1988 Dodge Raider 3.0 V6 from North America




My starter went out first, very early. I don't remember the mileage.

My radiator and heater needed replacement at 100,000 miles.

Started leaking oil early, I don't remember mileage. It still leaks oil at the gaskets, but it doesn't burn any oil.

Electric door locks started to fail at 155,000 miles.

A few minor occurences, but mostly normal wear & tear.

General Comments:

This is a good running vehicle.

It performs well in Alaska.

It handles well, but it is a little top-heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2003

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6 4 cylinder from North America


4x4 wise, it's a tank. Good fix up project


Most of the 88 Raiders eventually blew their head gaskets, mine twice. The first time it cost $680.00. Second time, I did not get it fixed. Replaced fuel filter, oxygen sensor. The original spare tire gave me about 100 miles until all the tread fell off.

General Comments:

4x4 wise, it's a tank.

I payed $2300 for it, and it lasted its money worth. The acceleration was aweful, the top speed was awful, but if you put it in the mud, you will be surprised, the truck is built for off-road. If the head gasket did not blow, the car was a perfect car for me. After it blew I sold it for $350, its ashame it did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

14th May 2003, 19:59

Good review. Glad to see reviews for such a rare car.


17th Mar 2004, 09:36

I own a 1988 Raider, and all the other participants are right about one thing: the car is a tank. I live in Guatemala and thus I have had the opportunity to test it both on and off road. In the city it's a very slow, high consumption vehicle, but off road, the car is just perfect. Mine hasn't given me any trouble so far, except for the normal maintenance; due to the economical crisis we are going through, I have thought about selling it once or twice, but when I compare it to the other vehicles I've had in the past, I just can't sell it, and I've had very good offers, but I like my car.

2nd Nov 2012, 13:36

I posted this 10 years ago. Just to give a little update on the vehicle, I recently ran into the Raider that I sold with a blown head gasket. The guy repaired the head gasket and is still driving it 10 years later. I hope to get one again. I regret selling it.

25th Aug 2013, 17:25

I also live in Guatemala and have a 1988 Raider, and my advice is to NOT sell the car, because it has so many advantages in this place... and you may know what I am referring to.

My A/C doesn't work, but I will get it fixed in the summer. I am a carpenter, so it's my car for work... So long.

1988 Dodge Raider 4x4 2.6 5 cylinder from North America


No better off road vehicle for its size


Starting to have a little bit of carburetor problem. its getting sticky.

General Comments:

Awesome off roader.

Awesome in Utah snow.

Awesome on slick rock.

Jeep Wrangler Eater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

1987 Dodge Raider 2.6 Liter 4 cylinder. from North America


Kick Ass


Usual maintanace:

Replaced Thermostat, Water Pump, Belts, Fluids, Tires, Transmission Throttle Cable, and Exhaust System. And ready for a new Battery.

General Comments:

The Dodge Raider has more than enough room for a very tall person, as well as for shorter people. The vehicle is economical, and parts are readily available. This SUV is worth every penny for investment. Exellent on and off road. Also it is a neat 4 Wheel drive. Handles great, not to top heavy, and the rear sliding windows are very cool concept. Well can't say anymore just check one out. One last thing, Too bad they are not in production anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1987 Dodge Raider from North America


When I got this car, it was a mess. The lady I bought it from wasn't really on the ball about maintaining the vehicle. Every thing was broken. It had been "busted" into a couple years back and everything was gone.

General Comments:

I have fixed everything now and it runs like new. The car is short of power, but it's built like a tank. It handles great, because of it's size you can fit into any parking spot or any small space. I love my Raider, but it's kind of hard on gas. I get about 10 mpg, maybe 11 mpg, if your going down hill. Great SUV wouldn't trade it for nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

8th Nov 2013, 12:34

You say you fixed 'everything'? You might have forgotten to plug the hole in the gas tank!! You should be getting at least 25 MPG.

7th Nov 2014, 16:44

I don't get good mileage on mine either; about 11 MPG. What did ya do to get 25 MPG on yours?

9th Nov 2014, 19:04

I'd try laying off the gas a bit. People seem to drive these trucks pretty aggressively and floor it all around town.

10th Nov 2014, 14:01

Don't go faster than 35 mph and coast downhill all the time.

It's way easier to just say you get 25 MPG.