1996 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 20 of 27

1996 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

This is a very sensible, affordable car

Faults:

When I got the car, the instrument panel did not work. It was easily replaced by getting a new one at a junk yard.

The brakes squeal a little when it is first started up in the morning, but after a couple of stops, the squealing quits.

General Comments:

My Neon runs great. It just recently had a tune up and the ride is smooth and the engine is quiet.

I have had no major problems with my car.

This car is very affordable.

I'm a petite person and the smaller size car is perfect for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

1996 Dodge Neon Highline 4dr Sedan 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carRenault Medallion

Summary:

Perfect student or small family car as long as its under warranty

Faults:

Painted started chipping at 65k miles on trunk; dealer charged $100 to repair. Chips continued; dealer repainted entire car for no charge.

Head gasket blew at 75k miles; under warranty $100 deductible.

Head gasket blew 99k miles; under warranty $100 deductible.

Have replaced tires once a year for the past 5 years; average $400.

Replaced brakes once a year for the past 5 years; Average $200/year.

Rotors at 45k, 90k, and 117k miles, $200.

Replaced shocks/struts at 60k, 90k, 117k miles, $500 average.

Transmission leakage every 15k miles or so.

Replaced Timing belt 115k miles.

Replaced Horn at 95k miles.

Battery constantly needs cleaning and checking; have charger in car for emergencies.

Clicking noise in engine; think its lifters.

General Comments:

Very good in the early miles.

Fast acceleration, even beat a Eclipse once :)

Corners and turns very good.

Excellent in rain and snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

8th Jul 2002, 17:38

How did you get the head gasket replaced under warranty at 75k miles? I had the head gasket blow in mine at about 65k and the dealer would not replace it for free (60k warranty). I had to pay $1,300 to replace the head gasket and the damage caused due to engine overheating. I even wrote a letter to Dodge and they would not reimburse me for even part of the repair cost.

1996 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carDatsun 280zx

Summary:

This car would be more effective at the bottom of a lake

Faults:

Currently the head gasket is busted on the car and the car leaks two quarts of oil every month. The oil leak has gotten into the coolant. The caliper and the brakes need to be replaced. This is not the first time I have had to replace the brakes. The speakers have blown and I do not listen to music that loudly.

After I had the car for about two months the clutch hose broke.

General Comments:

Even though the car gets great gas mileage it is not worth the hassle it has been. I have to take the car in about every six months and the car does not even have 100,000 miles on it. Although the car is a four door it does not comfortably sit four adults. The visibility in the car is not view good either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

5th Nov 2004, 23:28

There is no "clutch hose" in a Neon... or any other car for that matter...

They have cable clutches, it's a cable that goes from the clutch pedal to the throw out bearing... no hoses involved...

15th May 2005, 17:30

It has a hydraulic clutch and does have a hose dummy I'm sure glad ur not working on my car lol.

1996 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 39,000.

My rear main seal blew at 52,000.

The radio stopped working at 52,000.

The inside trunk release broke at 50,000.

I have replaced numerous parts of the emission system.

My brakes scream when pressed. No matter what the weather is like, the brakes screech, squeal, & scream. I've had the pads & rotors replaced. They still scream.

Recently, it has started stalling for no apparent reason. This condition is sporadic, so it's impossible to figure out the cause. Sometimes it's when turning left, sometimes when at an idle, sometimes on the highway, sometimes it runs just fine.

The paint has now started peeling off in sheets.

The engine is extremely noisy when first started.

I can hardly wait to see what goes wrong next.

General Comments:

Avoid Neons like the plague. They are no bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

29th Jan 2003, 15:31

I to am suffering the sporadic stalling, I must admit though I bought the car used and now have 147,000 miles on it, regular maintenance is the only thing I've had to do until this problem started. Does anyone know why this sporadic stalling happens and how to correct it??

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 90 reviews