2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Above average vehicle, below average dealer

Faults:

Adjusted mileage! Rear brakes were metal to metal, spark plugs & wires needed replaced, transmission leaks fluid, tie rod ends were extremely worn.

General Comments:

This a one of Dodge's best thus far! Unfortunately, the Paul Sherry Dealership in Piqua, Ohio sells vehicles that it knows are beyond questionable. This vehicle has had the miles adjusted prior to my acquiring it. Thus far, I can prove that 6,000 miles were rolled off and the mechanics that have reviewed this vehicle have estimated that more likely 60,000 miles were rolled off. I am currently working to bring suit against this dealership. My recommendation is to NEVER buy a car from this dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

Look at a Honda or Toyota first

Faults:

In three years with less than 15,000 miles, my van has had the serpentine belt changed FOUR or more times- I've lost track.

Two dealerships have been unable to fix it in spite of following a Chrysler directive to change a bad pulley and mount.

General Comments:

Van is ok- except for the screeching while motor is running and the fear I have of being on a highway and losing all power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance67576 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Good grocery getter and vacation machine

Faults:

Not much to report. Recently I noticed a couple of spots under the Engine area and discovered that a fitting on the Transmission cooler has a slow drip. I will be taking the Van in soon for it's first shop visit.

Serpentine belt starting squeaking recently, but it is supposed to be replaced at 60k anyway, no big deal I guess.

General Comments:

I wish this Van had more power. The handling is OK, but could use some improvement. I'm getting set to install new front springs from a ES minivan. That will actually lower the Front about 3/4 of an inch. On the back I'm going to put a Helwig sway bar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

A real lemon

Faults:

Our problems with this van seem to be endless. The windshield wipers don't work half of the time, they either stop half way between swipes, or they just don't work at all. They have replaced the motor on this twice.

The key gets stuck in the ignition, and we are unable to put it in park. So far they have repacked the barrings on this twice. The first time they "fixed" it, it happened again in the dealers lot.

The interior lights go out from time to time, they asked me if I know how to turn them on and off correctly.

The entire van makes horrible squeaking noises as if the van had no shocks. This happens more often when the weather is cold.

General Comments:

This van is a big disappointment. I have never paid this much for a vehicle and it sickens me to know that I will only have more problems in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A lemon wrapped in a pretty package!!!

Faults:

We have had this card for 2years and have replaced the serpentine belt 7 times. We took the car in on four consecutive weeks and they put 2 regular serpentine belts on it, adjusted the tension and the last time they put a heavy duty belt on it. This heavy duty belt just went up again after 3 weeks. This one was torn in shreds and left us stranded. They continue to replace the belt along with adjusting the tension areas, oiling, etc. No real reason why it continues to happen.

The interior dash lights and overhead lights flicker periodically. They cannot find the cause.

General Comments:

It is very roomy and comfortable for our family (two small children in car seats).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

22nd Feb 2003, 19:46

If you read other posts on this site, you will see that I have had the same bad performance with our 2000 Grand Caravan. In review, we have the sporadic interior lights flickering on and off (ghost like!) at odd times, but usually upon braking (locks click up and down also!) We had the S-belt slip off and replaced at 40K miles just last October 2002, and again just yesterday (Feb 21,2003) at 44K miles, for no apparent reason. (YES, less than 4 months later, leaving us stranded again!) The shop replaced the belt, tensioner, and adjusted all pulleys. I had filed a complaint with Dodge in Oct., but never followed through with their reply... I sure will now!!! We are trading this piece of junk ASAP, and going Toyota or Honda!!!

10th Jun 2003, 08:02

My 95 Caravan has the locks clickling and lights on also because the sliding door sensor is shot. This is the second time in 6 years. We probably slam it too hard. Was reading your comments in consideration of a newer one. No automatic door feature with my old model.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews