2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE Flex Fuel 3.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles

Summary:

Love my old Caravan. Best vehicle in the world. Sure it's got problems, but we've stuck together

Faults:

Fuel pump, power steering pump, radiator and hoses, alternator, and head gasket.

General Comments:

I've had some trying times with this van, but it still runs like a dream hard working vehicle. Thumbs up for my soccer Dad van, and it's very quick and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2013

22nd Dec 2013, 23:47

Hi, I have a 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE that I put over 233 thousand miles on. The engine and tranny have never been out. This is one of the best cars I've ever had.

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

Great car for family or as a work vehicle

Faults:

Started having problems after we had the engine flushed.

Brakes are very bad because they used car brakes instead of truck brakes when they were building car.

Moderately good in snow.

General Comments:

Cabin is roomy and comfortable, but the turning circle is very large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2011

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance100100 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

I have a 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport with just over 100,000 miles. When I put it in gear, I get a sort of chirping noise. Can you tell me what may be causing this? It seems to be coming from the passenger side, and happens with and without the A/C on.

Also, what is the life span on these vans?

General Comments:

Runs pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2010

15th Jul 2010, 17:32

If it's the noise that I am thinking of, I think that's just a "Chrysler Thing." Listen to it more and see if you can hear it when you are coming to a stop, or better yet, see if you can hear it on another Chrysler product. Like I said, without hearing the noise, I cannot tell you much, but I'm thinking you are fine. I've driven Chrysler's for years and I've had 2 of their minivans. If they are maintained, especially the 3.3, they can last forever. The last one I had, a 1999 Grand Caravan, I sold it to my sister at 245,000 miles. She is still driving it 4 years later. But, same goes for any vehicle; maintain it properly, and you should be good to go.

1st Nov 2010, 16:39

Check your serpentine belt tensioner/pulley! We had a similar but intermittent chirping sound from the same area you described, but ignored it (van had over 100K and wasn't the water pump or fan belt chirping I've heard on others). Then one day my wife heard a "clunk" and lost power steering, alternator charging power and engine temperature started climbing higher. Fortunately she was pulling into our driveway and immediately shut the van off. I found that the belt tensioner pulley had broke off from its mount and the belt driving all critical systems above had come off. I'd recommend that you replace the tensioner ASAP before you have a major problem, as these fail often.

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Not very exciting, but extremely reliable

Faults:

Have had this vehicle for 7 years, and have had very few problems. Problems include:

- Speed sensor failure at 83,000 KM

- A/C compressor failure at 190,000 KM

- Intermittent dash cluster failure 200,000 KM (just re-soldered a few connections and changed a few bulbs)

- Valve cover gaskets, timing chain cover gasket and water pump 213,000 KM.

The sum total of all these repairs cost me under $2000, which is not bad for 7 years (I'm not a mechanic, but was able to do most of the work myself). Other than this, it's been just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

It's a mini-van, which isn't very exciting to drive, but it sure works well, and has been virtually problem free.

I made this purchase very cautiously, because I heard they were prone to tranny failures. I have not had any tranny problems so far, and I'm getting ready to say goodbye to the vehicle now, so that I can get something a bit newer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2010

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired122900 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Faults:

This car fuel pump broke at 123,000 and the oil leaks really bad. It seems like a good car beside these problems. I don't know who owned the car before I had it, but I had it for a week and it's been in the mechanics for a few days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2010

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews