1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 22 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon Highline Sedan 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Battery died the first week I had the car, and no one knows why.

Fan belt went at around 62000.

Steering wheel shakes between 60-65 miles per hour, had the alignment redone, and it was fine for about 6 months, then back again to shaking.

Rear driver side window came off the track.

Windows do not seal as well as they should.

Sensory line for the gas line went at about 68000.

General Comments:

It was a good first used car when I was 16.

Now that I do a lot of highway driving, I need a more reliable car. The neon makes me nervous on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

1995 Dodge Neon Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Good car with a cheap price

Faults:

Well nothing is really wrong with it except that my drivers side taillight always fills up with water when it rains.

General Comments:

My neon has 114000 miles and I did not change the timing belts and it runs just fine. My car is very good with it's handling and speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

4th Sep 2003, 13:16

Regarding the water leak at left rear tail light, there is a recall. We have successfully repaired this leak for several customer's Neons. Just remove the tail light and use clear silicone sealant. Works great!

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Typical pilot-year screw-up car

Faults:

The head gasket blew at around 20,000 miles, a common problem I learned about the 1995 Neon.

The steering column started making a strange grinding noise at 50,000 miles when making any kind of turn, be it slight or tight.

The door handles faded in color to almost a light gray due to just routine washing.

The heating/cooling system made a loud hissing noise when in operation at around 58,000 miles. Air conditioning being on took away a great deal of acceleration.

Interior console and controls were obviously very cheaply made.

Road noise was pronounced.

Driving over a speed bump felt like and sounded like I was driving over a human body.

Both airbags expelled after a very minor fender-bender; less than 10 mph.

General Comments:

Seating was surprisingly comfortable.

Interior was roomy.

Trunk space was generous.

Stereo was fantastic. That was the ONE AND ONLY thing I miss about the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 17:17

About the fading door handles I have had the very same problem along with my rear passenger side door. This may help you go to your local Autozone and buy some Turtle wax rubbing compound and put about 2-3 coats on and then after that take some Turtle wax I think that it is called hard shell although that may be what they are all called. Out 2 coats of that on it should make your paint shine again.

1995 Dodge Neon 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

My biggest regret

Faults:

Tires wore out quickly.

Rear main seal went.

Fan that cooled off the engine needed to be replaced.

Head gasket needed to be replaced.

Paint pealed off around door handles.

Knob that switched heat from vent to defrost ended up breaking in the middle of the winter with it stuck on defrost.

Timing belt, valves, and water pump, all left my car on the side of the road with no place to go, but the junk yard.

General Comments:

This car was a waste of time and money. Almnost every something needed to be repaired. Something was always wrong with this thing. Me and my roommate poured so much money into this car only to be disappointed. I knew in the long run it would let us down. I will never again invest my money into a dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2003

28th Mar 2003, 22:08

I can relate to your problem:

Mine have been:

Oxygen sensor 3 times

Front brakes 2 times

Wheels peeling

Clear coat flaking on paint (it's purple and shows pretty bad)

Spark plugs keep going out

Has had several major oil leaks

One in oil sensor

Twice in val cover gasket

Air does not cool

Power steering makes a weird noise

And now a whooping $569.00 head gasket.

Service engine light flashes all the time

Thinking of pushing it off the bridge to collect the insurance.

7th Mar 2005, 14:47

I too had many problems with my 95 neon. Unfortunatley I also ran it into a tree, and the car exploded. Before that everything went wrong just about every sensor went, fuel pump water pump gas cover fell off. All that is left of my car now is a burnt pile of metal. Has any other Neon exploded that anyone knows of?

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews