1997 Dodge Stratus ES V6 from North America


Holds up well in crash


I've had problems with my transmission. I think the Auto-stick has had some thing to do with it. I've had this problem fixed 3 to 4 times and I still have some problems with it.

General Comments:

The car handles great at all speeds. Hugs the road in the curves. Only complaint is where the cup holders are placed.

I recently crashed this car and am waiting to find out if it's totaled. But the car held up amazingly well!! For hitting a guard rail the car looks great!! I will consider buying another Stratus just because of how well it held up in the accident!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

4th Dec 2005, 16:26

I completely agree with the cup holder situation!!! Someone wasn't thinking straight on that one. I can't get to my coffee or anything for that matter because the shifter (automatic) is smack dab in front/middle of the holder. Not only that, but if you try and install one of those cheap hardware store types that hook onto your heater vent they get in the way of the stereo. I suppose one could always utilize the ABUNDANT dash room and use double sided sticky tape.

14th Feb 2008, 09:41

I really like where the cup holders are located in the car. It is easy to reach my beer, and put it back when I am done.

18th Mar 2008, 21:08

I just bought a 1997 Dodge Stratus; so far all good.

1997 Dodge Stratus Base 2.0 from North America


Very poor


Air conditioner belt 1,000, water pump gasket 12,000, heat/blower motor, 23,000,valve cover gasket 35,000, Head gasket 37,000, tie rod broke off 76,000, seat adjustment lever broke 76,000,

General Comments:

Very poorly contsructed. will never buy a 4 cylinder dodge again. If I have received better customer service in spite of all the problems, I would have considered another Dodge in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

1997 Dodge Stratus 2.4L 4 cy from North America


Middle class car with a high class maint. bill


The radio works when it feels like it.

The odometer and tach work when they want to.

Blows fuses every time the slightest thing goes wrong.

Every 2 months, something goes wrong.

Changed front left brakes, both brake drums, timing belt, and spark plugs.

And I have to change the oil every 1,000 or 2,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car gets great gas mileage.

It is extremely comfortable.

If regular maintenance is kept up, the car will last a very long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

1997 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4L from North America


This is one thing that does not get better with age.


At about 30,000 miles, the transmission went out.

Brakes too often to count.

Around 70,000 miles the head gasket was replaced along with the timing belt.

2 days after head gasket repair check engine light came on, oxygen sensor was bad, I couldn't afford to fix it, and it wasn't covered under our extended warranty.

At 90,000 miles both oxygen sensors needed to be replaced, spark plugs and wires were also bad.

At 101,000 miles, just over warranty, the transmission went out for the second time, this time it came out of my pocket.

At 105,000 miles the transmission went out AGAIN, paid for by the repair facility's warranty.

At 110,000 miles tie rod replaced.

Now, at 114,000 miles I need to have the water pump, thermostat, timing and serpentine belts replaced.

This car has had almost $5000 in repairs done to it in the last 6 months. It's not even worth $3000, if I'm lucky.

Oh, and the trunk release works only when it wants to.

General Comments:

A good car in the beginning, too many repairs toward the end.

I like how well it accelerates for a 4 cylinder, and it is a comfortable and roomy car as I am able to fit my 3 small children easily in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

1997 Dodge Stratus ES 2.5L V6 from North America




Brakes every 6 months to a year (rotors too), 3 starters, 2 alternators, water pump, oil sending unit, timing belt, front left axle, loud popping in front end, thermostat, oil leak, engine whine.

General Comments:

Do not buy a Mopar product. They don't last at all and the resale value is horrible. The cars become virtually worthless after 4 years. Other dealers do not even want to take them in on trade. You can't give a used one away. I think it has a Mitsubishi version of the engine, if it were not for that who knows what other problems I would have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2003