1996 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Eagle Talon ESI 2.0 non turbo from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

GREAT car to own and I love it!

Faults:

Timing belt went out at 150,000 miles and blew 2 valves.

Rear shock went out at 170,000 miles

A hesitation is occuring when I go to take off and climb hills (175,000 miles) and don't know what it is.

Radiator blew a hole in it at 175,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love my car very much. It was given to me by my dad. He didn't want to fix the timing belt and so I took it over and paid to fix it. I wouldn't trade this car for anything. I have no idea what the hesitation is from, but if anyone knows or has an idea, please let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2007

14th Sep 2010, 20:37

Check out the distributor coil, distributor cap, plugs and wires.

1996 Eagle Talon TSI 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual

Summary:

It's a lot fun

Faults:

The tranmission leaks, I think because I had the boost pushed up to about 22 pounds and it cracked the seal, but I kept up with an sti and messed up an R32 the other day.

General Comments:

The car is great. I would never sell it, it would have to blow up before I did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

21st Jul 2012, 20:22

I have a 95 Talon with a 16v DOHC 2000 TSI Turbo. It is currently the fastest 4 cylinder in Talledega.

1996 Eagle Talon from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

The timing belt broke at 150,000 miles while I was on the highway, which made two valves bend. I replaced the head gasket, I didn't have to, but did just to save time and money. Just the other day the belt tensioner broke.

General Comments:

Other than those few small and cheap problems, I love the Talon and wouldn't trade it for anything, and being a female, I like it because I can maintain it easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2005

1996 Eagle Talon TSI FWD 4 cylinder 2 Liter turbo DOHC from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 2 Liter turbo DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

Simply the Best... size doesn't matter... this 4 banger beats a 6 easy!

Faults:

Struts went bad around 80,000 miles.

Check engine light has come on a few times, when each of the oxygen sensors went out, and when I needed to clean my injectors.

Other than that, nothing besides scheduled maintenance. Different things go out after so many miles, but with this car, they lasted anywhere between 2,000 and 12,000 miles longer than they do normally.

Very dependable, I think it's more dependable than any of my family member's cars.

General Comments:

The acceleration is incredible, the gas mileage rocks, especially for a turbo.

Very smooth, quiet ride. Nice interior.

The overall style of the car is unmatched, in my opinion.

I would recommend to anyone, unbelieveable bang for the buck.

Through over eight years of it's life so far, it has barely depreciated in value.

I could never sell it. I adore this car.

It is everything I have ever wanted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

1996 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance93100 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

I got Crank Walk right after I bought the car at 91,250 miles.

The ball joint (recall) went out about 91,300 miles.

General Comments:

My car is extremely fast, handles wonderfully, and I wouldn't get rid of it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

1996 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L 16v DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v DOHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Pocket Rocket

Faults:

At 49,000 miles, the water pump died.

General Comments:

My Talon has been a great car. The car is 8 years old now, and it still runs (and looks) like the day it rolled off the assembly line.

The car has amazing performance from the factory, and the car's performance can be upgraded very cheaply and easily.

The car has held up very well, it sat outside for the last two winters and it still is rust-free. The only problem I've had was the water pump. The basic maintenance is a little expensive, but well worth it. The car gets around 21 mpg in the city and just about 30 mpg in the country.

The interior on my car still looks new, and I expect it to continue looking new for quite some time. Like all cars, my talon has developed a rattle that surfaces from time to time.

Overall, I would say talons are great cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews