1996 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0L DOHC from North America


This is car is awesome is you take car of it and don't drive like it is a race car w/o doing mods


Ignition Coil Burnt out replaced with 70$ after-market.

Head Gasket Recalled/replaced.

All New brakes because the guy who owned it before me wore through the pads and ruined the discs.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable, but not necessarily a "cushy" ride (at least not the sport)... handling is quite good. Much better than my friend 2003 Ford Focus.

It is much quicker than the Focus and gets the same mpg (I average 32mpg).

I find the seats a little uncomfortable, but that is easily remedied with a bolt in replacement for $200-$400 depending on how much you want to spend.

This car is not a luxury car, so don't expect it to be. It is an economy go getter, and in a general sense the neon's are pretty much the fastest car in their class especially for the price.

As far as everyone else's problems, every car breaks down around 50K, 75K, 100K and so on. Parts wear out. If you maintain this vehicle it will last a very long time. The parts for this car are very cheap when compared to Honda's, and other imports in the same class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon from North America


I would not recommend it


10/1/2003 - Valve Seal, O2 sensor $1000 - work done by Dodge Dealership.

12/1/2004 Head Gasket power steering problem - $1000 - fixed at Dodge Dealership.

8/5/2005 Water Pump (precautionary replacement) (apprx. $400)

8/5/2005 Leaking Gas filter/ transmission fluid leak $400 done by Firestone.

9/27/2005 car won't start Fuel Pump Fuse is blowing dealer suggest replacing engine wire harness for $1500.

Other things:

Speedometer works intermittently

A/C doesn't work, (heat does work)

General Comments:

I'm not satisfied with this car. It fits my needs as a fuel efficient car, but reliability as you can see above has declined.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0, 122 c.i.d., DOHC from North America


Awesome car


Water pump failure.

Alternator failure.

Speedometer doesn't work half the time.

Who needs a speedo when you have a tach, and you're not incompetent.

Tach failure, sometimes.

Who needs that when you have ears...\

Again, received car with 118k miles on it.

General Comments:

Fun. Sexy.

Confetti interior promotes partying and having an all around good time.

With minor investment, you'll beat any civic that revs it at you.

Seats will give you lower back pain for life.

Seriously, dependable even with 100k miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon Highline sedan 2.0L SOHC from North America


My wife thought it was cute, but cute has no influence on the high maintenance costs


Head Gasket Blows like clockwork every 60,000km.

Timing belt blown.

Oil Pan faulty, leaks.

Leaky trunk.

Poor door design. windows easily pulled from outside.

Poor engine design, aluminum. Warps after 100,000 km.

Weak factory lights.

Terrible factory paint. Too thin. A crystler defect.

Poor winter performance.

Tires lock easily in winter. frozen drums.

General Comments:

Whats the point. Would you even concider the good things after seeing the bad?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon Highline 4.0 leter from North America


Good grocery runner


Nothing has gone wrong with this car. I love it and is a good secondary car. Granted it has its flaws. The headlights fog easily and is hard to modify. The seats are starting to show their age because the owner of the car prior to me smoked. The car has only gone through one transmission and has over 100,000 miles on it. It also had to have a new muffler and gas tank, but that couldn't be helped. Both the gas tank and muffler didn't meet inspection standards required by the state. The dodge neon is a good car.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. This car gets me from point a to point b. I write this comment intending two things: 1.this car is a great go-kart and 2. It's intended to save money on gas. The car is almost 10 years old and it steers like a dream. The cabin is very comfortable and the rear seats fold down for storage. The dodge neon is a great car and my expectations for the car is very high. I call it my grocery runner. The dodge neon is a car right up to par.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2005