2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8460 miles
Most recent distance37880 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

O.K. performance at reasonable price

Faults:

The metal strands on the serpentine belt broke on June 17, 2002. We had to duct tape the belt to drive the vehicle to the nearest garage. Tensioner and serpentine belt were replaced. The serpentine belt was replaced at the Dodge dealer on April 14, 2002 or eight days after my 36,000 km tune-up at the same Dodge dealer.

Rear brake pads was replaced on June 14, 2001 after 23,500 km. Front brake pads were squeaking replaced at 42,000 km and were later replaced in early July 2002.

Cigarette lighter fuse blew 3 to 4 times in 2001 so I stopped using the cell phone charger in the vehicle.

General Comments:

Overall, the vehicle uses a bit more gas than my old vehicle, but it has lots of rooms for cargo and passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

We will NOT by Dodge again

Faults:

Unknown problem with door closed sensor, causes sporadic cabin lights to come on upon hard braking. Dealer unable to reproduce problem (in the shop, they didn't feel the need to do a road test)

Factory brake pads on drivers side failed at 5000 miles!

Transmission sensor failure caused over-acceleratingof engine. Had to be towed for warranty repair.

Factory battery failed at under two years.

And finally, most recently, only 41,000 miles, the serpentine belt simply slipped off. luckily I was inspecting the squealing at the time and was pulled off the interstate. Had to be towed a second time.

General Comments:

The failure of the serpentine, at only 41,000 miles is ridiculous. To simply "slip off" is a serious design flaw in the system. I read another comment from a 1999 Grand Caravan owner, stating his failed the same way. I think the odds of two of these events, with only a few comments on this site, should have Dodge re-examine their product. I will be writing their customer support, since the local dealer blew off my complaint!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

19th Mar 2003, 21:34

The belt failed again (simply popped off) at 44K miles last month.. only 4 months since the original belt came off.. had to get towed again. Guess what.. I traded this piece of crap for a 2003 Honda Odyssey two weeks later and WE LOVE IT. I complained to Dodge.. no concern from them. I do not and will not recommend a Caravan to anyone... BEWARE!!

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport 3.3L V6 MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

Not a bad car, though not a perfect one

Faults:

Right brake signal bulb burned out five times already, probably because of some minor electrical problems. No other bulbs have never done so.

Once, when I washed the car, some water got inside through the left rear window, because of an isolation problem.

General Comments:

This car is not really mine, but my father's. I drive it sometimes. Not a bad car, but Lada Samara remains my favorite.

This car is too large for me. I always drive it in the middle of the road - I can't see the edge, since the car is so wide! Sometimes, other drivers signal me to go fully in one lane.

Power brakes, power steering, and ABS make driving much easier, especially for such a heavy car. Automatic transmission also makes it easier, but I'd rather a manual. Unfortunately, you can't have it with this model.

Acceleration is very good, but fuel consumption is high comparing too many other minivans of about the same size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance49753 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Very reliable and comfortable for three kids, luggage and tent

Faults:

Tires that came on it from the factory were not very good.

General Comments:

After changing the tires to a six ply performance tire and changing the Struts and shocks, the handling is about what it should be from the factory.

I haven't had any problem with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A real pleasure driving this vehicle - best vehicle I've ever owned!

Faults:

The rear dome light won't go on. No fuse info in the owners manual. No clues on how to get at the bulb.

Lights, Oh, Yes, Lights. Nice having that ding, ding, ding when I forget and leave my lights on when I turn off the engine, remove the keys and open the door. But, did you know that if you have your lights on and pull into a parking spot, shut off the engine — that after about two hours the windshield wipers start up veeerrrry sloooowly without being switched on? Yes, it happens! In fact you can't shut them off! It is then that you attempt to start the engine and find that the battery is dead!

General Comments:

How about a CD with the factory service manual included in what I paid ($37,000 with all the extras).

Owners manual should include lamp replacement info like how to get the front map lamps out to replace or how to get the rear dome lamp out.

These are thing I will have to trust to my Dodge dealer under warranty. What a waste of money doing that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance26963 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Reliable and comfortable vehicle

Faults:

Nothing so far. Transmission shifts from Reverse to Drive slower than I think it should, going to have the dealer look at it before the warranty runs out.

General Comments:

Haven't had any trouble. The ride is softer than I prefer. I wish I had bought the Sport model with the firm suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

22nd Mar 2003, 14:27

We got the sport model with the 3.8L engine and the heavy-duty suspension, and yes it handles excellent, but after one year the suspension completely crumpled. Excellent ride to New York, but could be better with the gas. suspension doesn't make a diff.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews