1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 35 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon Sport 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.7 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang LX

Summary:

Disaster waiting to happen!

Faults:

I have replaced the transmission two times.

The clutch and pressure plate two times.

The timing belt, and now the head gasket and possibly the heads themselves.

General Comments:

I have had problems with this car since I got it. It is not dependable, I am afraid to go out of town in it. I have been stranded several times, because something breaks down. The last straw is the engine. My Neon has been nothing but a headache for me. I will never buy another Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

1995 Dodge Neon Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

The worst mistake I ever made

Faults:

2 head gaskets blew.

Head cracked.

Brakes replaced 6 times.

2 new calipers.

New engine due to severe knocking and missing. Was told it couldn't be fixed. Was ready to blow up. Timing belt needs to be replaced. I had a spark plug blow completely out and hit the hood.

Anything and everything that could go wrong has.

General Comments:

I spent close to $5,000 on repairs and rental cars. Payoff was $7,000. It really makes you sick to think how car dealers take advantage of someone. The dealer never offered to help me. I probably should have taken them to court,but hindsight is 20/20.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2000

7th Jan 2002, 20:16

I suggest you learn something about cars because those are well built cars.

23rd Oct 2004, 14:17

Laugh out loud, they are not well built cars. As said by others after 80,000 miles, there goes the car. Starts to fall apart. I had one of my spark plugs blow completely and because of that happening so many times it stripped the coils and ruined my engine. So I am looking at a few thousand in damage. Thanks dodge!!!. Never again will I buy a dodge!

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Awful

Faults:

Tie-rods went at 32,000 miles.

Brakes twice since I got it.

Head gasket at 52,000.

Air conditioner at 50,000.

General Comments:

Would not recommend the car to anyone, the shocks in the back are terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

1995 Dodge Neon Highline Coupe 2.0 L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39222 miles
Most recent distance52495 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Just a fun car to drive (especially around corners)

Faults:

Yes, that infamous head gasket (warranted), that's about it.

Recall for "steering column pop".

General Comments:

The car is a blast to drive. Service department very friendly and FAST.... Got the head gasket done in ONE day! It'll even eat a Corvette at SCCA races!! While very nimble, the car never rides harsh, and it is mechanically perfect after 52,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

1995 Dodge Neon Sport Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles

Summary:

Awful

Faults:

I drive the car locally, you can tell by mileage...

Transmission fell out at 13,000, left signal went out at 13,000, needed to recharge air last year, tie rods cracked in 1999, two massive oil leaks. The most recent (car is in shop as we speak), head gasket cracked. My car is not under warranty but surprisingly the dealer is replacing it for free, did not even have to fight. I think it has to do with fact that they tried to "fix" a previous oil leak and this seems to be happening with Neons. The paint is peeling as well on the front and back bumpers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th July, 2000

29th Apr 2003, 06:23

I have a Ford Aerostar, Chevy Citation and Cavalier, and I have never had any problems with them. A friend of mine owns a Neon and he maintained it as good as he could and the stupid head gasket went out twice!!!

Dodge needs to stop making aluminum engines and start making cast iron engines. Aluminum engines absorb 5 times as much heat as cast iron. This is why cast iron is 10 times better. My Aerostar and Citation has ALL cast iron engines and my cavalier has an Aluminum engine, but did not blow a head gasket yet because it has a GOOD cooling system. I am soo grateful for it.

1995 Dodge Neon Sport Sedan from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Horrible

Faults:

Is there enough room for the list?

Recall on steering column.

Recall on back brake rotors.

Recall on something else (can't remember).

Had to replace coolant cap, ten minutes later the car overheated and found out it was a blown head gasket. Basically meaning a crack in the engine. This was at 79,000 miles. This never should happen to a car this early.

Everything inside is falling apart.

Exterior paint is already chipping.

The gas gauge does not work correctly. I have to time my miles so I don't run out of gas. The less gas I have, the closer the gas gauge moves to FULL. Duh!!

It rides awful because of the head gasket. It ruined my transmission. The dealer said the transmission was fine, however when a car can't catch its gear, something is wrong.

I have had the air conditioning worked on.

General Comments:

This is the worst car ever made. I will tell anyone that. Don't ever buy a Neon... none the less a Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2000

14th Feb 2001, 15:03

I have the same car as you do and it is just GARBAGE, GARBAGE, GARBAGE. This car is a disgrace to automobiles. Dodge should be ashamed of themselves by allowing a lemon of that magnitude to be built. In my opinion the only reasonable function that this clunker has is to be used as a ships anchor (or target practice by the military). I will never ever ever buy a Dodge product as long as I live. All they build is JUNK!

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews