1988 Dodge Raider SUV 2.6 from North America


A tough offroad beast that nothing can stop


The only problem I have had with the Raider is the limited slip rear.

I had to replace the gear lube and add slip modifier from the dealer.

General Comments:

The Raider is one well built SUV. It puts my old Bronco II to shame. I have taken the Raider places where no SUV should go and it has always pulled through like the beast that it is.

I would recommend a Raider for anyone who is looking for a heavy duty off road vehicle. It definitly beats any one of the new plastic SUV's on the road today. Including JEEP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

1987 Dodge Raider 2.6 liter from North America


After this truck was stolen I had to replace the engine. While I had it torn down I put in a new clutch, and water pump.

This little truck is very tough - watch out Chevy, Ford, and Dodge.

I've read reviews that people use oil after 100,000 miles. This is normal for any car of any make. 4x4's are going to break parts due to the pressures they are put through. I only wish that these Raiders were still made... p.s. I would buy a new one in an instant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

14th Dec 2005, 00:19

They still make the Dodge Raider "Mitsubishi Montero". The U.S.A wouldn't allow foreign countries like Japan to import their vehicles under their own brand, so Dodge corporation made a deal with Mitsubishi so Dodge rename the Mitsubishi Montero to the Dodge Raider.

The Mitsubishi Montero's they make today have blended into the SUV market so much that they have lost their unique look for the main SUV look like Blazers, and Explorers. That makes them a lot harder to identify, than the 1987 to 1990 model style.

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6 gasoline from North America


I love it!


Starter at 119,000 and exhaust manifold (I think that is what it is called) at 91,000.

General Comments:

Awesome off road- I've made it through some serious stuff! bumper deep mud, seemingly vertical hills, and the way I drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

1989 Dodge Raider from North America


A real work horse!!


Oil pan has a big hole and I'm too cheap to replace it !

Gas tank has a hole at the top.

Clutch blew last year.

Engine is getting old.

Transmission will go soon.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I know it wasn't a good choice for a first vehicle because it needs constant repair and has no air bags or working seat belts, but it has such personality that I fell in love the first time I saw one. I hate it when the Raider gets compared to the Isuzu. ugh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

22nd Aug 2012, 07:33

MY 1988 Dodge Raider had a hole in the oil pan also. I got a large pop rivet, drilled the hole round and squeezed the rivet in tightly. Oil doesn't leak anymore. Drill must be the correct size for the pop rivet.

Roman Fonddulac, WI.

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6 liter Inline 4 cylinder from North America


A tough rock-climber, not at home on the highway


I have had the two most common failures of the vehicle.

Problem 1: a permanently lubricated steering arm (due to the leaking power steering unit). I had a rebuilt power steering unit put in two years ago for $800, and now the rebuilt one is leaking just like the old one did. I figure I have another couple of years on this one before I have to replace it. At this point, I would rather fill the darn thing up before I drive it, than keep swapping out units.

I also seem to have the "secondary carburetor-barrel not holding a vacuum and therefore not opening" problem. I'm still working on being sure the "depression chamber" on the carburetor's second barrel is the cause of the symptoms, which are losing power on the highway, especially when the gas is pushed to the floor, blowing smoke, and hesitating on acceleration. It seems the second barrel doesn't open, so the engine is starved for air, and the gas doesn't burn very completely.

I have had miscellaneous parts fall off, such as the rear door handle, the bars in the windows, three fog lights, the fabric on the ceiling in the rear of the vehicle, the exhaust system (now replaced, but that cut a tire on the highway when it went and that almost killed me!), and various pieces of interior moldings and gizmos. At 90,000 miles I had the catalytic converter's metal covers cut off, because they were rattling so much.

After reading the maintenance others have done to their Raiders I see that I have gotten off very cheaply; just the usual shocks, tires, brakes, and spark plugs. Actually, I should probably do a lot better job at maintenance, and the fact that the truck works as well as it does is testament to its quality design and construction.

General Comments:

This is not a performance car. It accelerates slowly on the highway, and it does not get very good gas mileage on the highway. In town and on the freeway, you can expect 15 to 18 MPG, depending on how well tuned the engine happens to be.

It has a high center of gravity (go easy on the turns), and high winds will push you across the road like a sail, sometimes pulling the doors away from the truck enough that air blows in through the rubber door seals and you briefly see daylight peeking through... but the doors have never blown off yet ;)

What it is made for is driving off-road, and it does that extremely well. For as light as the body is, this truck is one tough bugger. The cargo space (at least the two-door model) is kind of small, but the back seat is easily unbolted and removed for better capacity. The back seat is not very functional anyway; this is really a two-seater for all practical purposes.

I have had multiple offers to buy the Raider, even though it is currently blowing smoke out the tailpipe (from the carburetor problems causing the gas to burn incompletely). It clearly attracts attention on the road, and it is a fun little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 00:23

Hey, Just to let you know that I also have had a case of the "Slowies" with my Raider. Rebuilt the engine at 180,000

Replaced the head due to a crack at the same time. A local carb shop in my area has found a source for rebuilt secondary vacuum modules. They cost about $40. Recently discovered that if you putz with the electrical connection at the carb while the engine is running, ooops!, it takes out the fuel management brain under the dash and from that point on has no power on any kind of grade. By the way, it actually moved out pretty good after the new engine, pulling a 900 lb. boat at 65mph down the freeway. Good Luck!P.S. It now has 225,000 and still runs great.