2000 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Dodge is junk

Faults:

This van is a real peice of junk!! at 32000 miles we had to put a tranny in it. the van leaks water at the end gate. were I can't tell now at 67000 miles it is ready for another tranny. i will not ever buy another dodge product. so I must say ford here I come again...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Voyager

Summary:

A potential death trap when driven in the rain

Faults:

The serpentine belt has come off three times in the last 5 months.

Have replaced the tensioner 3 times in the last 5 months.

I had to replace the lock on the steering column.

General Comments:

This vehicle is a death trap. When driving in the rain, the serpentine belt will come off the pulley, leaving you with no steering. I have had the belt and tensioner replaced 3 times in 5 months, always by a Chrysler dealer and can't get them to admit they have a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

16th Apr 2004, 19:23

Perhaps because the Caravan is one of the (if not the) best selling vehicle in the US, and recalling all of them would be an incredible hit to Chrysler's profits?

23rd May 2004, 15:07

I'm having a problem with my dodge 1996 grand caravan, whenever it rains, it also rains inside, on the passenger side. It comes in right behind the glove compartment. I have not had my windshield replaced, and the passenger side window is up all the way. It's very annoying and smelly. Anybody got any solutions?? Thank you.

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

We are going to replace this vehcile with a different minivan as soon as possible.

Faults:

We have had to replace the brakes three times.

We already have to buy new tires for the second time.

General Comments:

We have been told replacing the brakes about every 25,000 miles is typical on this vehicle.

We can't seem to get the front end to stay aligned for any length of time, yet we are told our tires are wearing quickly because we don't rotate the tires enough.

The dealership refused to accept responsibility for replacing the left front tire because of front end problems. We had to go to a tire store to get a replacement at our cost.

The dealership kept telling us there was nothing wrong with the front end and that we just needed to align it more often and the dealership was the only place to get it done right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

21st Jun 2005, 00:16

Hell of a good point. Chrysler cars are as good or as bad as any other damn car. People should learn to provide manteinance and take care of cars as it is supposed to. This way they will give you good service.

26th Dec 2006, 11:34

Replacing brakes at 25,000 miles sounds VERY unrealistic. In 240,000 miles our Dodge had only TWO brake jobs.

10th Mar 2007, 19:42

Hey...defiantly the same situation here, coming from an old Chrysler loving man I have had very few problems with my cars and brake jobs are very few and far between, it's all driving style in my view... you can't expect too much from certain vehicles.

2000 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

A very poor choice as a used vehicle

Faults:

Brakes required replacing 3 times, averaging 10,000km per set of pads, and 20,000km per set of rotors.

Serious valve cover gasket leak at 138,000km.

Rear shocks required replacement at 138,000km.

Water pump failed at 155,000km.

Wiper arm snapped off while in use at 155,000km.

Brake light switch failed at 155,000km.

Rear wheel bearings began to howl at 160,000km.

Battery died at 160,000km.

Air conditioning failed at 170,000km.

General Comments:

I purchased the van with high kilometres, thinking I was saving. Not only was I faced with ongoing repair/maintenance issues, but the resale value plummetted. At 170,000km, in spite of being in excellent condition, I am forced to practically give the van away, as its reputation has now preceded it.

The van is extremely practical, comfortable, and enjoyable to drive; but unless purchased new, with all the warranty available to man, I would avoid buying another one.

My next vehicle will not be a Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

19th Apr 2005, 12:04

Any vehicle over 100k is going to start costing money- it's a fact of life- its all about the maintenance.

21st Jun 2005, 00:21

Air conditioner failed at 170.000? Men, you are a really lucky guy. Not the best A/C system in the world could last so long.

26th Sep 2005, 19:01

Our 2000 Grand Caravan is at 221,000 kilometres and the original A/C still works, the rear shocks and front struts need replacing which is reasonable for the mileage, the only problem was a blown transmission at 190,000 km and the fact that it is rotten all over. other than that it's just been the odd $400 repair every couple years.

28th Aug 2010, 00:49

Some times it doesn't matter how good the car is. I have a 2004 Honda CRV. One of the best cars out there. The AC compressor just went out at only 108,000 miles. And my engine light is always on. I have already had to replace the serpentine belt as well. Although I think that is typical on most cars after a 100 thousand miles. Some times we just have bad luck buying cars. I know I sure do.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews