2000 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America


At 97,000 miles the oil light comes on when the car is idling, goes off when you step on the gas.

I'm worried about the engine blowing.

Please let me know about any class action law-suit.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

23rd Dec 2004, 09:53

Having the same problem at 112,000 did you get any answers??

31st May 2005, 11:56

I have a 1999 Intrepid myself, same problem with the oil light when engine warm and idling. Happens, but not all the time. Car has 180.000 km now, but the engine still like new, no noise or anything. The thing is that the rpm goes to 500 and that's when the oil pressure light comes on. Usually the rpm should be close to 700. How this variation in rpm happens I don't know. Dealer said to clean the throttle body, but somebody else did it and is not making a difference.

2000 Dodge Intrepid Sedan 4 Door 2.7 Liter from North America


I love this car and am disappointed it's not operable anymore


Engine blew at 73,500 miles.

General Comments:

This has been a wonderful car and never given me any problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

24th Sep 2004, 08:31

Usually, the engine blowing at 70K is a problem for most people. You'll need that to operate the car.

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 liter from North America


Stay away from all Chrysler products


Door lock motors.

Leaking oil gasket.

Speedometer sensor.


EGR valve.

Seat is starting to wear.

Radio and clock quit.

General Comments:

This car is a loser. It is my first and last Chrysler product. The first thing to go was both door lock motors on the passenger side. Next, it had a leaky oil gasket and the speedometer sensor went leaving me stranded.

The EGR valve needed replacing and the dealer just reset the engine light and left it. It finally went 5 months later and I had to pay for the replacement again. Now, my radio and clock refuse to work.

The 2.7 liter engine is a "dog" I will never buy below a 3.0 again. Chrysler should be ashamed to put their name on such junk. I will be dumping it in the spring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2004

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


A quiet time bomb waiting to cost you thousands


My timing chain and tensioner went out.

The oil pan has metal chips in it.

We took it to the dealership and they said without a breakdown that it needed a timing chain, tensioner, and guides. At the cost of 1200.00 dollars.. We took it to our trusted mechanic and he said the oil pan had metal in it and it would cost about 5500.00 dollars to replace the engine. Chrysler sent us an email after we contacted them that said in short sorry your car is out of warranty and there is no recall for this engine. That is such crap. If the technician can diagnose a problem and price a fix for it in one hour without an engine breakdown then there a recall. The only problem is they call this a technical service bulletin. It is a web site for the techs to go and look up already diagnosed problems with cars that the company wants the consumer to pay for. Because it is not a safety problem they will not do a recall on the 2.7 liter engines. And we are all stuck owing eight thousand dollars on a car with no engine.

General Comments:

I have found that the intrepid is a very roomy and comfortable car.

The ride was smooth and the engine quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

6th May 2005, 19:52

Do you think that this car is safe? I don't think that it is to safe if it can and will break down at any moment, anywhere. You can be on a busy road and someone could hit you and even hurt you. I think that they should admit to this mistake of a car and recall the 2.7 engines. They are a very dangerous car.

2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 from North America


I liked the car a lot until the engine blew!


The timing chain broke and the engine blewat 73,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car just cut off while I was driving. I had just got off the freeway and I couldn't get any acceleration all of the sudden. The dealership told me my engine was gone and that is normal for the intrepid with the 2.7 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2004