Dodge Rampage Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1984 Dodge Rampage from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

The coolest toy I've ever owned

Faults:

The passenger side door handle broke off. After months of abuse without any repairs the transmission finally started to slip.

General Comments:

This was definitely the coolest car I've ever owned. It wasn't fast or much of a head turner, but it was really a great toy. It was purchased for $800. When I got it home I immediately painted flames on it and installed a killer stereo including 2 amps and a pair of 15 inch subwoofers. It was always easy to start and I beat on it until the transmission started to slip. I will always regret that call I made to have it towed to the scrap yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

27th Nov 2004, 20:00

I've had 3 Rampages. I love them. The first one got hijacked. It was an 83. I went right out and got an 84. It got wiped out while parked. I still have the next 84 and should have kept it for spare parts. My door handle broke too. I've replaced CV joints or boots, whatever. Had brakes done (I gotta go sorry

D

sissiesmail@aol.com.

7th Dec 2004, 13:44

I have a 1984 Rampage and I can hardly fit two 10's with one amp how the heck did you do that.

1983 Dodge Rampage 2.2 Sport 2.2 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 L4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43868 kilometres
Most recent distance45473 kilometres
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Quick Little Sport Truck

Faults:

Timing Belt failed at 45473 Km and is awaiting replacement. Muffler failed two days prior timing belt failure and was replaced with glass pack and custom Y Pipe for dual exits out from under tailgate.

General Comments:

Even though I did not drive this little sport truck long I enjoyed driving it and hope to be able to do so again soon.

I got the truck as a Christmas present in 2002 and it had a custom paint job, Tonneau Cover, Sunroof, and Custom dual exit exhaust. The rear window was tinted as well. It also had all the wiring for a high powered stereo system that I am in the middle of installing at the moment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

26th Jun 2004, 11:43

Welcome to the world of Dodge Rampage. I am a grandmother of 3 and I have bought my 3rd Rampage as a project car.

My last one got crunched while parked in front of my house while I was gone on a trip. : (Fortunately they left a note.

I was paid 2X what I paid (lucky that way) sold it to the body shop owner. he still has it and uses it for his little parts run around car. The real bummer on this part was I had the truck all primed for new paint job and was going to take it in the next day after I got home.

I took me nearly 6 yrs of looking for another one that I could afford...didn't mind a fixer. Finally found one last year, 30mi from my home. Now the project slowly starts.

It's pretty much a daily driver. is rough inside, outside above fair.

I have been trying to find a club for the little truck. But as yet have found none specifically for Dodge Rampages.

BTW I am in CA.

If you know of any clubs, please let me know at searush@excite.com (please put "RE:dodge rampage" as the subject. I use this as an alt site for spammers. If it looks like junk mail, I delete it. So be sure to put "dodge rampage"

Have fun with your little tuck. I love mine.

CA Grandma.

1992 Dodge Rampage 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Definitely Different

Faults:

I put 3 mufflers on this truck. I felt that the muffler was the one item that was not engineered at all.

CV joints were replaced on both sides.

General Comments:

The Dodge Rampage is a compact sport-truck based on the 1992 Dodge Omni 024. It is front wheel drive, and has a pickup bed and tailgate. It is only a two seater, but I loved this thing. The power was pretty good when mated with the manual transmission. The automatic really took a lot of power to turn.

I did not have an air conditioner in mine. I wished for one every summer. The Rampage tends to absorb heat. After tinting my windows, I noticed a great decrease in heat.

When it comes to stereos, there isn't much choice. The front doors will accept 5.25" speakers, but there isn't much depth.

Bonus for the interior, is that all Rampages have a rear storage shelf. It is handy for tossing certain items into. The drawback is that spirited driving tends to slide things from side to side.

I sold mine off when I was broke and poor in the military. I wish I had it back. It is different, and has character.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

27th Aug 2003, 09:05

I have a 1983 rampage wstreeter@kc.rr.com drive it every day need to get a bigger truck to haul grand kids around.

27th Mar 2004, 18:57

The Rampage line was built only in the early 1980's, not 90's as the review says, so you can assume the writer just made a mistake on his manufacture dates.

I have a silver & blue 1983 Rampage, if you are looking for one. Location:Seattle, WA. rakos@earthlink.net 03-27-04.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews