2000 Dodge Intrepid R/T 3.5L from North America


Not Perfect, but a Steal at the Price


New transmission at 2,400 miles.

New drive belt tensioner due to cold start groan.

New front door seals at 34,000 miles, though it was the rear ones that needed replaced. I fixed the rear ones myself due to the dealership being rather useless.

General Comments:

Transmission shipped from factory with a cracked case casting that failed soon after new. Chrysler installed a new factory transmission since the car was new. Since then, no problems.

I've had a few intermittent minor problems. The key-less entry and power door lock quit working for about 2 weeks about 6 months ago, but it "healed" itself.

I get a squealing sound when I first turn on the a/c for a few seconds, but when I took it to my mechanic, it wouldn't do it for him.

The car is seriously roomy, handles well, is fast, and gets decent fuel economy.

I also fixed the door seals myself, as the dealer was too indifferent to the issue. It took all of 30 seconds to fix.

In summary, no major problems, a few minors ones, but it has been generally trouble-free, fun to drive, and cheap to keep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

17th Jan 2004, 01:36

How can you give a (rather useless dealer) a 5/10. And a car that has had 2 bad transmissions a7/10 on reliability!

11th Feb 2004, 19:10

I sure would like to know how you fixed the door seals in 30 seconds. Mine are shrunk, and the only way to fix them would be if could magically make them longer again.

2000 Dodge Intrepid Standard 2.7L VG from North America


Poor poor poor


Like others I too have had problems. For starters, driver side power window came off track. Power door lock very noisy. But the final and fatal blow... ENGINE FAILURE. I too maintained well, but the car just started knocking and pinging. My Mechanic also indicated others with same problem and Chryslers failure to recognize a problem. I hope that I registered on the correct web site for a possible class action suit.

General Comments:

I am very dissapointed in this product.

I will never buy again from Chrysler.

Does anyone have $5000.00 so I can get a new engine?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

10th Dec 2004, 16:17

I have the same junk car in my backyard, 1999 dodge intrepid bad timing belt because of sludge in my motor. 73,000 miles and I also changed my oil. Car had approx. 30,000 miles when I bought it. Was told my extended warr. would not cover this. Dodge Dealer also told me that this engine (2.7) is junk. I sure do like my new Buick Le-saber. Will never by a dodge product again.

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


Great car, Very Good buy, Get One!


Nothing major has gone wrong with the car.

Other than two flat tires from running over nails, nothing has kept the Intrepid in the shop overnight.

General Comments:

Follow the service schedule, keep the oil changed and enjoy a great running car.

The only bad thing is the gas mileage, it can guzzle lots of gas on a hot summer day trip when you have the air conditioning running.

The seats like to collect fuzz and lint, but that can easily be cleaned.

The seats are very comfy! Lots of space in the back and tons of trunk space.

Handles easily, accelerates good for a car of its size (Great power), stops on a dime.

Not fun to park in tight spaces!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

18th May 2004, 13:26

The door seals SUCK!!! I have re-glued them twice, they seem as if they have shrunk and won't make a tight seal. I drive a lot of gravel so the car is constantly dusty on the interior. I hit 100,000 miles and things really started to deteriorate. I can't wait to get rid of this vehicle.

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L from North America


The car is OK. But the motor is junk


Was driving the car when the lifters started to tick. Took it into the dealer they told me I need new lifters. Called me 2 days later and told me that I need a whole new motor and would cost me $9000.00 to replace it. They told me that it would not be covered under warranty cause it has oil sludge. I change the oil every 3000 miles. So now I sit with a car making payments on it and can't drive it. So I had the car towed home so I don't void my warranty. I had the tow truck drop it in the driveway. Cause I figured I would just start it and move it into the garage. Well the battery was dead so I charged the battery. Went back to start it and now I have smoke coming out from in the middle of the engine and the car won't start. Talk to a friend at Chrysler and he told me that the 2.7 motor is nothing but junk. He would have told me to never buy it.

General Comments:

Would never buy a Chrysler product again...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

19th Apr 2004, 08:00

I have a 2000 Dodge Intrepid and have some ticking ongoing even with the oils changes as required. It died on me last week with 113,000 miles on it. I notice other Intrepids with blue smoke coming the exhaust like mine. I agree that the 2.7 engine is junk!!!

20th Jun 2004, 19:23

I have a 2000 dodge intrepid, I was driving down the freeway when the car stalled. I tried restarting the car it would not start. I had the vehicle towed to dodge dealer. dealer told me it would be 8,600.00 to replace motor. I have 103 thousand miles on this vehicle and I still owe 13 thousand dollars, this vehicle is only 4 yrs old how can engine be blown already. I had oil changed every 3000 miles.