Dodge Lancer Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Dodge Lancer 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 miles
Most recent distance247000 miles
Previous carDodge Lancer

Summary:

I personally think the Dodge Lancer was a great car in history, and they should continue make them

Faults:

My CV shafts went out in the car soon after I bought it. Also the seals in the hydraulics for the hatchback are blown, so the hatchback no longer stays up my itself. The transmission slipped when I bought it, but I put some JV Transmission stuff in it, and it has more power than it ever has.

General Comments:

I bought this car for 30 dollars and have put over 30,000 miles on it since. I love this car, and depend on it with confidence. This car runs and drives better every time I drive it. I reccomend buying a Dodge Lancer to anyone who needs a reliable automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

29th Jun 2006, 14:16

$30 not bad.

I remember paying $55 to replace a broken rear door latch on my 1987 model. It was a great car never had any trouble except when the battery died. That happened in front of the garage so replacement was too easy. oh yeah the left front cv blew also, but that was fixed for 150.

I miss my 2.5 litre four banger and wonder if the Caliber is just my lancer reborn?

1961 Dodge Lancer 770 from North America

Year of manufacture1961
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles

Summary:

A wonderful family car for cruising and showing off

Faults:

Overall it is a great car. I have only had the car for a couple months.

Only minor things have happened such as:

Broken park lever cap.

Gas gage failing to operate properly.

Wear on the original seats.

Speedometer broken.

General Comments:

The car is very catchy and draws a lot of attention.

For it's time it handles very well and is reliable.

Its interior and exterior need help, but the engine is incredible.

Lancers can be a steal if you look. I found mine for $800.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

1987 Dodge Lancer Sport 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Dodge's Sport/Luxury Sedan

Faults:

The Air Conditioning went out right after the car was bought. The Dealer fixed it and about three years later it quit again. Never fixed.

General Comments:

The 2.5L engine and the 3-speed automatic transmission are bullet proof.

The seats are very comfortable, suitable for long trips.

The stock sound system sounded great until the front and rear speakers blew out.

Chrysler/Dodge built this car to compete with some of Europe's best sport/touring sedans such as Mercedes and BMW.

I have rode in a BMW from the 80's and I think my car rides much better than the BMW.

Overall, This is a really great car. If anyone can find one in good condition and low miles, get the car, it won't let you down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

28th Oct 2005, 15:18

Just as good as a BMW? No way sir!

This car was a pathetic attempt from Chrysler/Dodge, to rival against the 1980's European cars, and it failed MISERABLY.

Chiefly, because it was nowhere as good to drive as the Europeans: The 2.2 Turbo engine suffered of serious Turbo lag, not to mention the horrendous torque steer.

And partly, because it was a piece of junk: Loads of electrical failures, oil leaks, transmission failures, premature Turbo failure and etc... Even Chrysler dealers admitted, the car was unreliable; And to day no one gives a damn for these things, mainly because they are a mechanical nightmare.

Overall, the Dodge Lancer and its Chrysler counterpart: The LeBaron GTS; Were inferior than most of its Europeans and other imports rivals.

It truly was a LOOSER!

18th Jul 2007, 22:50

You are just retarded the only year the lancer was built to out perform the BMW etc was the 1987 shelby lancer and out perform it did vary well. it had 175hp 5speed trans and formula gp shocks. do your research buddy.

1988 Dodge Lancer Shelby 2.2 turbo II from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo II Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5600 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned

Faults:

This car has been 'Honda Reliable' since day one. Although it has lived pretty much a pampered, well cared for life, I still am amazed at the bullet proof reliability. In 90K miles only normal items have been replaced such as tune up components, belts, hoses, brakes, etc. It has the original clutch, and the AC blows colder than my newer cars on a 100 degree day. The Infinity sound system is great!

General Comments:

The 2.2 turbo II engine by nature is a bit of a 'shake and bake' kind of thing when it comes to smoothness. The large tires and performance suspension give a fairly harsh ride, and lots of road feedback; run over a quarter and you can tell heads from tales in this car. It was built to be cheap and fast, so refinements are missing, but still a big bang for the buck overall!

Today, the rarity of the car (only 129 built in 1988) makes it a bit special to keep around. I get questions about it all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

4th Dec 2004, 21:27

Yes. I would just like to say that in another review I read that there were 279 1988 dodge lancer shelbys made, and not 129 as stated. I woul like to know who's information is correct?

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews