2005 Dodge Magnum Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Dodge Magnum R/T 5.7L HEMI from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7L HEMI Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28200 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carDodge Magnum

Summary:

Average 22MPG, HEMI, Loaded! Count me in!

Faults:

Motor for pedal adjustment burned out.

Passenger seat weight sensor re calibrated (no dealership, did it on its own)

All of this at about 28500 miles, pedal fixed by dealership, seat fixed it self.

General Comments:

Wow, such power! Such agility! Such gas mileage off of a V8 HEMI! I recently got a low 16 mpg in the city and a high 45 mpg on the highway and 22 mpg on the freeway, which averaged out to around 22-23 mpg overall!

The car seats are very comfortable while being heated in the front and very cushy in the back. The area between the door and centre console is plentiful, but not excessive, while not being too tight like in a sports car.

Wow its quick, that's all I can say!

All of the instruments are placed smartly within reaching distance (and if it isn't, use the steering wheel controls) and are crisp to see or feel in the day or night.

Being a station wagon, it has room for luggage or golf clubs, or whatever you carry with you.

Overall this car is fun, somewhat economical, comfy, roomy, and very powerful. Mostly for someone who wants a sleeper that not only does the sports cars job, but has the option of being family oriented. NICE CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2008

2005 Dodge Magnum R/T 5.7 hemi from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 hemi Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

One nice way of packaging a sometimes stubborn automobile.

Faults:

In the last six months we have had 3 outer tie rods on the passenger side, 2 on the drivers side, a new power steering rack, sway bar links on both sides. We have also had a window regulator on the rear pass side. We have had two sets of tires since new first set lasted 6500 miles. The rear hatch leaks and no dealership can figure out where it leaks. The heater has a mind all its own, goes from hot to cold in seconds dealership cannot figure it out. The key fobs quit working and took a month and a half to get new one in. The wiper motor quit within a week of getting the car the air bag lights and the bas braking system light also came on two days after delivery. Still do not know why they stopped working other than all the fuses that run the systems were blown.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, style and color. Mechanically and economically it very bad if not terrible. Fuel mileage in the city is about 10 to 12 mpg and on the freeway about 20 to 23 if it is not windy out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2006

12th Dec 2006, 20:42

WOW I never knew that it would be like that! Did you buy the car new or used from the dealership that you took it to get repaired?? If a car has that many problems under warranty then you would have to call Dodge directly at 8004ADODGE and let them know about it. I have a problem with the window thing, but, as far as the heater and the rear hatch, you would have to tell the dealership that you DO want them replaced immediately. And just for your sake, take your car to another dealership other than that one, some Dodge dealerships are shady. GOOD LUCK.

14th Dec 2006, 12:14

You gave the Hemi a 5/10 for performance?!

Wow.

9th Jan 2007, 09:30

This type of work is always associated with rough terrain...

I have a simple question... with that much front end work, where are you driving this car? Pot holes and gravel roads do not bode well for any suspension system.

2005 Dodge Magnum SXT 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

It's affordable and great to drive

Faults:

The multifunction switch has a bug with the wipers, but I doesn't bother me enough to take it in to be replaced.

Tires rotated...

Oil changes...

No repairs.

General Comments:

The car rides like a dream. The performance is great for the size of the car. When you throw it into a nice tight corner you can feel the car roll onto the side of the tires, it could use low-profiles. 3.5L has lot's of power for everyday use, and it would be a terror in a smaller car (love the engine), but it lacks when you have four people and are trying to highway pass uphill. The mileage could be better, but is always a dog fight between a level of fuel efficiency and power, I prefer power (not enough to buy a Hemi). The ESP computer is great, combined with the traction control it's hard to get stuck in the snow (I live in northern Canada). Some people complain about some obstructions of view, but I don't have anything to complain about except the tiny rear window. You can fit anything under six feet long in the back, unless it is over 24" tall (the back cargo area is a little small). I don't like driving cars for more than a year, but this car has grown on me and I don't want to get rid of it. Chrysler/Dodge did a great job with these cars and it will be hard to follow up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2006

12th Dec 2006, 20:49

Tom from Vancouver WA

The magnum SE and SXT would be your best bet as far as buying a dodge. You'll have some of your problems like, maybe a window malfunction or your windshield wiper blade might need to be tightened after a while, but overall it's a great car. Also be sure to do your research on the dealership, and use common precautions when buying new or used. GOOD LUCK.

28th May 2007, 19:39

I live in Michigan and I bought my Magnum SE in august of 2005 with 15,300mi on it. It was made in Canada (emblems everywhere for "MADE IN CANADA") and I will say that I have not had too much trouble with the engine or transmission, only electrical stuff. Like the sensor in the pass. seat, the rear driver's side window, and a check engine light for a light bulb that didn't register correctly. Anyways my question is " is there a difference between the cars assembled in the U.S. and the ones assembled in Canada? The only difference I have noticed is that my car has daytime running lights while others do not.

2nd Feb 2008, 20:29

I went from a loaded 1999 Intrepid with 3.2 V6, to my current 2005 SXT 3.5, also loaded. I did notice a rise in fuel consumption, but not alarmingly so. There's plenty of power without going to the hemi V8.

Love the car. Test drove the 300, Charger, Lucern and the Ford 500. Nothing could touch the Magnum for drive, looks and dependability. I'm at 89,000 km and I just keep changing the oil regularly. By the way, the Intrepid had 255,000 km and nothing wrong with it when an Impala went through a red light and took it out because of the high mileage.

Henry, Ontario Canada.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews