1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 21 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned...ever!

Faults:

The usual problems occurred with this car. The Dodge Neons had a problem with their head gaskets and it needed to be replaced. Otherwise, at 180,000 miles, this car has NEVER given me any engine problems, transmission problems, or electrical problems. I have beaten this car up and gone against the recommendations of mechanics and it has been with me all the way... always starting right up and getting me where I needed to go.

General Comments:

I retired my Neon at 180,000 miles when the idler puller shattered. Every mechanic that has seen this has told me it has never happened before on a Neon. It bent all 16 valves and repairs were over a thousand dollars. When I first heard it, I was angry at it, but now I realize that this is the ONLY major problem with it after 180,000 miles! Dodge made a spectacular car and I would buy another one in a heartbeat. I hate to let it go, but it was so good to me for such a long time. All the previous owners I personally know... and I know the complete history of this car. It was by far the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

10th Dec 2004, 14:50

I love my Neon.

I would recommend it for anyone looking for a cheap car and will get more than it's current value's worth.

I haven't had to replace my head gasket, but my spark plugs yes... but that is just general maintance.

I fill up on $25 (Cdn) and it can get me 400 km easy.

The only problem I've had with it is the windows whistle, but nothing serious.

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Cheap and durable

Faults:

Spedometer stopped working at about 25,000km. Fixed under warranty.

Air conditioning developed several leaks at about 70,000 km. I never had it repaired.

The rear seal developed a major leak at 110,000 km which also ruined the clutch. I was quoted $2200 at the dealer. I had it fixed for $850 elsewhere.

The front left ball joints and other minor front end components were replaced at 125,000 km after the car was broadsided by a 96 year old running a red light.

Several hoses have been changed for the cooling system over time.

The dash board gages now rarely work - especially the speedometer and odometer. So I have to estimate the mileage.

The right ball joint and tie rods were changed at 175, 000 km.

The head gasket has been slowly leaking for the past 15,000 km; however, now at about 190,000 it is leaking heavily - About a quart of oil every 4 weeks.

Oh, and the horn has rusted out twice.

General Comments:

Overall, the car has been very reliable despite the leaky engine and lazy dashboard gages. It was a cheap car to purchase and I have been very lazy in doing maintenance work on the vehicle - especially since buying another car (a Volvo) 3 years ago. I've neglected it, abused it, ran it with virtually no oil and no coolant, and bounced it off of guardrails. It's also been broad-sided, rear-ended and stolen for a day. Yet it takes me on a daily commute of 110 km each and every day and feels solid on the road at any speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 SOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Great, Cheap, Awesome Car

Faults:

Catalytic Converter needs to be replaced, stereo went at 56,000...upgraded to a pioneer CD deck!!!spark plug wires, and then just routine maintenance!!!

General Comments:

I love this car, but am pissed cuz I miss my Corsica... someone rear-ended me @30 mph!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89900 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

American Hunk of Junk

Faults:

First generation Dodge Neons are true lemons. Don't waste your money like I did. So many repairs have been done to this vehicle most likely could have just bought another one with the price of parts and labor to fix it. My father has been spending his money on fixing the car within the first month of me owning it.

The first problem before I bought the car was it rains in the trunk so the car smelled like mildew.

When I was driving home one day the car cut off. The reason was the alternator belt fell off and drained my battery.

The head gasket blew within the first month.

The cam and rear main oil seals went too.

Transmission leaks, brakes screeches so loud it hurts my ears to stop. This is some of the many things that have happened within the first year of owning the car. I have not even included everything.

2002 The car must have broke down 4 or 5 times. I have had a total of four battery.

Just today I leave to go somewhere it does not crank up so that's probably battery #5.

Three weeks before this all my transmission oil ran out and had to be towed because the seal was messed up.

So much money for it to continue to mess up over and over again. I will never ever buy anything from Daimler and Chrysler again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 17:11

Sounds like you did not properly check this car out before you bought it. If the car smelled funny maybe that should have been your first indication that it was not taken care of. If you have to change a battery out that many times there is another problem other than your battery maybe and alternator. The reason for my response is people right these reviews without real good reasons. I mean that if the transmission went out and you just bought if from the showroom floor than I could see were you would have a reason to get mad. I own a 1995 Dodge Neon sport it has it problems, but nothing that is not to be expected, it comes with age.

22nd Jun 2003, 00:09

I had a 1995 Neon and it didn't have that many major problems with it. You must have got a hold of a dealer knockoff. You should have went back to the dealer and tried to get something done.

5th Aug 2003, 15:29

I have a 95 neon and had to have the engine replaced once because of the leaking head gasket, and had the 2nd engine gasket replaced as well. The clutch cable went out and now my alternator belt is melted. Do not get a 1st generation neon.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews