1996 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1996 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 turbo Charged NOS from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Charged NOS Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Faults:

Hi, I am 17 I have two Eagle Talon's. My first car was a 1990 Eagle Talon TSI which I raced and gained a lot of money to buy my dream 96 Eagle Talon TSI. It runs great and replacing the trans. to 6 spd buying NOS and intake and exhaust topping my speeds. I did a lot of modifications. Currently I have no liscence due to the reason I got clocked at 140 in a 65! and now waiting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

8th Jan 2007, 22:14

You don't deserve a Talon.

1996 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

High Performance without the cost

Faults:

No major problems, replaced horn. Basic maintance, tires, spark plugs, filters, etc. Some wear spots on interior center council. No other problems.

General Comments:

Everyone who I have let drive my car makes it accelerate very fast, I guess they are used to pushing the pedal hard to go thirty. I love my car and I never intend to get rid of it. I strongly reccommend getting a K & N filter charger, I am currently getting 23mpg in the city. Only downside: The back seat is small, but who cares, put the seats down and forget you have one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

1996 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Faults:

- Drivers side window rattles.

- Overdrive light blew out.

- Needed new plugs/wires.

- Locks don't work sometimes.

- Trunk rattles when I hit bumps.

General Comments:

This car "EATS V-8's". I highly recommend this car as well as the Eclipse GSX. It's highly reliable if you turbo time the turbo for 2 minutes and warm up the car before driving. These cars are highly capable of hitting low 12 second quarter miles. I hit a 12.54, with a 16G Turbo. Planning to purchase a GREDDY 20G next month. Haha... bye bye Ferrari's/Porsches/SVT Cobra-R Mustangs/bla bla... it's honestly extremely fast, I'm good on gas, and all wheel drive handles beautifully...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

1996 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance87300 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A fast performance machine

Faults:

The plug wires and spark plugs went bad.

General Comments:

This car is very fast for a 4 cylinder and is very fun to drive.

It's easy on your wallet and saves you time and money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

9th Feb 2002, 12:23

I own a 1997 Eagle Talon ESi, and I must say that for the most part it's been a reliable car, but it's by all means a typical 16 valve car and not really THAT fast. The rpm range is decent, but gimme a car with more than 140 hp eh?

1996 Eagle Talon AWD TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota 4X4

Summary:

Unbeatable bang for the buck car

Faults:

Annoying noise from the passenger side door, possibly from the mirror but can't figure out for the life of me how to stop it.

Trunk could be bigger but that's what you get with a sports-type of car.

Power seats move too damn slow.

Slightly loud interior.

General Comments:

This is the best bang for the buck car around. All wheel drive simply can't be beat. And if you're a gear head type of guy and have the time & patience for bolting on a bigger turbo and a few other modifications... you'll see easy 12 second quarter mile times... that's blowing away stock Porsches at a fraction of the cost. Of course, it's no Porsche, but it's damn close, especially if you've ever priced insurance, tax and license on a Porsche.

All in all this is the best car I've ever owned and I couldn't be happier with it... It looks handles great, tons of traction, looks fast and is fast! You can use up that whole 160 MPH speedometer if you got the balls!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

1996 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0L Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.0L Turbo
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

Have gone through 3 turbos, and have had the bearings spun twice.

General Comments:

Thank God for the warranty; otherwise you're SOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 1998

22nd Jan 2001, 11:27

The reason you went through three turbos is because you failed to cool the car down, thus frying it.

29th Jan 2001, 15:13

I'd like to know how well you maintain the car if you're gonna gripe about it. Do you warm the car up in the morning, cool it down before shutting it down. If you took the time to read the owner's manual you'd see that it recommends that you let the car idle for 1-2 minutes after driving it.

3rd Mar 2001, 16:48

If your going to spend the extra money for a turbo at least take care of it!

It's apparent that you:

1) change oil religiously @ 3k (mobil 1 oil and filters are a must).

2) GET A TURBO TIMER! (That way you don't have to wait for the car to cool down).

24th Mar 2003, 12:19

I just received my 1995 Eagle Talon for a Valentine's Day gift and I am in love with it! I'm only 17 and it's a great first car. I only wish I could find an owner's manual! I do not have any inner lights when the car doesn't have it's lights on. On the other hand, I love it more than one light could make a difference. I think they are really sleek and sporty.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews