2000 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7L V6 from North America


I want a new one!


There have been very few problems with this car so far. Granted I have only had it for 2 months and have only put 1500 miles on it, but it's looking good for now.

1) Since you have to use 5W-30 synthetic oil, the oil changes are going to cost an arm and a leg. I just spent $50 for an oil change. You need to do this for this engine so sludge will not form.

2) The weather stripping is coming off the sides of the door frame. It looks like the stripping is shrinking. This is not a major problem.

General Comments:

This car handles like a dream. At first I was reluctant to buy the car. It had over 132,000 miles on it. I drove it around, and it felt like new. The original owner kept extremely good care of it. There is a couple of dings on the front, (mostly from highway driving) and minor scratches, but no big deal.

It attracts a lot of attention from my friends. I used to drive a 1986 Nissan Maxima, which I still own, but the fuel injector went on it. So, now I do all of the driving when we go places. This is mainly because of the roominess. It has a ton of it, and all of it is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2005

20th Feb 2005, 09:21

"Since you have to use 5W-30 synthetic oil, the oil changes are going to cost an arm and a leg."???

You do NOT have to use synthetic oil in Intrepid engines. Regular oil changes at proper time/mileage is all that is required. I've never had any problems.

22nd Jun 2005, 09:48

You do have to use full synthetic oil on the Dodge 2.7 engines, I have read several stories of the engine failing due to sludge buildup even with regular oil changes. It was even noted from Dodge that the reason the sludge was present was from not using synthetic oil, this is not stated in the owners manual. I have a 2000 dodge as well and have replaced the engine, but now I use full synthetic oil.

2000 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America




Battery terminal dirty. Made it to dealer before it died.

General Comments:

Car is cool and big. Cheap new japanese cars look like s... t and are so small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

5th Jan 2005, 13:46

I agree with the previous comment. You can request deletion of reviews or comments that are offensive, but ultimately Steven decides what stays and what doesn't, and he doesn't seem to have a problem with implied profanity.

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


A piece of junk


I have a 2000 dodge intrepid with 57000 miles on it. I to have an engine that has gone bad and my extended warranty company is refusing to pay due to sludge on the engine. I have a car that I have to pay on for two more years that I cannot even use. even with my records of four years of my oil changes that I had done every 3,000 miles it does not matter. would this not fall under the lemon law. they are selling us a false protect ie meaning the extended warranty. no where in my little pamplet they gave me on my warranty does it say it would not pay due to sludge. I would never buy another dodge product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

13th Feb 2005, 12:36

The warranty company is dead wrong!! If you changed your oil as often as you said you did, and have all the records, they do not have a leg to stand on. The sludge (if there was even any sludge) is more than likely due to a bad head gasket. The warranty company threw the sludge claim at you to try to weasel out of their obligation. But, an engine failure is an engine failure, whether sludge was involved or not. If your claims about your oil changes are true, it is extremely obvious the warranty company is defrauding you. You have plenty of grounds to report them to the better business burough, and take them to court if necessary. Do not roll over on this one. If you have those oil change records, you are clearly in the right.

4th Jul 2005, 17:52

The probably is that you changed your oil every 3000 miles, however you probaly failed to read your manual as I did. the oil for the 2.7 has to be changed every 1500 miles and is has to oil weight 5w-30. I have the same problem the only thing I can recomend is to change to the 3.2 I have had no problem with this.