2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L from North America


Big-time bang for the buck in a performance oriented touring sedan


Transmission Speed Sensor

(Do it yourself fix under $20)

Transmission Cooler Lines

(Caused by rock puncture)

Right wheel hub

(replaced both front hubs for $240)

General Comments:

We drive this car hard and autocross it regularly as well as take it track days. We modified the exhaust and intake and the result was a little more power, better sound, and better gas mileage. All easy and cheap mods.

It handles well for a big luxury car (ours is loaded with power leather seats, etc). Its fun to drive and has decent power. The autostick gives a euro touring sedan feel. Weaknesses are poor OEM tires and struts. The tires we fixed with 245 kumho's, but their really isn't a strut option in the aftermarket.

Cars gets 25mpg on the highway. Runs the 1/4 in 15.90 and surprises people on the road course or autocross. All with great comfort and trunk space. And the car is totally affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 from North America


I will never buy another DODGE


My door locks have broken. First on the passenger side and now on the driver side. They make a horrible buzzing sound. Cost $180.00 a door to fix. The car always smoked pretty heavy from the exhaust. Dodge mechanics said it was normal. They could find nothing wrong with it. Had to replace the speakers at least 3 times because they kept blowing. Stay away from the 2.7 engine's they are junk. Anyway now at 85,000 miles my car is sitting in a garage with a burned up engine due to the oil sludge. It went out with no warning. I owe 11,500 on the car and my extended warranty that I paid 1500.00 for will not cover it. They said I had to give them proof I had the oil changed within the last 3 to 5 thousand mile. I think Dodge knows about this problem, but decides to turn there heads.

General Comments:

Intrepid's are real LEMONS. BEWARE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

2nd Jul 2004, 14:48

Same problem 1999 Dodge Intrepid, 53,000 miles, regular oil changes, engine died due to sludge. Absolutely no warning. I can say Daimler Chrysler refuses to cover this defect, because the customer service representatives told me they have the authority to say so.

13th Aug 2004, 16:23

Roloff & Shapero 1-800-321-9199

Class action suit being investigated

2000,Chrysler intrepid owner 70k dead engine replacing it with a 3.2 or a 3.5 go to 2.7 engine fix for the conversion kit.


2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 Liter Racing from North America


I hate it


The electrical system was shot at 50,000 miles.

The rear window motors went out at 10,000 miles.

The cam sensors keep going bad.

The steering is terrible.

It just shuts off occasionally.

General Comments:

Don't ever buy a Dodge. Even the man who worked at the dealership told us not to buy a Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

1st Aug 2004, 20:33

If he told you not to buy a dodge... then why did you?

2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L 24 valve V6 from North America


A comfortable luxury-performance sedan


Door seals are shrinking and pulling away from the frame, causing road noise and car wash apprehension.

General Comments:

Rides very nice and leather seats are very comfortable.

Handling in corners is only so-so, it handles like the big sedan it is.

Gets 30 mpg on the highway at 75mph, and mid 20's in town, nice mileage for a big car.

Is not exactly a rocket, but with the 225 horsepower 3.2 liter engine, it has good acceleration and merging power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L V6 from North America


Do NOT buy this car!!!


2.7 V6 Engine on the Intrepid is a piece of junk! In spite of regular oil changes and maintenance we have been told that we need a new engine for our 3-year old car! Don't believe this could happen? I'll tell you what our mechanic told us..."Don't believe me, do an Internet search for Intrepid Sludge or Intrepid Engine Sludge". We followed his advice and were shocked at what we found. And the fact that Dodge continues to deny there is a flaw with this engine is just disgraceful!

General Comments:

This car was my husbands baby and he LOVED it. We bought this car brand new just after our daughter was born. We loved the fact that it was sporty, but also roomy enough to hold a family. Everything was great until we found out last October that our three-year old car's engine was shot despite the fact that my husband had done regular oil changes and performed routine maintenance on it. That's when we found out that our engine had sludge in it and that this was a known problem with this engine. We now have a 3-year old car (which thankfully we had paid off!) that is for all intents and purposes worthless! Will NEVER buy a vehicle of any kind from Chrysler/Dodge again!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

5th Mar 2004, 19:18

I agree with totally. I love the looks of this car and the roomy interior. I pulled the engine and reinstalled it after the rebuild, during which I learned of the ineptitude of the engineering department at Chrysler. You know they have been building cars for nearly 100 years and haven't got a clue yet. They used approx. 10 different sizes of bolts (both metric and standard) on that engine. Many of the steel braces and brackets were obviously after thoughts when the aluminum ones apparently weren't sturdy enough. Chrysler should be ASHAMED of themselves.

6th Jul 2004, 18:03

I wish I had known about this car sooner. First one of the sensors went on the engine and allowed the engine to pump excess gasoline into the cylinders and into the oil till the car actually would stall out. My wife got stranded with it and it cost us over $500 to repair. Now with 81000 miles on the car the timing chain has gone threw the engine and it is going to cost us over $5000 to repair. I am not a Chrylser badger, but I will tell you this ----- I will NEVER buy another DODGE as long as I live. If you own one I would suggest you get rid of is while the getting is good, or you can hang on to it until the engine is shot and you can get the same as me for it, I can't get anything for mine now.

13th Aug 2004, 16:33

Roloff& Shapero class action suit being investigated


Oil pick-up tube defect causes oil starvation

I'm replacing with a 3.2 or a 3.5 found site on internet

2.7 engine fix he will sell conversion kit

Good luck.