1993 Eagle Vision Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1993 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A dollar cigar for 50 cents

Faults:

A/C system completely shot. Replaced and failed again in 9 months.

Timing belt.

ABS controller.

Door hinges are shot.

Trunk is rusting badly at the seam.

Power seat frame broke. Bought a new seat and that frame broke too.

Suspension problems, recalled and in the shop right now.

Stereo failed and was replaced.

Really noisy at highway speeds (wind noise) and wipers float off the windshield above 65 mph.

Chrysler dealer service in Watertown, New York is seriously the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. I cringe at the thought of even taking my car there for recalls. I love the car, but would NEVER buy another one from my local dealer. I wish Chrysler would do something about it. I laugh out loud whenever I see the Chrysler 5 Star service commercials. What a joke, best joke I've heard all year. Hey Chrysler, feel free to contact me if you are curious about my story, you'll LOVE it.

toco1@yahoo.com.

I'll be buying a Honda next because I won't go to this dealer.

General Comments:

The 214 HP V6 runs great. I just love being able to put my foot down and go like crazy!

Even though the car has had problems, I still love the way it looks and drives. I wish I could buy another 1993 Vision TSI that was brand new, just not from my local dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

27th May 2006, 02:12

I am familiar with the problem you had at the Dealership in Watertown. I believe there is one in Potsdam (relatively close) that has pretty decent service. Hope that helps.

1993 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Great performance, few problems

Faults:

Transmission had to be replaced.

Air conditioning shot.

Rusting at the trunk seam.

General Comments:

This car is a great performance car, but it was the first year for Eagle, so I understand that they had some bugs to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

13th Apr 2004, 23:00

1993 Eagle Vision ESI. second transmission is being put in the car, it is the converter that keeps falling apart and gets clogged up in the transmission. I have had the car since 1995 now has 120,000 miles on it. The air conditioner, engine, and performance is still good, the inside plastic knobs and hardware that holds the power window/door components have had to be replaced, but the car is an Arizona car and is subjected to very high temperatures especially inside the car.

1993 Eagle Vision ESi 3.3L fi V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L fi V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Dependable, economical and really sexy

Faults:

Water pump wore out at 90,000 miles.

Crankshaft sensor replaced at 130,000 miles.

Air conditioner compressor required freon replacement (F-134a) at 100,000 miles.

Thermostat required replacement at 135,000 miles.

Right rear electric window stopped working at 99,500 miles.

At 138,000 miles the automatic transmission is leaking small amounts of fluid (seals).

General Comments:

All in all, this is a very very dependable car. The repairs listed above are nominal and to be expected at the above mileage intervals. The car sips gas despite the fact that I drive with a "lead foot". To do otherwise is to deny the car's excellent performance.

It drives like a thoroughbred, with incredible acceleration for a small V-6 in such a large car. Handling is still crisp, although new shocks would help.

This car has taken my family on nearly a dozen cross country trips with no trouble. At 100,000 miles the rear quarter panel was broad sided by a large pickup truck going 40 MPH, yet the alignment and handling of the car is unchanged. The only mechanical repair required was a new rear strut and rear wheel re-alignment. Although this is an eight year old car with very high miles, I am considering freshening it up and keeping it for the long haul.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 21:40

I purchased a 1994 Eagle Vision in Sept 1993. I ordered it new. It now has 78,000.

New A/C compressor and parts at 62,000, was $1100 at the dealer.

Timing belt broke at 62,000 miles, dealer cost $550.

Water pump at 68,000 miles, $500.

Two sets of plug wires, three sets of plugs.

Most serious, the driver's seat broke and I fought with the dealer to get it replaced. They finally did, then Chrysler came out with a recall.

Chrysler came out with a front wheel carrier recall after mine broke and the right front wheel came off at 25MPH, two miles after exiting the freeway. This cost my insurance company $2500.

Many broken plastic parts and two power antennas. Other than that it has run fine. This car is TSI and had every option Eagle offered, except I declined leather seats.

Car is still a delight and after a trans fluid change and a check on the scanner - transmission wonderful, I plan to drive this car forever.

Clear coat paint failed. It is interesting since I had a rear spoiler added before I took delivery, and the paint on it is better than any original paint on the rest of the car. Believe it is an application problem in the Canadian plant, but Chrylser says no, just live with it.

1993 Eagle Vision TSi 3.5L 24v V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.5L 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres

Summary:

Don't buy Chrysler

Faults:

Air conditioning system - everything compressor, dryer, etc. - shot at 90k.

Automatic transmission shot at 90k.

Power window switches were very flaky.

Both front door hinges were worn out.

Trunk lid rusting at the seam.

LED in the was stereo dead at 80k.

General Comments:

Nice car with terrible quality issues. A clone of the Dodge Intrepid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

1st Jul 2001, 09:49

Your led problem could be as simple as a piece needing to be resoldered. that is a HUGE problem with all dodge cars and it happened to my avenger, but not my eagle...yet.

1993 Eagle Vision 6 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 6 cyl
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Alignment, brakes, - both higher than normal wear.

Originally had trouble with starting - wouldn't do it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews