebay store) and order a rebuilt PCM for 198 dollars as this is the cheapest route to go there is NO need to buy a new one! It will only take a few minutes to replace the part (3 screws) just make sure you disconnect your battery when installing.

Good Luck to all - This is really an easy fix - Remember stay away from the Dodge dealer!! Save time and money do it yourself.

1st Jul 2008, 13:48

Update to my June 16, 2008 comment. I found the PCM on Ebay for $199. Changed it, and have not had a problem since. Thanks to everyone here for their comments and help.

25th Jul 2008, 17:49

Another 99 SLT owner. Having similar stalling, but short-lived before the car wouldn't run at all. Mine rumbled at stops as if trying to stall, but then drove OK. After parking it was sluggish upon starting as if the battery was dying. When it started it just as quickly shut down, however, all my gauges work, no check engine light goes on, and I haven't seen nor do I understand the NO BUS everyone is speaking of.

I'm replacing the battery tonight to see if I can at least get it to start to diagnose other possibilities. I jumped it the other day and it would only start and shut-off over and over. After disconnecting the jumper cables, it wouldn't start at all.

I'd sell it once I get it running, but I'm saddled with this albatross. I've replaced the engine. Note: Heed the warnings - my oil light turned off and on even though a check of oil was fine and the car ran well. I blew my engine 1/2 way into Utah in the middle of nowhere.

Also, my transmission refuses to shift in cold weather until it warms up, and then intermittently, and it has started to do it even in summer.

The stereo decides when it wants to work and the driver window gets stuck.

I'd junk it if I didn't need it. I'll never buy another Dodge because they don't back-up their product, they just stick it to you for repairs.

6th Aug 2008, 23:10

2000 Durango 5.9, cop engine, cop transmission, cop wheels... (blues brothers).

Started having No Bus problem when it got really hot here in Colorado. New $200 refurb ECU from www.allcomputerresources.com and vehicle is back on the road. If you return your ECU with their prepaid return postage, they give you a lifetime warranty. This is really a do it yourself problem. Get mileage reading, disconnect battery, unplug 3 easy to get at connectors (left side of engine compartment, outside of air box on the fender), remove 3 8mm screws to remove ECU, get your VIN, call 1-866-699-5230 and give them the info they ask for, pay 200, wait a couple days (+$40 for overnight), mount and connect ECU, hook up the battery, start the thing and haul ass.

These guys are on eBay with 100% feedback too, I highly recommend them, service was great and I had a new ECU in two days! They kick ass. PS As noted by a few others, it is highly possible that the IAC took out the ECU. If you are getting No Bus (turn key on and wait a minute, and it will display in the mileage window) you will definitely need a new/refurb ECU. You should also test the IAC as noted in a tech bulletin that has been posted within this thread; not necessarily a do it yourself task.

24th Aug 2008, 11:06

I, too, own a '99 Durango that I bought new. I've never experienced the stalling problem, but I certainly sympathize with those that have.

We are amazing! We replaced a distributor that had $2.00 points that required cleaning every two years or so with a thousand dollar computer. Remember when an engine needed only air, fuel and spark to run? And all three requirements could be checked in two minutes (and you didn't need a "scanner")?

4th Sep 2008, 08:47

OK - I guess after reading 5 years worth of essentially the same issue - I'm going to add my own dilemma.


5th Sep 2008, 17:42

To the Sept. 4 posting:

I'm surprised your Durango doesn't have bullet holes in the hood! What a frustrating series of troubles! I'm guessing, but it seems that the PCM (Power Control Module) has gone squirrelly on you. Thankfully, it is an easy changeout and they are available on eBay for a very reasonable price. Good luck.

10th Sep 2008, 01:02

Never buy a Dodge!

I had a 99 Dodge Durango that had the stalling problem. Once it happened to my wife with the 3 kids in the middle of an intersection. That was the last straw. We bought a new 2005 Dodge Durango. Well after 3 years and 30,000 miles, the stereo stopped working and the keyless entry, and the speedometer. I was told I would have to replace the computer cluster for $1,100.00. I will never buy another Dodge product again. Hello Toyota.