2000 Dodge Intrepid Sedan from North America

Summary:

My car has been absolutely wonderful!

Faults:

Fixed the gas gage in September 2003. Had to replace water pump this past December (2004). I will be getting new tires this summer. That's it!

General Comments:

I got this car after my Malibu was totaled in a pretty bad accident. It was very important to me to have a car that I would feel safe and secure in, but I didn't want it to look like a granny car. This car is sleek, sexy, and safe! It's very smooth riding and quiet. It has lots of power and handles very well! The stereo sounds great and we all love the roomy interior. There is also plenty of room in the trunk for road trips. Also, I saw on Myth Busters that this car is very hard to tip or flip over - that's a plus on my list! I'm heartbroken that Dodge has stopped making this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

2000 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Summary:

Everything in this car breaks down sooner or later and it cost too much to repair!

Faults:

The power windows don't work. the air conditioner died. My tie rod bent. the windshield wipers were terrible. my transmission stumbles.

General Comments:

Worst mechanically costly car I ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

The Best Dodge has to offer (besides the Viper)

Faults:

Cigarette lighter stopped working, passenger door handle would lock/unlock from outside, a sensor stopped working around 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car it is so comfortable and fast. Rides like a much smaller car. Huge truck and huge back seat (wink wink). minor problems that would occur on any car, but all around real good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

3rd Jun 2005, 10:20

There are plenty of Intrepid (and even some not-so-intrepid) owners who have posted to this site who would disagree with the title of your review.

Hope you put scotchguard on those back seats, ugh.

4th Jun 2005, 18:59

"The Best Dodge has to offer (besides the Viper) "

SINCE WHEN DOES 2.7 LITERS EQUAL 8.0 LITERS???!!!

2000 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Worked Fine For Me!!!

Faults:

Alternator went at 37,000. Water pump went at 63,000. Put new tires on at 35,000 of course.

And That's IT!

No brakes, exhaust, wipers, dome lights, seals, NOTHING ELSE!

General Comments:

XXXcellent passing ability. Good looking grocery getter for the family man.

Alternator got soaked by pressure washer at one point my fault. Although a 63,000 miles. water pump is a little weak.

It was a GREAT car that showed normal wear such as a lose door panel. Don't get to picky people things wear out, it ALWAYS got me home.

Everything still functioned properly when I sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Beautiful car, but smells like a lemon to me!

Faults:

Car had 20,000 miles on it, was having problems starting, was told by a Dodge dealership that the car needed a tune-up. Had tune-up done and problem still continued. Was told by another mechanic that I had a bad fuel injector. Took back to dealership and told them that and they didn't believe me, they kept the car for 2 days and still could not find out what was wrong with it. This went on for 10 months before dealership finally admitted that it was indeed a fuel injector and replaced it for free.

Now at 66,000 miles, engine is gone. I was told by dealership that it would cost approx. $6,000 to replace with new engine. Dealership told me engine went do the insufficient lubrication. I was told by dealership that I did not need to use synthetic oil, that 5w or 10w oil was good enough.

Weather stripping is coming off, has been fixed 3 times by dealership.

Interior reading light went out, does not say in owners manual how to change. Break light went out does not say in manual how to change. I was told by dealership to bring in and they would change for a fee.

General Comments:

I bought the car brand new. I fell in love with it during the test drive. You couldn't even hear the engine running. The car drives and handles very nice. It is very roomy.

Dodge knows this engine is bad, that's why they stopped making due to all the problems with it per the dealership. They were too quick to help me in any way get in a new car. They were even willing to trade the car in and pay it off even though the motor is blown. Something isn't right and Dodge knows it. We need some help here!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

27th Jan 2008, 16:38

Yes! I only had my Intrepid for one day before returning it back to the dealer. It needed a new computer, crank sensor, trans was going bad, the speedometer and mileage didn't work, and many other problems, but no indication really. It started up quiet and made it almost home from the dealership then check engine light came on an car stopped. It stopped every 5 or 10 minutes while driving and took 45 minutes to start back up. I took it to a mechanic and he told me to take the car back to the dealer immediately. I see that there are many problems with the Intrepid.