2000 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram 1500 5.9 360 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.9 360 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Most awesome truck ever!

Faults:

2000 Dodge Ram 1500 360 V8.

When I first bought my truck, it needed:

WHOLE ball joints replaced and paid 600 for it.

Brake pads replaced twice.

Rotors once.

Speed sensor replaced in transmission (Same transmission knock on wood).

General Comments:

I love my truck to death, even before this truck I had 1995 Ford Mustang and I loved this car but needed a truck, loved it! Feels like a hemi truck. I installed header, K&N filter, programmer chip (change any mode I wish for).

You can look at me like I am a crazy man, but I've drove my truck above 120 MPH once and it sticks on the road just fine. 0 to 60 around 7.5 seconds, hey it gets to 60 very easy. Have to be easy on the gas when taking off from the stop light.

Oh I forgot to tell, My truck isn't 4WD like MOST Dodge owner would have 4x4, mine is 2 wheel drive and has ext cab. Top of the line (Laramie) with leather seats. Brand new paint (4,000) I've towed several cars on car carrier with no problem, towed a U-haul trailer (6x12) moving 600 miles with no problem. I've towed a lot around. and it still runs the same the day I bought. It gets between 9 to 14 MPG city, and gets 15 to 17 MPG hwy.

It has been awesome truck for me, oh yeah it had cracked dash when I bought it, but I replaced the dash myself and it also has a towing mirror when is very rare to have one on a 2wd 1500. My plan is to get a 6 inch lift (3 inch body and 3 inch suspension). I wouldn't sell or trade this truck for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2008

23rd May 2009, 16:55

Why would you lift a 2wd pickup? It serves no purpose!

17th Sep 2012, 11:15

Same reason why I eat Chinese food... Because I want to!! It's his truck, let the man enjoy it.

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

It will start tomorrow, I'm sure

Faults:

The evaporator in the air conditioning went out at about 70,000 miles. It is very expensive (labor) to fix.

The rear sliding window started to leak badly when it rained.

Thermostat housing leaked coolant.

General Comments:

Overall it is a strong and dependable truck. I have the leather interior and it is easy to clean and comfortable. It seems to last longer than that in the GM trucks. Gas mileage is about average with 13mpg on a 318 cu engine. It does not require any special maintenance to keep it going. I would recommend the quad cab even if you do not have kids because it makes for good storage room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2008

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup 3.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

Dodge is the best truck out there

Faults:

All that has gone wrong on it is just general maintenance.

General Comments:

It's a really nice truck, I hope to keep it for another 200,000 miles or more.

It doesn't have as good acceleration as the V8, but for a V6 it has pretty good acceleration.

I love this truck and I will always buy Dodge, and never Ford or Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

23rd Oct 2004, 09:13

Something about this reviews says fake to me. It is absolutely impossible for ANY vehicle to go 210,000 in 4 years w/o a single problem. Things begin to wear out after so many miles. Plus, It does seem a little impossible that you have put 210,000 miles on this truck you "own" in 4 years. Unless you've driven to Australia (the long way) and back a couple of times.

25th Oct 2004, 08:34

First of all I said that it was just general maintenance that went wrong so things that should ware out with a lot of miles did and I fixed them, and for my job I deliver farm supplies to different farms all over Michigan, and Ohio, so i drive all day 7 days a week, that is how I got so many miles.

8th Feb 2007, 22:53

I am looking in to buying a 2000 ram 1500 SLT Laramie, with every option. it is in excellent condition, and has only 49000 miles on it. the interior and exterior are perfect, never been smoked in or anything. no mods added. the owner wants 12,995 for it. his maintenance records show hes had zero problems with it, and is up to date. should I go ahead and take it??

Please post!!! help!!

17th Feb 2007, 12:13

If you don't buy it, I will! I bought my Dodge, used, in North Caroline and drove it to Florida on a regular basis. It has never failed me. I would buy another in a heart beat (no offence Chevy). The only problems with the truck is the dash has disintegrated, probably from the sun. Mechanically it is perfect.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 22 reviews