1988 Dodge Raider 4x4 2.6 5 cylinder from North America

Summary:

No better off road vehicle for its size

Faults:

Starting to have a little bit of carburetor problem. its getting sticky.

General Comments:

Awesome off roader.

Awesome in Utah snow.

Awesome on slick rock.

Jeep Wrangler Eater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

1987 Dodge Raider 2.6 Liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

Kick Ass

Faults:

Usual maintanace:

Replaced Thermostat, Water Pump, Belts, Fluids, Tires, Transmission Throttle Cable, and Exhaust System. And ready for a new Battery.

General Comments:

The Dodge Raider has more than enough room for a very tall person, as well as for shorter people. The vehicle is economical, and parts are readily available. This SUV is worth every penny for investment. Exellent on and off road. Also it is a neat 4 Wheel drive. Handles great, not to top heavy, and the rear sliding windows are very cool concept. Well can't say anymore just check one out. One last thing, Too bad they are not in production anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1987 Dodge Raider from North America

Faults:

When I got this car, it was a mess. The lady I bought it from wasn't really on the ball about maintaining the vehicle. Every thing was broken. It had been "busted" into a couple years back and everything was gone.

General Comments:

I have fixed everything now and it runs like new. The car is short of power, but it's built like a tank. It handles great, because of it's size you can fit into any parking spot or any small space. I love my Raider, but it's kind of hard on gas. I get about 10 mpg, maybe 11 mpg, if your going down hill. Great SUV wouldn't trade it for nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

8th Nov 2013, 12:34

You say you fixed 'everything'? You might have forgotten to plug the hole in the gas tank!! You should be getting at least 25 MPG.

1987 Dodge Raider 2.6 from North America

Summary:

Worth repairing every time

Faults:

Finally found a new carburetor about 2 months ago and it runs very well now. The idle was going nuts and I had a loud pinging sound from the carburetor, but all is well now.

Had the timing chain and all the gaskets, sprockets with that replaced because of heavy wear about a month ago.

I now get a grinding sound that comes from my vehicle when I am either accelerating or letting off the gas. Could be a misfiring spark plug or the catalytic converter is bad. I also get this sound every now and then when I am stopped at a stop sign or light and am idling. Usually I just throw it into neutral and then back into drive and it stops. The dealer claims they can't find anything wrong. Idiots couldn't find their own head if it wasn't attached.

Right now, it seems to be burning gas. This could be because of a misfiring spark plug or bed exhaust system. Looking at getting it replaced in about a month.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I have ever owned. Yeah there have been some problems, but all vehicles have problems.

Very dependable for getting around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2002

9th Jun 2003, 11:04

I used to own a Raider and I must say it was the best car I've owned. Yes it was an ugly little car, but it got me anywhere I wanted to go, could take any abuse I gave it while 4 wheeling, and was an all around fun car. I had a similar problem with the carb and it led to me having to sell the car and I will miss it.

11th Jun 2005, 00:51

I got a dodge raider too! it seems we have the same problem regarding the grinding effect sound. Well I think you must check if your transmission is OK, second, check your shocks. On your gas, well you have change your spark plugs and do timing. Also let the mechanic adjust your valve gap, you must also change your fuel injectors and finally, change the oil to a high standard one. Always monitor your engine; oil, carburator, etc. but most importantly, the hoses. See if they are really connected to the right place. Remember, what they say about fast burning oil on this truck is true, so be sure to check your oil always or else it may blow you out!

To maintain a good engine in your raider, you must put additive in everytime you change oil. It's like a jelly, they have it for 4,6 and 8 cylinders. When you gas up, also put the gas cleaner stuff in so that it will clean your whole gas system, you'll find it at gasoline stations, for example the fuel injector and carburator cleaner. Make this a habit then you'll see the effect, it saves gas and it runs fast!

15th Aug 2007, 23:13

Does anyone know if the raider has the same transmission as the 4x4 Dodge Dakota?

All help on this will be appreciated