2000 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 sport 5.9L from North America


With a little changes it's a badmammajamma



General Comments:

After a few mods to the exhaust and air intake this truck moves! fast! very happy switching to dodge.

The inside is extremely comfy too.

Long drives in this truck makes for a great time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

10th Jun 2004, 20:00

What exactly is a badmammajamma?

17th Sep 2012, 11:09

If you have to ask... Then you probably won't understand.

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup Laramie 360 from North America


Transmission seemed OK for a while then started losing 3rd and rpm revving high before shifting.

Paint scratches very easy and rock chips are numerous. Afraid to take it in the mud.

Gray leather seats wearing through to a blue underneath.

Windshield and side glass seem to scratch and chip very easily.

Mileage is 10 mpg city and light highway. Not good.

General Comments:

Haven't decided to fix these problems or trade it in.

Have read all problems these Dodges have and compared to Chevy and Ford.

Best looking truck for cheaper, but needs lots of repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

8th Oct 2012, 16:46

You buy a 360 V-8 and think you'll get 40 MPG? And it takes 2000 miles to figure that out?

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 5.7 from North America


Great truck, poor transmission


Complete automatic transmission failure.

General Comments:

I love this truck, but not happy the transmission went so quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

9th Jun 2007, 11:41

Stop changing your transmission fluid. I have 132000 miles on my 99 ram, trans is fine. I have never changed the trans fluid. This is a factory sealed unit, if it was meant to be changed it would have a plug like you oil pan. Everyone I have talked to with trans problems change their trans fluid. Leave it alone and your trans problems will go away.

24th Oct 2013, 04:42

This is actually not true. You do need to change the transmission fluid every once in a while, but not often, that is true.

As for the drain plug, the reason why manufacturer didn't put one in is because if they did, people would just drain and refill, instead of changing the filter and cleaning the pan.

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 318 V8 from North America


A mans truck


The motor on the vent door went. This is the door that closes vent from heater core when A/C is turned on. Simple part to replace yourself. Mechanic will charge you about $135.to do it. Part is only $65.at parts store.

General Comments:

This is my first Doge Ram quad cab and I love it. The power from my V-8 is plentifull. The ride is like a truck should be, not to soft and not to hard, just rite!Front end is a little noisy while turning from left to right. I also get a small sensation from steering wheel when going over bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

28th Sep 2004, 05:55

I bought a 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 with the 5.2 5 speed. At about 12000 miles the left front wheel bearing went out, then at around 48000 miles the trans and the pinion bearing had to be replaced. At 56000 miles the heater core started to leak. As of today it has 61473 miles on it and I'm waiting to see what happens next. By the way the truck was purchased brand new with only 7 miles on it after the test drive. I like the truck, but I think it could have been built a lot better. Thank goodness for extended warranties.

2000 Dodge Ram Pickup from North America


An overall good truck


I think that the over laying theme here is the don't buy the truck if it has an automatic transmission. I bought my 2000 Dodge Ram Quad Cab and have pulled a 3 inch tree stump, several bushes and have had the back end filled up with sod. I have not had a problem with it. Its not an automatic, but manual. I heard these horror stories when I first started to look and found that I like the truck, but was determined not to buy an automatic. It was one of best choices that I've made.

General Comments:

* The truck drives like a luxury car.

* Quick acceleration

* Not a whole of leg room in the back for the kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

12th Mar 2004, 14:45

Dated March 11, 2004 - My Dodge Ram '00' Auto Quad just had major transmission failure after a 450 mile trip, and the mileage is only 59K. I will be spending the better pert of $3,500.00 for a Re-Man transmission that comes with a 3/36 guarantee. The trouble is, I never towed anything, nor abused the vehicle and had it serviced as scheduled. Needless to say, I feel let down by this Dodge which had NEVER had any problems until I was stranded in Napa, Ca, I live in Southern Ca. I have heard many other stories among Chrysler Minivan owners, and their inept transmissions.