1997 Dodge Intrepid Sport 3.5L from North America


Nice looking piece of garbage


At 50,000, replaced power steering pump, water pump, and timing belt.

At 57,000, replaced transmission.

Replaced outer tie rods 2 times in 50,000 miles.

Replaced spark plug tubes, due to oil leak at 75,000.

Replaced power steering pump again at 100,000 miles.

Needs water pump again at 120,000.

Wiring shorted out going to main relay, resulting in no start. Had to jumper relay to get to run. Have yet to find short.

Transmission out again at 120,000.

General Comments:

Nice car, decent comfort in interior.

C-pillars prone to peeling paint.

Good acceleration.

Very high maintenance cost (and frequent).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

25th Aug 2006, 13:42

Were all parts replaced by a serviceman? Was the serviceman a dealer serviceman? Were all the parts replaced factory OEM parts, or general auto-parts-store parts. Part quality is a factor in part longevity.

1997 Dodge Intrepid 3.3 litre from North America


Super Car. Mopar builds some great machines


Wrecked the car with 97,000 miles on the clock. Though the balancer on the engine bent beyond factory tolerances, the engine never quit.

General Comments:

This was probably the most durable car I ever owned. It was comfortable, roomy, and mechanical indestructible.

This car was far better than any Ford Taurus I had ever driven.

I sold the car to a high school kid for $250 and he used it for 2 years then sold it for $2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

1997 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5 from North America


Cheap, but yet expensive


Replaced O-rings in fuel rail, then found out it was recalled.

Had new oxygen censors put in last year.

Tire rods need replaced and also need the stabilizer bar links replaced.

Water pump needs replaced.

Tires and breaks wear fast.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best I've ever had, looks wise and performance wise.

The seats are comfortable, but only up to about 5 hours.

Plastic panels on the back, near the rear window, are peeling.

Overall a good reliable car, for the most part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

1997 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 from North America


B+ car


Timing Belt

Water Pump

Crank Seal


Trans Fluid


Radiator Fans

$186 (Installed by myself)

Seats are not very comfortable, have to purchase some additional support things for your back. I did for $20. =)

General Comments:

Great performance, fast as hell. Good reliability when you are good driver and take care of it.

My next car will be Chrysler Concorde.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

1997 Dodge Intrepid from North America


Very cheaply made


The transmission keeps slipping gears.

The windshield wiper motor crapped out on me twice in one year.

I had to replace the head gaskets after only driving it a 100 miles.

It also has a radiator leak.

The driver seat is terribly worn and broken (leaning to one side).

The vanity mirror hook just fell off with no force.

All of the heat/AC vents broke around the same time (go figure).

The center console is loose enough to pick up off the floorboard.

The shingles for the shifter are all cracked.

The lighted entry system doesn't work anymore (yes I checked the fuse... that's not it!)

The side panel on the driver side door has popped up out of place.

The cup holders broke off also.

General Comments:

This car has given me nothing, but trouble. Every time I turn around something else needs to be fixed. Overall, the engine does run pretty clean, but the interior of the car is falling apart. I am a single owner and I haven't caused any of the defaults. They have just occurred over time. It's a cheaply made vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 03:20

Interesting my vanity mirror hook broke off too. Apart for cup holders that do not retract everything else is perfect. oh! watch out for the paint oxidation. Despite this small flaws you just can't help, but to love this car. It drives so well despite its age.

1997 Dodge Intrepid Sport 3.5L V6 from North America


After your basic maintenance, and a few mishaps on my part, this is a very reliable, well built car.


Window motor went out.

Oxygen sensors wore out.

Car would not start.

Transmission fluid leak.

Engine wouldn't rev up beyond 3,000 RPM.

Engine overheated.

Oil light came on only when I stopped, or the car was in park and idling.

General Comments:

The first problem I had was with the transmission leak, which turned out not to be the transmission at all. Instead it was a loose hose clamp that I had my dealer replace while the car was still under warranty. No problem.

The oxygen sensors turned out to be no big problem, either. I live in Texas and with the dusty, hot, humid, pollen-filled summers we have down here, I think I can handle replacing them once every 18 months or so at a cost of about $60 each.

The time my engine overheated, I was starting to get frustrated, but after a quick look, I discovered the other dealer (the one I got my oil changes at) hadn't been topping off my coolant like they said they were, and the hot summers just took their toll. All I did was fill it back up and I haven't had any problems since.

I have had to replace the window motor on the driver's side twice, however, only because I bought a used motor and tried to put it in myself. It works, but the window won't roll up all the way. Stupid me.

Whenever my car wouldn't start, I immediately thought the battery, then the starter. It was really just the battery terminals corroding and not getting enough current. By the way, the battery I have is still the one that was in the car when I bought it three years ago. Still going strong.

The oil light coming on was a big scare, but turned out to be as simple as changing the oil sensor underneath the car. The seal around it had worn, and it was leaking oil all over the sensor, causing it to malfunction. It cost a mere $45 dollars to fix, and the light hasn't come back on at all.

The last problem, when the engine wouldn't rev past 3,000, ended up being just worn out spark plugs and a collapsed vacuum hose on the manifold. I replaced the plugs, plug wires, and the hose for just under $150 bucks (only because I didn't have the tools or time to do it myself).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

17th Oct 2010, 06:07

I think the Dodge Intrepid Sport is an excellent car :)