2002 Dodge Stratus Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 Dodge Stratus SE Plus 2.4L I-4 naturally aspirated from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L I-4 naturally aspirated Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

I am a die-hard Dodge fan now

Faults:

I have had no issues with this car at all.

General Comments:

Not so much on the raw power side.

Being a sedan, it does have good looks.

Very fun to drive.

Handles like a dream.

Stops on a dime.

Very roomy and comfortable.

Very stylish and eye-catching.

Visit http://www.2gss.net/index.php for your Stratus/Sebring needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

18th Feb 2005, 21:56

I knew I'd get a few good 2GSSers to fill out a survey. Well done! Spread the news! Stratus's are cool!

2002 Dodge Stratus SE Plus 2.7L V6 Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

It turned me into a big fan of Dodge!

Faults:

Nothing but regular maintenance, thus far.

General Comments:

The car was rather inexpensive, yet for the price, it is very comfortable. It has almost all the available options, except anti-lock brakes. I will never get another car without anti-lock brakes!

For a 2.7 liter, it is a small V6, but it accelerates quite quickly, doing a decent 15.702 second 1/4 mile. Not bad for a family sedan!

It turns very sharply, though occasionally makes a creaking noise around turns. As of yet I have not experienced a single problem with this car!

If you were to consider a Stratus, I highly recommend getting a used one. There seems to be a good number of new ones that have significant problems. Buying a preowned Stratus is like using the prior owner as a lemon filter :)

On top of everything else, the second generation stratus design is very sporty and attractive, even the sedans!

Sub woofers sound great in these, too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

2002 Dodge Stratus SE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A reliable, economical car!

Faults:

It runs great! No problems.

General Comments:

This car is great for driving distances, it's weakness is city driving. My fuel mileage on the highway averages 30 mpg, but in city driving it drops to about 21 mpg.

The neighborhood I live in is built on the side of a very steep hill, so the only way for me to get to work each morning is uphill. The city rarely plows the streets in this neighborhood because they are so narrow, which makes winter driving here extremely challenging. The Stratus takes on the steep, snow covered streets easily and even put my neighbor's brand new Dodge Dakota to shame. It is an excellent winter car.

This is overall the best car I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

2002 Dodge Stratus R/T coupe V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A great bargain, but poor mechanics

Faults:

I have had my car for a year and a half now. It has been in the shop almost half of that. First it started as my car accelerating while idling at a red light. It would go up to 5-6,000 RPM's without being accelerated. They replaced my computer system for that problem. Next time this happened, I took it back to the dealership and they stated it was because of my transmission fluid. So they flushed that. About a month later, I have it back in the shop. The dealership is having to replace the flex plate in the transmission and all other parts in the transmission. (Which they will not disclose this information to me.) The technician who drove my car got the transmission stuck in first gear while trying to drive it in the auto stick. That didn't work!

General Comments:

So here it is three months later and I am still driving around in a rental. I love my car. I love the way it handles going around curves. I have also taken it to a few car club meetings and they are interested in seeing more R/T's in clubs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

8th Mar 2006, 20:14

Next time you want a sports car get one with an MANUAL transmission!

2002 Dodge Stratus RT from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great looking Dodge despite problems

Faults:

After 5000 miles I started getting a slight vibration that got increasingly worse. The dealer tole me it was normal. I didn't think so, so I had an independent mechanic try and balance the wheels. All four of my factory chrome rims were bent. Warranty replacement.

Auto-dimming rear view mirror stopped auto-dimming. Warranty replacement.

Bizarre cold weather squeaking from rear suspension. Bad knuckle and sway bar. Getting replaced tomorrow. It took the dealer 14 months to find the cause.

Molding below driver side door coming loose.

General Comments:

I love this car beside the fact that I have had all of the above problems.

It looks great when it is all cleaned up.

Gas mileage is adequate. Averaging 22 MPH. It could use another 30HP. Turning radius is similar to a mid size Winnebago!, but it handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

8th Mar 2006, 20:09

22 MPH??? You mean 22 MPG, right? What size engine does yours have? Mine has the 3.0 and will scream!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews