1997 Dodge Stratus Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1997 Dodge Stratus ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

It's A Dodge Thing..

Faults:

My front tie-rod wore out.

Rear suspension arm needed to be replaced.

No real major or expensive problems, car runs and looks great.

General Comments:

My Stratus has a lot of giddy up and go. The inside is quite, roomy and the leather seats are very comfortable. The premium Infinity speakers sound nice, compared to the stock speakers in most other cars. Over all it's a very fun car with a lot of potential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

1997 Dodge Stratus Sedan 4D 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Stay away from these cars, unless purchased for a

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 72,000 and started leaking oil terrible out of the rear right corner of the head gasket. This is because the factory used an organic type head gasket that couldn't take the pressure of the oil pump up "the rear right corner" to feed the dual overhead cams.

Cruise control never works right.

Rotors have all, but rotted away, and the brakes are not very good, tires lock up at random in hard stops.

Transmission has always felt soft, so I've always babied the car, and I hate to drive that way!

General Comments:

Good head room, tall ceilings, but you can't sleep anywhere in the car on long trips, seats are too curved.

Price value of these cars drops like a rock!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

5th May 2012, 18:40

Yeah, Chrysler blows. The exact thing happened to our family Stratus-pheric Crapola. The head gasket blew, oil in coolant, etc. If you got under the car, you could actually see the leak from the head gasket blowing out. Purchased CHEAP at 87k, hoping for at least 100k more like EVERY foreign car I've ever purchased. It crapped out around 140k I think. Poo-poo car POO-POO!! However, it handled very well in the snow.

1997 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

The head gasket was shot at 30000 kms and was replaced under warranty.

The front brake rotors started to pit at 20000 kms and didn't replace until 115000 kms.

Engine light came on once, just had to tighten the gas cap.

The front end was squeaking, but went away after spraying all the rubber mounts on the suspension with brake fluid.

The front end now is clunking on the left side, it could be the ball joint on the lower control arm.

General Comments:

The Stratus is very quick and great on gas. It handles very well. Seems to run best at 120kms/hr.

There is plenty of interior room as well as trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

25th May 2002, 23:52

I've had so many problems out of my 2000 Stratus, I sympathize with anyone who has this car in their possession.

Please if you have this car and hear a thunk or a thud in the front end when you have your steering wheel all the way to the left or right, please be sure to have an independent mechanic check your brake lines. The lines may be rubbing against the tires or wheel weights, actually tearing pieces out of your brake line. The Dodge dealerships will cover this up! Please check your brake lines for your safety and the safety of those around you!

1997 Dodge Stratus Basic 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1197
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Horrible waste of money

Faults:

Head Gasket at 60,000 miles.

Ball joints at 50,000.

Oxygen Sensors (5 times!!!). Still dealing with them.

Rear Oil Seal.

General Comments:

This car stinks. I will NEVER buy Dodge again.

Looks great, drives okay most of the time but continuing problems.

I plan to sell it and go back to an old Volkswagen.

DON'T BUY THIS CAR!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 21:01

This is one of the worst cars I have ever owned. The block cracked, the front end went out, the head gasket needed replacing.

22nd Nov 2001, 14:47

Lol. It sounds like I wrote this review (I didn't). I've had the exact same problems, plus more (starter, timing belt, and others).

And, guess what? I'm now driving a '74 VW Beetle - much more reliable.<g>

30th Apr 2003, 09:35

I bought a Dodge Stratus 97 ES model. I had to replace the head gasket, thermostat, and I am replacing the oxygen sensor as I type this, letting a garage take care of it, heard it's a crazy hard job, not easy to access. I am not turned off of Dodge, I have had more problems with Fords, and GM products. I am going to give Chrysler a second chance with my next car.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews