1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 33 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles

Summary:

Run, don't walk to unload this hunk of junk (if you can)

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 42,000 miles.

Head gasket blew again at 51,000 miles.

Heating/AC problems for about a year.

Oxygen sensor blew at 52000 miles.

General Comments:

There is nothing good to say. The head gasket problem is obviously an inherent defect that Dodge is choosing to ignore. I am thinking of filing a class action lawsuit regarding the head gasket replacements based on the countless number of review I've read on this site and others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance100150 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Faults:

A/C clutch-pump went out at 50,000 miles.

Front brakes wear a little more than normal.

General Comments:

My 1995 Neon is the best car I've ever owned except for my '88 Sundance (250K)! Very few problems with either car. I'm truly sold on Dodge products.

The only change I'd make to the Neon would be to add a more comfortable seat. As for power, it's got all I need & then some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1995 Dodge Neon Highline from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance104489 miles

Summary:

A cheap piece of aluminum!

Faults:

A day after I got the car the head gasket blew out.

I've had several oil leaks.

I've had to get my timing belt fixed.

My windows leak a lot of air.

My interior leaks air.

The paint on the whole roof has bubbled up and peeled away.

The steering is starting to go out, even after I've put fluid in it.

General Comments:

I would not buy another Neon!! Ever!! I've had mine for 2 years, and it is worth about $5,000 less than it was when I bought it. They will not repair anything either unless you have a warranty, and to them a paint job is not considered to be under a warranty!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 21:12

Have a 95 Neon Highline. I haven't had a lot of problems until recently - an oil leak, cam-seal, timing belt. We need to fight for a recall.

E-mail me at whit0515@hotmail.com

11th Feb 2002, 10:49

Rock on, I think we need to definitely get a recall on the cam seal and the head gasket. It is just crap that they don't do a recall on the head gasket.

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance10527 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Needs to be shot and put out of its misery

Faults:

Well the head went.

The car cost me 10,900 and I have put in 1000.00 dollars and am still putting in money.

Window is off track.

Brakes went.

Now it just does not run, does not want to run at all, new spark plugs just about everyday.

General Comments:

I hate this car, I was better off walking, I would of got there faster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

1995 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired312 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carDodge Lancer

Faults:

I bought my car new except for the test drive miles that were on it in December of 1994.

I now have 109,000 miles on it and I am starting to have a few problems. The most recent being a sensor that had to be replaced that had been causing the car to lose power. I do have an oil leak around the head gasket but it is very slight yet still worries me.

Other than that, I have replaced the battery, the tires, the front brakes (not the rotors), and had the air conditioning recharged.

Two problems that have also come up recently are that my radio has quit and my trunk is rusting from the inside out. However, after getting the sensor replaced my car performs as well as the day I got it and gets 36-40 miles per gallon. I cannot really complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100080 miles

Summary:

It's a great car!

Faults:

Brakes wear down fast.

Tires can wear fast.

General Comments:

The car is very fun. With my K&N air filter and Bosh Platinum (4) spark plugs I can outrun a Civic any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1995 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

OK car for the price

Faults:

Most repairs to the car where just genral maintenance.

Oxygen sensors have gone out 2 times, I think both times it cost less than $100 to fix this.

At about 97000 miles. the head gasket started to go, it was about a $400 repair.

The clutch went out around 65000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been more reliable than I originally expected it to be.

The frameless windows create a lot of wind noise when I'm on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews