2005 Dodge Magnum Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2005 Dodge Magnum R/T 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles

Summary:

A beautiful machine with some early production issues...

Faults:

Random stereo malfunctions - Computer software upgraded.

Random car will not start - Replaced computer.

Rear seat belt faulty - replaced.

Rear hatchback doesn't close properly - dealer adjusted.

Car pulls to the right. Dealer adjusted.

Stability control interferes with quick right turns in traffic. Kills power at REALLY BAD times. Stability Control can be partially disengaged, but with this beast, not a good idea.

General Comments:

This was a mean looking machine that just didn't live up to my inflated expectations. Dodge still has build quality issues, the Magnum R/T can be more of a rocket with better intake and exhaust. Yes, it's a little thirsty. Expect 11 or 12 mpg in stop and go traffic, and 20 mpg tops on the highway. My kids didn't like not being able to see out of the high windows.

I loved the comfort, the safety, extremely smooth ride.

Dealer service was excellent.

I bumped my poor toddler's head every other time I put him in his seat.

I wasn't happy with the inconsistent and large gaps in the front end (hood and fenders).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

11th Mar 2006, 06:45

The Magnum in reference to this situation is meant for perfpormance. With that said, it in itself is meant for performance, not entertainment. The navigation, hatch, and everything else would be covered under the 3/36 warranty. The out of pocket costs for malfunctions on the body are covered with no cost to customer. You also must realize that Dodges, while under warranty, are supposed to be driven hard. If you baby it, you won't get the proper and necessary problems fixed. The Limited Slip, or PosiTrac control is set in place on ALL magnums from the SE all the way to SRT. It is very helpful, you should slow down around the corners. And lastly if you really want to improve you gas mileage, look up K&N air filters. They really improve performance and gas mileage. GOOD LUCK.

2nd Jul 2006, 23:37

Of course the 2005 Magnums are going to have problems Its the first year of production, but I have high expectations for the Late 2006 and 2007 models. But I havent had any trouble with mine except a window motor that got wet and a broken air vent that were fixed within 10 min

20th Feb 2007, 13:02

The window should be covered under the 3/36.

29th Mar 2007, 20:39

Actually I had Quite a hard time getting the window fixed, the reason is that I guess the service guy had magic fingers because every time I took it in It worked perfect, but then the next day It wouldn't work, finally I took it in and the window didn't budge so they fixed it (under warranty)

2005 Dodge Magnum SE 2.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15300 miles
Most recent distance18600 miles

Summary:

The car is great for moving things and going anywhere. Nothing is like it on the road

Faults:

My sensor for the air bag on the passenger's side went bad. I went to the DODGE dealership and got it re-calibrated.

The gas mileage at first was not right, but I think the dealership also did something with that.

(notice all repairs are under warranty and at NO cost to me)

Some parts are made of cheap plastic parts (i.e. the seat-belt buckle, inside of armrest, molding on doors, etc.)

General Comments:

Overall this is a Good car. The 2.7L V6 is great for commuter travel NOT FOR PERFORMANCE. The Oil must be changed religiously or the oil WILL sludge up. The handling is excellent around corners and on the freeway. The Magnum is great for space, the back seat lets down for a "boat load" of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

12th Nov 2005, 12:40

Just wait for your engine to get sludge, read all the intrepid.

12th Nov 2005, 16:40

Doesn't the Magnum use a 3.5L V6 and not the infamous 2.7?

12th Nov 2005, 21:28

WRONG!!!they still use the 2.7 liter engine so they can turn a huge profit replacing engines.

29th Nov 2005, 18:12

The SE (base model) has the 2.7 Liter, the SXT has the 3.5. The R/T has the 5.7.

The sludge problem has been addressed the Magnums by the new larger capacity oil pan.

I have the 2.7, the 190hp moves the car, but not much more. I still love the vehicle. 25mpg, looks great, lots of cargo room, and for less than $20k it's hard to beat a SE on value. The 3.5 is $27k, the Hemi AWD is $34.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews