2003 Dodge SRT-4 from North America - Comments

14th Sep 2010, 21:12

These are the most disposable cars that have ever been built. I saw tons of these around when they came out. I never see any SRT4's these days some 4 years or so since they stopped producing them. High speed and low price equals a very poorly built car that isn't made to last. The proof is in the lack of them on the road nowadays. I still see WRX's back to 2002 all the time as they were built so much better than these SRT4's. Even if the Neon was faster, who cares... the glory was short lived!

15th Sep 2010, 09:12

Oh the ratings again... Please stop quoting ratings as good reasons to buy cars until you have actual experience with the cars they are rating high AND low. You have obviously never owned a Toyota, so why bother going on about them? I seriously don't think anything GM has made in the past 3 decades would be good for 250,000 miles, because I have never even gotten to 100K miles in one without major repairs. That is actual experience and not some survey rating talking!

Since the RAV4 V6 gets to 60 in 6.5 seconds, I'd say that is hardly slow. There is no other small SUV that will even come close to it in performance. The Highlander gets to 60 in 7 seconds, or about 2 seconds faster than any GM SUV and definitely way faster than anything Ford makes. I think it is you who needs to do some research before making claims that Toyota's are so slow! If you've never even driven one, then please save your comments!

Also, going on about how good a Chrysler 4 is?? They made some good engines over the years, but they were always really good or junk by 30K miles. The inconsistency in Chrysler drivetrains is astounding. I have seen many of their engines burning oil at ridiculously low mileage intervals. You don't even see any SRT4's around anymore because they pulled way too much power out of a sub par engine, and most of them are blown by now. Yes, there are probably a few that stood up to the abuse they were subjected to, but again it is very inconsistent and mostly for the bad in this case. I'd much sooner buy a WRX that has stood the test of time, as I still see so many older ones on the road dating back to 2002.

15th Sep 2010, 15:22

Hi, the automatic transmission on my 2003 Dodge Neon has broken. Does anyone know if I can replace it with a 1998 automatic transmission?

Thanks.

15th Sep 2010, 20:18

I agree with the above commentor. Chrysler powertrains are incredibly inconsistent. I actually like Chrysler vehicles (oddly enough it's the ONLY American brand that did not give me multiple issues before 100,000 miles). Personally I've had fairly good luck with Chrysler vehicles, most of them making nearly 200,000 miles. However I did have a Dodge Neon that cost thousands to keep running and was dead at 90,000 miles (but then again, it was a Neon).

That being said, I've also seen many Chrysler's with issues long before 50,000 miles let alone 100,000. Worst vehicles I've owned and seen have been GM. Have yet to have one past 40,000 miles, and yet to see one make 100,000 without some sort of major repair.

16th Sep 2010, 09:23

Why do people come onto a rating site to ask questions like this? Call a Dodge dealer or any mechanic really and they will let you know if it is compatible.

16th Sep 2010, 20:16

No I don't think you can. The 1995-1998 Neon's used a 3-speed automatic. I believe the automatic in the Neon was changed to a 4-speed automatic in 1999.

5th Jan 2011, 19:00

I own a 2005 SRT with 87,000 miles.

It has yet to have any problems what so ever. I drive it everyday. It has probably made 500 passes down the track. It has also had 50 or so 10lb bottles of nitrous through it via a NX wet kit with a 50 shot. It has seen mid 12s on motor alone with the minor bolt ons it has several times. I would drive it to California (on east coast) tomorrow. It is also still on stock clutch.

That being said I am a freak when it comes to maintenance on my car. Taking care of a car goes a long way. I have a friend with an 04 with 176,000 miles. No major work other than a clutch and a big turbo kit (50 trim). Driven daily. Puts down 430 HP on stock block and has been doing so for 3 years or so.

20th Jan 2012, 09:27

I guess all of these are a matter of opinion.

230,000KM (142 915 miles) on my stage 3 modified SRT4. I beat the crap out of this car, replaced 2 clutches (normal wear and tear), and that's the end of it, other than standard mileage maintenance.

I don't care what kind of car you have; if you maintain it properly, it will be fine.

Also, you need to know how to drive your car (in regards to the "handles better"); a few minor suspension upgrades and I will autocross against any AWD and keep up, if not win.

Those of you with "problem" SRT4s; you are probably the guys that boosted it to 35psi with no supporting modifications, and no crap your motor went... no wonder your axles broke, no wonder your car breaks down; no STOCK car can handle an additional 18psi. Tuned properly with all supporting modifications, and you get a 500HP car that will go 230000KM (142 915 miles) plus. I can show you 3 or 4 in this city alone... But I guess that's what you get when you take CARE of something... LOL.

Cheap does not mean unreliable or a lemon. It means replacing and maintaining is cheap too...

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site