1998 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 20 of 23

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Family sedan with style

Faults:

The rotors warp easily. It seems like the pads will never wear. If you had this car you will change the rotors, the radiator fans. and the tie rod bushings to keep the car perfect.

General Comments:

I love the car. It has a very smooth ride and drive train. Follow the maintnance schedule and the car will not leave you stranded. Great highway mileage. Comfortable and roomy. Great handling car. Looks like the sleekest sedan ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59838 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Costly

Faults:

The transmission had to be replaced at 61,000. Luckily, it was still under warranty.

Currently at 78,000, the engine must be replaced with an estimate cost of $4,700 due to low oil pressure.

Sometimes the doors lock automatically while standing still.

Rear passenger window works infrequently.

General Comments:

I love the looks, sporty design and the ride is very comfortable, but lacks dependability where the engine is concerned. There should be a recall!!

Dodge now knows the original 2.7 is a junk engine and should compensate the consumers that are now paying dearly for their mistakes.

If anyone knows of a class action suit, count me in.

I am very disappointed in Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

25th Jul 2003, 18:20

I will never never buy another piece of junk!!! from the DODGE/CHRY AGAIN. My interior lights, speed sensor, forward/reverse gear went out, the car cut off by itself whenever I slow down. I hate this car by the time I get through paying for this peice of JUNK I wouldn't be able to trade it in. How did this past inspections. I HATE THIS CAR.

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

If you don't mind wasting money - then buy one!

Faults:

Power window on the driver's side quit working when the car was 2 years old. Rear power windows work periodically.

Replaced brakes at 50,000 km and was told they need to be replaced again.

Had to add oil often.

Engine seized up at 72,000 km with no warning. Regular maintenance was performed on the car.

General Comments:

This car looks and drives well, but I keep hearing the same complaint - 'the engine seized up due to sludge in the engine'. The engine replacement is from $5000.00 - $10,000.00 and is completely unacceptable for a vehicle that has been maintained and with low km's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

26th Jan 2004, 17:42

A week ago, january 19 2004 my 99 dodge intrepid 2.7 litre with 64000 miles on it just had the engine go out. a replacement will be 3500 and up. I still owe 4800 on the car and I much like many other people I am seeing, wish there was something we could do.

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Automatic
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Faults:

Regulator went out shortly after I purchased the car.

Next, I had to replace the horns, Dodge wanted $50 for labor, about $60 for the parts. Needless to say I picked some up at a salvage yard and did the work myself.

The interior lights flash on and off.

Right before my engine seized 030103 I found dried coolant under the hood on some hoses. Average repair for that engine is $5000.00.

Oddly enough is that I work with about five people with the Dodge Intrepid who have either had to replace their engines or the car is *ticking* which was later explained to me as knocking... aka engine failure.

General Comments:

Do not buy Dodge products... Seems to me Dodge is rolling out lemons from the start, how is this legal?

Any information on a class action suit would be greatly appreciated.

Email: girlee6@aol.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

1998 Dodge Intrepid sedan 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

My engine blew at 90,000.

General Comments:

I have been told by a lot of different professional people that the 2.7 engines are just bad. They get starved of oil for various reasons. The 2.7 is in such demand, the salvage yards are charging $2200-3000 for one. A rebuilt engine will cast almost 5,000. The bearings are on national back order.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews