Dodge Raider Reviews - Page 4 of 15

1987 Dodge Raider 2.4 liter from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance270000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great vehicle, if you can do your own work!

Faults:

Due to an overheat (the biggest enemy of this engine) I had to rebuild the engine. The head was cracked when I purchase the Raider, and the use of coolant progressively worse as I owned it.

At about 160,000 I decided to rebuild the engine. I rebuilt the engine entirely myself, even doing all the machine work. The bore on the cylinder was near perfect, even after all those miles, and most parts which were used in the rebuild were standard size.

After the rebuild I have had very, very few problems. I have had to replace the water pump at about 260,000 miles, but that was almost 100,000 on the rebuild pump.

General Comments:

It will amaze most people off-road! Even in relatively stock form it will stand out in a pack of Jeeps.

On the highway it is somewhat underpowered. 0-60 is about 18 seconds, which won't impress anyone.

Gas mileage is about 20-22 mpg in daily driving, when the carb is correct. Keeping the carb working properly is a pain, but not a major expense (unless you have to replace it, the carb is expensive).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2007

9th Dec 2007, 19:47

Good review - I've found pretty much the same thing in the Raider I own.

1989 Dodge Raider 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Previous carDodge Raider

Summary:

I'm looking to BUY another RAIDER

Faults:

The brakes weren't very good, but a car is only as safe as its driver.

General Comments:

I want to buy a dodge raider from anyone with a reasonable price. email me at noamking@aol.com with serious offers on 1989 dodge raider 3.0 V6 automatic only.

This was one of the best cars I have ever driven.

What I liked most about the Dodge Raider is its amazing visibility.

It would haul through any sticky situation and always start. Unless I left the lights on because it didn't have the beeping noise before you left the car. ha ha.

I want you to contact me with serious offers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

1988 Dodge Raider 2.6L from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Really a great car

Faults:

The head valve went on it, because the exhaust valves in it are weak.

I need to know how to fill the transmission fluid though.

General Comments:

It's great. My wife and I love to drive it, and there are not many around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

21st May 2012, 01:22

Thank you; I own 2 87's, just starting to love them.

Thanks, Ted.

1987 Dodge Raider 4 speed from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 speed Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance133979 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

The Dodge Raider is the best used vehicle I have ever purchased!

Faults:

The fuel filter had some rust in it, and when I replaced it, she ran like new.

The driver's side washer fluid sprayer was clogged, I unclogged it, no sweat.

General Comments:

Although I have only recently purchased this Raider, I already love it. It does anything you ask it to.

I was surprised that a four cylinder could perform so well, especially as a four wheel drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

1989 Dodge Raider V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance194500 miles

Summary:

Terrific

Faults:

At approximately 190,000 miles a new clutch was installed.

General Comments:

This has been the most awesome and dependable vehicle anyone could ever own. I just wished they were still being manufactured as I'd buy a new one in a heartbeat.

It always starts no matter how low the temperature is outside or how long it has been sitting idle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

1989 Dodge Raider 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135 miles
Most recent distance230 miles
Previous carVolvo Volvo 760 Turbo

Summary:

This is the most reliable, dependable, vehicle that I have ever owned. What a classic!

Faults:

Replaced starter, alternator, radiator, various gaskets, seals, hoses, belts, brake pads, floor mats, etc... general maintenance.

General Comments:

At 230k, I had a complete tune up. My mechanic commented that he would keep the truck running as long as I wanted to keep it. My reason for maintaining this excellent vehicle, is to allow my dog the opportunity to stick his head out of the slider windows. I always get comments about the classic window vents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

23rd Nov 2006, 12:49

Love your comments about the sliding windows for your dog. I call my 89 Raider my Lab's car. I typically have a black Lab with his head out the right rear window, a Labradoodle with her nose out the left rear and another Black Lab with his head out the passenger window.

Unfortuntely at only 270,000 miles the car is starting to run rough and smoke sometimes so my wife just bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee for me to drive. She and my daughter are embarrassed by the Raider and the Jeep is a Christmas present. I am hoping to find a solution for the Raider engine without spending $4,000 for a rebuilt and having it installed. I still have the Raider insured and licensed so will continue using it until I figure out what to do with the engine. Like most Raider owners, I love that car!

2nd Mar 2014, 15:53

Hi, my name is Tim. I have an 87 Raider 3.0 that's leaking oil. I too have shaved the heads, and it's now blowing smoke.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 59 reviews