1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 18 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

A good car for a good price!

Faults:

Well, the back right wheel did not turn, but it was fixed.

A tire had to be replaced after my brother ran over a nail.

My brother backed into a curb.

Pretty much all the little problems that we've had are because of him. Nothing big.

Normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

My father purchased this car in about 2000 for 3,000 dollars. And we have not had any major problems with it.

Normal things that are expected have happened. We've driven this car several times to Newburgh NY and Lancaster PA without a problem. We've never stalled ever.

It had to be towed once when the right back wheel stopped turning, but we've had no problems since.

Like all other Neons the pain at the top peeled in one spot, but the car works great for 1995!

I liked the car so much that today I also purchased a 1995 Dodge Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85600 miles
Most recent distance98500 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

A hunk of junk held together with loose screws

Faults:

Computer box went out right after I got the car. It stayed in the shop every two weeks.

Starter plug broke and the dealership zip tied it back on and it broke again a week later.

Makes loud noises when driving in the rain.

Transmission doesn't change gears right.

Window rattles all the time.

Won't start after it gets to a below a half a tank of gas.

Frunt end sways when you hit bumps in the road.

General Comments:

I would never buy another Dodge product for as long as I live. It has left me on the side of the road many of times and it is like you get one thing fix, but ten other things go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Gran Fury

Summary:

Waste of valuable money

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 100000 Ks.

Paint peeling.

Radiator leaks.

Steering wheel vibrates badly.

Door leaks.

The list goes on and on and on...

General Comments:

It's a piece of crap.

Never will I buy another Dodge, and I will try to talk anyone else out of buying one too.

Spending more to maintain it than I did to purchase it and get it insured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

A safe, cheap car

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced

Gas tank needed to be replaced

Fuel injectors needed to be replaced

Check engine light went on for no reason.

Basically, it was a 2003 neon in a 95 body.

General Comments:

Drove easily.

Cheap on gas

I got hit by a Ford f-350 going 60 mph while I was doing 20 mph. Both the passenger and I walked away from the accident. The truck ran over the front end of my car and the hood was torn off and throw 100 feet.

Had some yucky problems when first bought, but after those had been fixed it ran great and saved my life in a terrible accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon Sport DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance140870 miles

Summary:

There are lemons, but my Neon has been an orange! I love oranges!

Faults:

Motor blew at 80,000 miles.

Timing pulleys broke at 140,000.

Need to roll the windows up twice to completely close.

General Comments:

This car could not be more reliable.

Comfort is excellent. I love the tilting of the seat.

Brakes have not been changed on the car. (not ever)

Rotors were turned in 1997.

I would tell anyone to buy a neon. They are great first little cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

15th Jan 2006, 16:25

A motor blowing at 80k seems to me a poor quality product, I'm sorry. Most engines with proper maintence can see 150k or more without rebuilding easy.

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

My advice, do not buy dodge products at any time, they suck, never again, never

Faults:

Sensors died, reverse died, head gasket, water pump died, fuses, windows unstable, wheel are shaking, engine dies in the middle of nowhere, still not in drivable condition, oil leaking all the time, strange sound from the engine, a/c does not work.

General Comments:

After I bought this car, change sensors, $400.

After that mt reverse dies, got used one for $400, parts insight transmission.

Head gasket blows, change it.

$600 for the water pump.

Two fuses out, $100.

Windows are shaking all the time when driving, water comes through.

For no reason, wheels start shaking.

Week ago broke down with neon, Chrysler fixed the fuel filter $170, broke down again in the same day.

Since bought, oil and transmission leak.

Non-stop strange sound from engine.

A/c does not work.

Do not have attention to fix this junk, I wish dodge company to go out of business to spare people form cost and nerves and to be erased fro the history of cars, ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2003

11th Nov 2004, 19:41

I have worked for Chrysler for 10 years, I own a 1995 Dodge Neon Sport coupe, Since this car was introduced in late 1994 "1995 model year",I have not seen very many of these cars in for warranty work or other problems, except for the famous leaking head gasket. Which to me wasnt that big of a deal. I have been very pleased with this car, and by the way, technically this car has a HEMI engine, yes I said Hemi, just ask any Chrysler certified engine tech if you think I'm kidding.

25th May 2007, 10:27

The leaking head gasket not a big deal!? You sure have a lot of nerve to say that! When an inherent defect in a car costs someone upwards of $1200 to fix and happens usually before the 50,000 mile mark then yes I sure consider it a big deal!

5th Nov 2012, 02:50

I had to replace my head gasket on my 1995 Dodge Neon with only 160,000km on it. $1600 is A BIG DEAL. Let alone the head gasket. I swear this car was in the shop more than I drove it. $10000 in repairs and maintenance in four years is unacceptable. Shame on Dodge. =(

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews