1997 Dodge Intrepid 3.5L from North America


A good ride at a bargain, but you will have the car in the shop every four months for the same thing


We replaced the tie-rods in September 2002 and it costs us $300. The tie-rods were replaced again in July 2003 for another $300. Now, three days later it started to overheat even after I've replaced the thermostat. The weatherstripping has come off the driver's side passenger window. So now one can't close the window without the whistling noise at highway speed. The black paint has started to come off in chunks from around the window trim. After looking at the reviews, I believe we've got more problems coming our way. Do not buy a used Dodge Intrepid. Apparently, they are terribly engineered and or built with cheap parts. Only good thing is the very comfortable ride.

General Comments:

The car was bought at a good bargain.

It is crazy that the same repair problems keep popping up.

The gas mileage is pretty decent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

20th Dec 2003, 21:32

Sounds like instead of replacing tie-rods, it's the bushings that are the culprit. Wish you luck.

7th Jul 2004, 22:45

I personally love the car. It has a problem here and there, but it has never left me stranded and continues to be a very good car. My dad loves the car better than his new 2001 Chrysler Sebring.

1997 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.3 from North America


A awesome family car


My brakes have gone bad 2 times, in the past 5 years.

It is a little bit expensive on gas since it is a 3.3L.

General Comments:

The Chrysler Intrepid is the best car in its class. It is very fast, and very comfy. Its interior is very big, the speakers are awesome, considering I have a JVC CD player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

1997 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 V6 from North America


Great family car


Transmission would "jump" when car was first purchased. Had transmission serviced and problem stopped.

In shop once in two years owned for recall on fuel line.

General Comments:

This is an extremely reliable vehicle and has been the most dependable car I have ever owned (out of 7 prior American cars).

Gas mileage is reasonable for the size of the car.

Smooth ride in all aspects.

Very good car for the family on a budget. Very cost-effective, reliable and safe.

Only buy one if it has the 3.5 liter engine, they are proving to be some of the best engines that Dodge has put out in years.

Seats do become uncomfortable on really long trips. You will find yourself sitting in odd positions to give your back a break.

Poorly designed speaker placement inhibits quality of stereo.

All-in-all, a great value all around. I would buy another Intrepid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

19th Apr 2003, 23:20

I recently bought an old LH body Chrysler, the 3.3L leaves more space under the hood and is easier to service and take apart as it is a push rod engine. I replaced a leaking head gasket on my 3.3L and it was much easier than the 3.5L overhead cam would have been. Both these engines have a history of leaking head gaskets.

1997 Dodge Intrepid ex 3.5 from North America


Don't buy one


The fuel injector began leaking and was replaced only to have it start again 1 month later.

My brakes constantly squeal, but are still "good" and the rotors are fine.

The engine blew at 100,000 miles, but was well maintained to this point.

The drivers window is very slow going down and in cold weather it needs a push to get it open at all.

I can't ever keep this car in alignment either and go through tires like water.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and has even beaten a porsche. Would love to have the turbo.

The interior is the roomiest I have ever had and is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

1997 Dodge Intrepid 4 door 3.5 from North America


Never again


If you do not start the car within a few days the battery goes dead.

Head gasket blew at 40,000 miles.

Transmission doesn't shift from 2-3.

Driver's seat is worn and metal sticks out and rips clothes.

Cup holders broke 2 years ago.

Intake manifold gasket replaced at 70,000 miles. Car would accelerate and then lose power.

The washer/turn signal/high beam switch has been replaced twice.

Flashers stopped working for awhile.

Water pump went out. The timing belt burnt due to water pump failure.

The paint around the door was pealing and needed to be repainted.

The truck and doors leak both water and air.

The hydraulic cylinders that hold the hood up quit working about 18 months ago.

The visor clips have broken repeatedly.

General Comments:

The looks of this car are great.

We have had to put a lot of time and money into it. Every time we turn around it is something else.

Our transmission is our newest problem and from the looks of it, we need to just get rid of it.

We bought this car because it was "American Made"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

23rd Apr 2003, 03:11

Seats are probably the easiest and cheapest big part to replace on these cars. If the junk yards don't have them, Ebay does. Chrysler did one smart thing on the LH body cars: most of the seats in either leather or cloth are GREY, regardless of body color!

16th Jun 2003, 20:53

What in the world are you people doing to your seats? Get some hemorrhoid treatment and stop fidgeting.

21st Jul 2004, 20:24

I have a 97 intrepid now for 2 years the only thing that went wrong is the thermostat an the the inner tie-rod ends and the flasher just recently. I guess I have a unique car because every part for the 97 does not match my car whether it be the thermostat housing or the flasher?? the year is right I checked as for the seats hmmm... lose some weight he he.