2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


Very decent car with a very poorly designed motor. (2.7)


The final, and major problem is that the 2.7 motor seized up.

Minor problem such as constant break sqeualing.

General Comments:

In general the 2000 dodge intrepid has been a good car, with the exception of the poorly designed 2.7 motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

19th Jan 2004, 09:55

I now own a 2000 dodge intrepid with a blown motor at 55,000 miles. it had regular oil changes every 3000-4000 miles.

20th Feb 2004, 23:29

My 2000 Dodge Intrepid with 64000 miles was diagnosed today with a "spun rod bearing" with a cost of repair of almost $9,000.00! I changed my oil every 3000 miles, and the car has been in this shop three times for "low oil pressure" warning light. Repairs included a new oil pan and some sensors, but it never really went away. How is it possible that Daimler Chrysler doesn't have a short block "crate motor" for this car?

2000 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 V6 from North America


Nice Car


Needed a new fuel pump at 96,000 miles. Now it needs brakes redone (100,000 miles) Needed the transmission rebuilt at about 97,000. Other than that, it's a fun car to drive, and very reliable (just don't drive it like my dad does)

General Comments:

Great acceleration. Good handling. It's not the most comfprtable car, but its not terrible. Highly recommend replacing the stereo. (We put in a Kenwood CD player, very nice) If you drive it locally, you will be good, but if you drive it 100 miles a day, (like my dad) expect problems around 100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America


A very good value for the price


Coasting and lightly breaking on approach to a stop light, the light turned and I accelerated into the intersection. Without warning, the engine cut out for a split second, surged on again, then out again, and finally caught on and away I go.

The engine never actually died, but the engine icon "dinged" on. The Intrepid ran perfectly afterword, though the engine light continued to "ding" on after start up.

Less than 24 hours after the incident, the engine icon turned off during travel, no longer sensing a problem.

A diagnostic was performed and discovered a "cam-ring" sensor code. The Cam Ring is a magnetic chunk of metal which signals through the sensor to command the firring of the spark plugs. I simply had a fair-minded professional mechanic replace the sensor. I replaced the "crank-ring" sensor too since it commands the fuel injection and the two systems go hand in hand. Perhaps this was unnecessay, but I err on the side of caution. My total bill was little more than $300 including the diagnostic.

True, it was only a momentary failure of the sensor, but if either of them fails entirely, the engine will not run.

General Comments:

This car is very roomy and a large person can feel comfortable in it. However, the seats are too firm against the ribs.

This Intrepid is generates its horsepower at lower RPM making it responsive in metro driving conditions and a cruiser on the freeway. It is more economical than the competitors in its class. This smaller 2.7L engine does a very good job.

The styling is nice and sporty, for a sedan, but opt for some after market rims because the what comes stock is U-G-L-Y. Add a bit of tint for privacy, and you are in a sweet ride for a very reasonable price.

The front suspension is a bit loose or squishy under normal conditions. In winter driving, even with snow tires, this issue is compounded. I am a confident driver in the winter, and I was notably disappointed in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 litre from North America




I too have had several problems.

Driver's side window would not roll down. Replaced motor-warranty.

2 months later-passenger rear motor went out. Dealer said window was dirty-making it stick. After weeks of negotiation (me yelling a lot), motor was changed, window started to roll down. Must have cleaned itself.

6 months later-electric locks started making a buzzing and not locking. Dealer replaced door lift-gate-front & rear.

Did all required maintenance-oil change, filters, every three to four thousand miles. Car now has 51 thousand miles and a blown up motor.

No idiot light came on, nothing but a rattle and a clunk.

Called Dealer. They said "Sorry, warranty is out." He even told me the motor I had in it before I mentioned it. Makes you wonder...

General Comments:

Car drove well and handled good.

Cabin is roomy and comfortable on long trips.

Now if it would only run!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

4th Mar 2004, 10:30

I too have a dodge Intrepid and the same problems occured. Window, locks, engine. That's no coincidence.

25th Jun 2004, 07:46

I too have a 2000 Intrepid ES and I am now experiencing the SECOND time the locks have screeched and quit working automatically. My windows don't roll down off and on also. I've took it to the dealer and they wiggle the window around and it comes down. I was also told my window was dirty. Sorry.. I've owned "dirty" cars before and the windows went down no problem. My warranty has been out for awhile so now I'm digging in my pocket for a problem that's happened twice... that shouldn't happen AT ALL.

9th Jan 2006, 21:04

It really burns me as well - buzzing door lock (passenger side- engine failure (needs rebuild) although oil was changed regularly - tensioner & timing chain broken - 2.7 engine is a horror story- what a mistake buying this great looking PIECE of junk.