1996 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 23 of 27

1996 Dodge Neon Baseline 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A hunka burning crap

Faults:

Where should I start?

How about the 4, yes 4 head gaskets before 25,000 miles.

Or maybe the fact that it would stall when driven in the rain.

Or the 600$ brake job at 22,000 miles?

General Comments:

I could not say enough bad things about this car, and not even close to enough bad things about the way the dealer treated us. When we complained after the 3rd head gasket we were told "what do you expect, you bought a Neon?"

Need I say more?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

19th Jan 2002, 23:51

That sounds 100% Correct for a Chrysler Dealer :)

3rd Sep 2002, 01:02

Great review! luv them remarks... would never buy a neon after reading this one. you made me laugh.thanks!

12th Nov 2002, 11:01

Yeah, I have a 96 neon and have had 1000 problems with it. I couldn't agree more with you comment. My car stalls so often that it would probably cost so much to repair the car than how much it is worth. Stick with a Honda...

29th May 2003, 12:02

There is a bright side to all this: It is a compact car, so it is much more likely to be able to fit up the dealer's...well, you know where.

5th Jan 2007, 11:31

I am just amazed that the dealer had the nerve to tell you "What do you expect you bought a Neon?" Shows what their thoughts are about their own products. Pretty sad if you ask me.

1996 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

High performance junk

Faults:

This car has driven me crazy with all the problems that have swallowed my money. It all started with a heat sensor that had gone out. By the time I had found out what was wrong the engine had overheated a few times. I got the sensor replaced, but it was too late for the many other things that would go wrong.

The computer went out next followed by the converter. After replacing these parts I got a factory recall for a fault seal. I took the car in to be fixed and you'd think this would have fixed it, but it didn't. After replacing the seal the car leaked like a waterfall.

I could go on for a long time on all the things that have given me a problem with this car, but I don't wish to bore you so I will stop here. I would like to say that to buy a Dodge Neon is the biggest mistake for anybody who doesn't have money to waste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2001

1996 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

Nothing but headaches

Faults:

Transmission was replaced at 12000 miles, 25000 miles and 30000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 35000 miles.

Window's leak.

Drivers side window does not stop when it should. It goes 1/4 inch higher which makes opening and closing the door difficult.

Air bag did not deploy in two front end collisions.

Squeaky brakes.

General Comments:

For my first new car buying experience, I am very disappointed. All of the old clunker cars I've previously owned have had far less problems.

I'll never buy another Dodge.

The only good thing I have to say is that I love the color, Bright Jade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

1996 Dodge Neon Sport 4 Door 2.0L DOHC 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance111300 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Cheap price, cheap quality, poor resale value...100% American car

Faults:

The fuel pump died at around 90,000 miles.

Our head gasket blew at around 95,000 miles.

The passenger side power window motor died.

The dash electronics work most of the time but sometimes turn off completely. The speedo and tach register "zero" at times.

General Comments:

Overall not a horrible car although I would never, ever buy another Chrysler vehicle (actually just ordered a new Acura RSX for the wife to replace her Neon).

We had pretty good luck with it until about 90,000 miles. At that point, things started to either completely die on the car or work once in a while.

As expected, the head gasket blew and the car was drinking oil a few months before we repaired it (quart every 150 miles). The fuel pump was a big surprise and the passenger power mirror fizzled unexpectantly.

Our 4 door Sport model came with the 3 speed auto. Good gas mileage but why only 3 gears? Performance is average at best.

Comfort in the front seats is good but stiff in the back seats. Cab forward design offers good headroom front and back. Nice considering how small the car is.

Gas mileage is good around 30-35 mpg on the highway.

Handling is pretty good. Tires lasted about 80k and the brakes are still original.

Paint is the dark green metallic and still looks brand new. Lucky I suppose.

Resale value is less than a used band-aid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

27th Aug 2001, 10:39

I have had my 1996 Neon for about 5 years now and the only major problem I have encountered was that the electrical system in the dash seems to fail occasionally. Other than that, the car has been a pretty decent buy.

Shalin.

30th Oct 2001, 11:21

Bought my 96 4 door Neon Sport used at auto auction with 23K.

Only problem, started jumping out of 5th gear at 108K. Fixed for about $300.00 by a friendly neighborhood tranny shop. Original clutch was replaced at this time, yes, with 108K on it and a few K left. No other mechanical problems, just routine maintenance.

Overall a great car and nothing like the horror stories I read on here.

I put an underdrive pulley on at 94K for more zip. Has mild case of Chrysler disease (peeling roof paint).

Goes like hell. Wish they had put a rear sway bar on it (as on the sport coupe) for more neutral handling. Wouldn't bother with a SOHC model or an automatic.

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 90 reviews