1996 Dodge Stratus 2.0 from North America


Overall it has been a good car


Well to start off I would like to say that my 96 Dodge Stratus has been a good car for me. However, to the contrary when I had the car for about 1 year it started to leak oil. no problem was under warranty (Camshaft position sensor). Also had the timing belt replaced at 88000. Now comes the bad part since July 2004 I have been getting oil in my antifreeze, but the car still runs great. Now my oil light comes on and off, but the oil is full??

General Comments:

I would just like to know if anyone had similar problems?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 03:56

Probably your head gasket is on the way out.

1996 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America


Good for a 36 month lease then return at the end of the lease!


The head gasket blew at 55,000 miles. Transmission had to be replaced at 72,000 miles. The mechanic felt that it was easier to replace than to break it down and figure out what was wrong. Glad we bought the extended warranty. The vinyl covering of the back passenger door is peeling, do not understand why because no one sits back there. Check engine light has been on since 75,000 miles. When you lift the hood it will go off until the next time you drive it. Diagnostics states it has "multiple cylinder misfires" even after tune-up. It has a roaring nose from the right front wheel and the motor mounts are now needing replacing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

1996 Dodge Stratus SE from North America


Trojan Horse


List of Issues:

Head Gasket replaced, Transmission repair, Fuel Pump replaced, fuel Filters replaced, Oxygen Sensors replaced, Heater Fan won't blow, Won't cycle between heater or zones windshild only, wears breaks in no time, starter replaced, Ignition switch fuse blows, seat belt harness breaks.

General Comments:

Please if you read this don't spend your hard earned money rebuilding this car time and time again. It will eat your bank account like termites through your house. All of the above issues are real. I have slips from the shop to prove it. I had to buy another car just to have something to drive while this was in the shop. It looks good, but it's a lemon inside. Please, please, please, don't make the mistake I did. If I can save one person from this fate then the time I spent doing this will be worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 16:55

With regards to the ignition fuse blowing. I had the same problem, I took the starter to a shop that specializes in fixing starters and all they had to do was replace the contacts. I was told that the starter is one of the better ones out there. You do not have to replace the starter as most shops would want you to do.

1996 Dodge Stratus from North America


Mechanically Horrible. Nice design


The power steering fluid that kept leaking. Even when filled, it would get hot and smoke after about an 1/2 hour of driving.

General Comments:

I parked the car, shut off the engine and the about 15 minutes later, the car was on fire. My mechanic has determined that faulty wiring/component box was to blame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

1996 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America


Biggest pile of junk called a car ever made


3 days after I bought the car. the transmission sensor went out.

A few weeks later the power steering reservoir had to be replaced.

The starter had to be replaced.

The power steering rack and pinion had to be replaced.

The transmission sensor went out again approximately 1 year after it was replaced before.

Two fuel injectors replaced.

The ignition switch shorted out and had to be replaced.

My check engine light comes on every other week.

Now there is something wrong with the emmission control system and idle air control motor.

General Comments:

I hate this car and would get rid of it in a heartbeat, but I've invested so much money into it that it wouldn't be worth it. I have honestly invested more than four times the value of the car into it. Now I'm just stuck with it. I will NEVER buy another dodge as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

5th Mar 2005, 21:14

What Do You Expect? It's a 1996 and that's old. If you do not want to fix it buy a new one!

16th Nov 2008, 12:13

You expect too much out of old cars. Every single bit of the above listed problems are typical for a 12yr old car. No matter what the make.

19th Sep 2010, 05:05

It's a Chrysler, that there is your problem. I have 2 of them holding my driveway down as we speak. 4 cyl and 6 cyl.

19th Sep 2010, 20:47

I have 1999 Chrysler Cirrus (same car as the Dodge Stratus) with the 2.5L V6. In 80,000 miles of driving, the only major issue has been the brake master cylinder, which recently required replacing. So far it's proving to be one of the very few good American cars I've ever owned.