1996 Dodge Neon Sport Coupe 2.0 SOHC from North America


The Neon is a great buy for the money


Nothing out of the ordinary.

And I must tell you any one who pays $1200 for a clutch does not need to be walking around alone with their wallet. that's is only about a $300 job.

As with ANY car if it is abused early like almost all are, such as people driving 50,000 miles before an oil change then they get mad because their cam is destroyed, you can expect that with so many of them sold, their will always be complaints.

General Comments:

The Neon is a very reliable, affordable and powerful entry into the sport compact market. Do not berade an entire company because some moron did not know how to take care of their cars before you got them.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon from North America


Stay away from this car


Replace head gaskets twice. Factory radio never worked right and would change stations on it's own?? A/C evaporator replace twice. Constant transmission problems. Frequent replacement of brakes.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I've owned. The only reason why I kept it because the resale value is so low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

10th Jul 2009, 18:05

Your radio problem sounds like a ghost. I reccommend either calling Sam and Dean Winchester, or the Ghostbusters.

Check in, on, or around your stereo for sulphur. You'll be able to tell it's sulphur by the raunchy smell.

Good luck! :)

24th Dec 2010, 02:57

Yeah, you should keep a ray-gun handy just in case any slimy foes decide to take aim at you from your ghastly car.

1996 Dodge Neon Expresso 2.0 16 valvues from North America


A car to have for fun and you pay as you go!


To begin with the car when I first got it the speedometer stop working I assume this is a problem with all the Neon's that I heard about. I so far have replaced the troddle sensor, the struts, front and rear. I have to be replacing my brakes every 4 months and regular maintenance problems. Also the catalac converter recently went out, but have not replaced it. Also as well I have replaced the inner and outer tire rods and the starter.

General Comments:

After what I spend in this car I think it pretty decent for the way I treating me it's been in 3 accidents all related to the way I treated. Good car runs fast it burns eclipses, and other four cylinder cars and keeps up or beats some 6 cylinder cars in the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

8th Jun 2006, 23:39

It looks like you like the car, but to me it is a piece of junk!!! My head gasket went, My fuel pump went, My front steering assembly went, now my odemeter and speedometer has gone, What next??? Also you have to feed the engine Mid Grade Gasoline in these HIGH PRICE DAYS!!! And I used to work for for the Company. It looks like the Eyes are looking at the East, like everything else. When was the last time you picked up an item in the (any store) and found it was made in the USA./Canada or U.K.???

1996 Dodge Neon highline sport coupe 2.0L DOHC from North America


Cheap unreliable econo coupe


I bought the car and it wouldn't pass emissions testing.

Replaced catalytic converter.

Map sensor replaced.

Throttle position sensor replaced.

General Comments:

The car was good looking, but I wouldn't pass emissions testing no matter what I did.

I ended up selling the car for this reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

1996 Dodge Neon Sport Coupe 2.0L DOHC from North America


The enviable Neon price does not outweigh the price of repairs, let alone the price of reliability.


Radiator cap blew and engine overheated, causing warp damage.

Intake gasket had to be replaced to defer acceleration jumps, but it didn't fix that problem.

Ignition coil pack and a new set of spark plugs were just installed after several trips to the garage finally diagnosed a P350 reading.

Engine started to 'buck' on the freeway, causing rpm gauge to jump violently up and down. Mechanic said it was the ignition primary circuit, but after learning that I had just replaced those, said it was simply loose battery wires.

After three attempts to drive home for Christmas, the engine bucked again, but this time completely died. I had to get it towed and it is now sitting in the shop and they can't figure out the problem.

Auto door locks work periodically.

Auto windows shake terribly as they are going down.

Passenger side door bolt broke and is now held in by a screw.

Oil leak.

Trunk release doesn't work. Must be opened by a key.

Speakers cause crackling noise and front and back must be rewired.

General Comments:

This car was in relatively good condition when I bought it 10 months ago. I have taken the time to care for it both personally and professionally, but after only this short time and 6000 miles, I am tired of wondering if I'll be able to drive to work or school everyday. The repair costs just keep getting larger, leading up to something worse. Neons are notorious for their head gasket repairs and transmission failure. I am getting rid of mine before that happens.

On the plus side, it has an amazing amount of space for such a small car, as I am able to pack everything I own into one load for frequent moves... the trunk is awesome. It gets good gas mileage, is comfortable, and has good acceleration, when it decides to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2004