1993 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1993 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance98670 miles

Summary:

A great first car

Faults:

AC failed a few months after buying it.

Passenger side window is slower than the rest.

General Comments:

Generally a good car with good acceleration and handling.

Can take quite a beating. I know because it took out a guardrail.

Headlights are terrible and the headlight covers are burnt a little it seems on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

1993 Dodge Intrepid ?? 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

If you like to hitchhike. This is the car for you

Faults:

The alternator died after a week of use.

Three of the power windows failed.

I changed the fuel pump twice, not to mention the time it was changed before I bought it.

The windshield wipers do not turn on. When they do they don't turn off.

The headlights stay on after they were switched off.

The car blew countless fuses.

Thermostat caused it to overheat.

The radiator fans shorted out.

The ball joint separated from the control arm (both sides).

General Comments:

The car can pull it's weight when you need it to.

It's big and roomy also.

On a more positive note the car did start reliably in very cold weather. I live in northern Minnesota.

From the moment I bought it I had trouble with it.

In slippery conditions the front end slides where it wants to when it wants to regardless of the tire condition.

I've had this car for nearly two years and it's sat in the garage for more than eight months of the time.

This car has died numerous times while driving, leaving me stranded on the side of the road.

I realize now it's just not worth the effort to keep it running.

Just don't buy one. Please.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2003

9th Apr 2005, 22:42

If you bought your car used, it sounds like it was the previous owner's fault that it ran so poorly. A car has to be taken care of, not dogged out to the max (which may account for the transmission problems, if any, you had among the others) My advice to you is to do better research on a vehicle before you buy and take care of it when you do get it. This includes regular maintenance. This is not written to criticize, but just to offer some advice as to why you have had so many problems with the vehicle. The previous owner may have had a lot to do with it (if it was a used vehicle).

21st Apr 2009, 12:58

I have one and I live in Canada. Always starts well though. Mine's a 3.5.

1993 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance216000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

If you don't want to go to work in the morning, then buy an Intrepid. You can bet it won't start

Faults:

The Intrepid has failed me and left me stranded many times. It tends to not want to start in the morning when I have to leave for work. It has made me late for work 3 times in the past 4 months because of not starting in the mornings. Taxi fares across town here are expensive.

This list is only what I remember. I know there would be more to add if I remembered it all.

Head gasket.

Intake gasket (2x).

3 sets of brakes in the past year.

3 tie rods in the past year.

Ball joints (2x).

Sway bar links.

Catalytic converter.

Alternator died on a cold morning.

Spark plugs failed on a cold morning.

Thermostat caused it to overheat.

Air conditioning has failed so many times I've lost count.

Numerous fuses have blown, including the main fuse which kills the car immediately and shuts it off. This has happened twice.

Headlight assembly has broken and the dealer quoted me over $500 to fix this. Needless to say it's still broke.

Overall this has been the most unreliable car I have ever owned. I definitely would never buy another.

This Intrepid has been nothing but a money pit, and I plan on replacing it right now with an import.

General Comments:

The only good things about this car is it has lots of room inside, and it is pretty quick for a big car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

17th May 2003, 16:26

216,000 kilometers on the clock is a lot. I hope mine will go as far!

17th Oct 2006, 10:10

Many of the problems you are having is either not being fixed right or not being fixed at all. Such as your brakes. If the Rotors are good and the pads are replaced and everything is assembled correctly they will last a long time. but if the rotors are worn they will eat up the pads. If this was all good and assembled correctly then you are either buying the cheapest garbage parts or you drive like an idiot.

20th Oct 2007, 08:38

A 10-year old car with 216,000 km --- it sounds like his problems are mostly related to an old car that hasn't been taken care of. "Spark plugs failed on a cold morning" --- I think that sums it up.

Spark plugs don't just suddenly "fail", cold morning or not. They should have been changed at 100,000 miles, so that's just an indication of how little routine maintenance was actually performed on this car.

Another example of somebody who bought an old, high mileage beater and then complains that it isn't as good as a brand new car. You have to take care of machinery, guys.

21st Apr 2009, 13:01

That's all easy stuff to fix, and normal if the car was beaten or hasn't been taken care of. Expect 8 cents per km on odometer, not many people put what's needed into a car.

3rd Nov 2011, 14:16

I agree with you 100%. Just like people, machines need to be taken cared of to minimize their getting "sick". There is no such thing as a perfect car. All cars have have their own unique problems, and are all subject to needed repairs and/or upgrades. If we can't address and/or anticipate problems and/or related expenses associated with owning one, then we have no business owning cars.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews