2002 Dodge Stratus Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2002 Dodge Stratus SXT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Safe car for a young driver

Faults:

Air conditioning went, and the front right wheel bearing.

General Comments:

My sister got into an accident in town in her Stratus. All of the damage is cosmetic, and my sister is OK. I trust this car to keep her safe!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2010

2002 Dodge Stratus SE V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Good car, repairs cost WAY TOO MUCH!

Faults:

Lots of problems with the A/C. Paneling under glove has wires under it that get very hot, not allowing me to use the A/C.

While turning the steering wheel one day, it made a real loud click sound. Since then my cruise control and horn don't work, and the air bag light stays on constantly.

It doesn't get good gas mileage.

To replace a part you can only get it from a Dodge dealer, is from my experience about 10x the amount of a regular car part store.

General Comments:

Very roomy and comfortable.

Not too bad of a price for a used car.

Good handling, and the car can get up and GO when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2010

2002 Dodge Stratus ES 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

Crap!

Faults:

Everything. I have replaced the engine, then had to have a valve job on the new engine.

The transmission slips, bad, I have replaced all the wheel bearings multiple times. The driver side front has been replaced 7 times.

ABS light on, engine light on, timing chain broke and it bent 2 valves, and it's always out of alignment!

By far the worst car I have every owned, and DODGE wants nothing to do with the expenses.

General Comments:

The car is crap, and so isn't Dodge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2010

2002 Dodge Stratus SE 2.7L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Best car ever

Faults:

Right side speaker went out 60K.

General Comments:

Awesome car most reliable one I had so far, too bad I traded it because of the sludge problem reputation this engine has. I wish I bought the 2.4L instead of the A4 1.8T that I own now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

19th Jun 2007, 11:44

I hope you are aware that the engine in your current car has an even greater propensity for sludging than does the 2.7 Stratus.

2002 Dodge Stratus R/T 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A great buy: an undiscovered treasure

Faults:

Needed to replace the clutch at 75,000 and a wheel bearing at the same time. All normal given the wear and tear on NYC roads.

General Comments:

Sporty, fast, agile, comfortable, reliable, room for 4, big trunk, reasonable on gas for a potent V6, a sleeper. I loved this car and it has been more fun to drive than my previous BMW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

2002 Dodge Stratus SE 2.7L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good car with some anxiety

Faults:

Power set motor, fan belt tensioner, transmission cooling line and power steering pump all within 5000 miles of buying the car and all covered by warranty. Since then, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

I'm worried about what is beginning to be called the 2.7 Club. It seems that many people have had their motors blow up unexpectedly or with only very little warning. For the Stratus, this results in a $3,000 to $7,500 repair.

Those with more knowledge than I say that the oil journals for the timing chain are too small. This results in oil traveling very slowly and it ends up cooking into sludge. The sludge then reduces or stops oil flow to the timing chain causing the tensioner to fail. In addition, the sludge gets into the oil pan and is circulated through the engine causing damage to other components due to a lack of oil pressure.

There are two warning signs and one possible prevention strategy. Observing a flickering oil pressure light at idle or sludge build up under the oil filler cap are the two most common warnings. Once the engine begins to tick, it is too late. The prevention lies in the use of synthetic oil. Synthetic is able to handle higher temperatures than natural base oil and can even remove any sludge that has begun.

Other than my worries about something that may or may not happen, the car has been very reliable. It starts instantly, gets good gas mileage, and has respectable performance. Considering that I went to this car from a Mustang 5.0L, that is a compliment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

12th Mar 2005, 06:31

Very informative i.e. using synthetic oil. I own a 2002 dodge stratus, showing signs of head gasket problems crossing my fingers at this point.

3rd Jan 2007, 12:07

I think most of the 2.7 complaints came from the Intrepid/Concorde cars. Nothing definitive was ever found. It is hard to tell what the exact problem was.

However, I haven't seen the engine schematics, but I don't agree about your diagnosis to the oiling problem of the Startus. To my knowledge, the belt tensioner doesn't use motor oil and is not part of the oiling system. The tensioner uses a self-sealed unit.

Changing your oil is important, but sludge wouldn't be a problem if you changed your oil even on a semi-regular basis. Not driving for extended trips on not driving enough to get your engine up to normal operating temps would cause sludge.

Lastly, sludge problems aren't an American or Dodge only problem. I know they also exist for Toyota and other manufacturers. Except that people seem to complain more about American cars.

17th Jul 2007, 14:50

Yep, the 2.7L V6 is a time bomb. It doesn't matter what Chrysler model it is in. It's the same 2.7L V6 in all of them, so they have the same design flaw. Avoid it like a plague. As far as someone saying synthetic oil is thinner is incorrect. Synthetic oil comes in all the same typical viscosities (thickness of the oil) as conventional oil, 10w30, 10w40, 5w30, etc. The chemical compound is simply different and doesn't break down from heat as quickly as regular motor oil, so it protects your motor better for longer. That's the only difference.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews