2013 Fiat 500 Abarth 1.6 turbo gas from North America

Summary:

Fun, FUN, fun. A pleasure with power

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Abarth is ultimately more fun than my old Mustang or Z. It's a little powerhouse that doesn’t shy away from a fight.

I love the engine growl and the kick.

It's got more room than you think, and is an awesome bang for the buck.

Fun; the most fun of any car I have ever owned. Worth every penny; a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2014

6th Jul 2014, 05:31

I know how you feel! You have to own and drive one to really appreciate just how much fun these little cars are. I had a red Pop, but just traded in for a black Sport model. The Pop only had 13,000 miles on it, but I liked the black Sport model so much, plus the deal the dealer made, I couldn't refuse. I agree, the most fun car on the planet that only Fiat owners will ever understand.

2013 Fiat 500 Abarth 1.6 turbo from North America

Summary:

Smiles for miles, amazing bang for the buck!

Faults:

I have had zero issues with this car at this time.

General Comments:

I was very unsure of the brand, and looked for months at many different vehicles, but I ended up with this Abarth and could not be happier.

It is not the fastest car on the road, but it sure sounds like it is, and it could not be more fun to drive.

Exhaust note is great, my wife said no way as soon as she heard it start at the dealer. Then we drove it and opinions quickly changed. It's perfect, sporty and mean sounding, but fades away to nothing once cruising at speed.

Easy to get in and out of, and comfortable to drive, even on longer trips.

The handling is amazing, and it's my favorite part of driving this car every day.

Cons - the headlights are too bright. I mean, that's not really a con for me, but I get flashed by other drivers every single time I drive at night in the country. I assume after I flash back they are blind and in the ditch behind me LOL?

Great handling means the bumps can be rough at time on bad roads, though this issue is mostly specific to the Abarth model due to the sport suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2014

28th Mar 2014, 18:25

Headlights are a simple fix. Have the dealer adjust them at the next oil change.

2013 Fiat 500 Sport 1.4 I4 from North America

Summary:

A car for cities -- which is where most of us spend ALL OF OUR TIME

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am most often behind the wheel of 4x4 vehicles. I'm not married to that arrangement, but that's just how things work out between employment and weekend activities (you are NOT going to take the Fiat 500 down the ol' access road or abandoned logging road).

I do drive regular cars, here and there, and have pretty strong opinions about what a car should do: handle very well; go quickly; use relatively little fuel; not be a money pit; not look like a sculptural interpretation of the color Beige; carry four passengers and/OR have impressive track times. The Fiat 500 does most of these.

The engine is fine for urban driving and will pull you along the highways. I have not taken this model on a proper road trip and have no idea how it would react to mountain passes. I do not like the sound of the engine when it is tasked -- like a lawnmower. I wouldn't suggest that this equates to durability issues, but to my ears it does sound sloppy and unrefined.

Despite the clunky engine feel, the Fiat 500 is still fun to rev-up and zip through and around bothersome traffic.

Handling is great. This IS a city car and it does the city well. Cornering is very good and requires little braking compared to compacts like the Corolla or Civic.

The interior is odd, like an upmarket fast-food joint. Not really my thing, but I have seen much worse. Seats and dash scuff-up easily, but you can just buff 'em out.

Seating and storage are somewhat limited. However, I hope that no one would purchase this as a family car, and not doing so would leave a lot of storage with the rear seats down -- plenty for groceries or the typical owner's trip to Ikea or whatever. Not sure that I would make adults sit in back for longer than 10 minutes. Comfort is just average, though the seat backs are nice and tall.

Fuel efficiency is good, though my mind is not blown given the car's low size and weight. Around 33 MPG in town.

Live in a good-sized city? Hate trying to work your way around awful urban planning and traffic jams? This thing might do the job.

I do not understand the whole (USA only) tiny-car-as-fashion-statement trend, and find it and the participants annoying. In the end, though, I think that the Fiat 500 transcends this stupidity by being good at what it's made for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2013

4th Feb 2014, 15:05

Don't worry about fuel mileage. When I first bought my Pop, I was getting 38 MPG in mixed driving. Now after around 12,000 miles, I'm averaging 41 MPG mixed driving. I guess it needed a break-in period. I have had zero problems with my Pop. I will buy another... too much fun to drive compared to other "boring" cars.

6th Jul 2014, 19:01

These kind of cars worry me over long term reliability. A model disappears in a country and returns later. I would rather buy a Civic or similar that's been around. Same with hybrids of all kinds, and that includes Honda. Give me a traditional drive train that runs regular gas. You still have high mileage; maybe not the highest, but it has long term durability that's been proven. I still remember the old Fiats in America, and it's not forgotten.

8th Jul 2014, 13:44

It's natural to have some hesitation, but what you are thinking of was from another generation over 30 years ago. Audi had major reliability issues back in the 1980's, and they disappeared for many years, only to come back and dominate the luxury car segment.

2013 Fiat 500 1.4 from North America

Summary:

Uncomfortable

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Nice looking car.

Good fuel mileage, but very uncomfortable to drive more than a few miles. I am 5'9" and the steering wheel is too far away. Would be nice to have a telescoping wheel.

The electric power steering is erratic.

The seats have no support for your thighs.

Overall, I would never buy another one, and would not recommend one to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2013

13th Jul 2013, 19:20

Did you actually drive the car before you purchased it?

I'm 185cm tall, and find my 500 TWINAIR perfect to drive and sit in!

28th Aug 2013, 17:02

Man, I can't believe that you find it uncomfortable! I am also 5'9", 165lb., and my Pop is extremely comfortable, no matter how long the ride. And, I have a bad back, so most cars/trucks kill my back after an hour or so, but not my Fiat.

9th Feb 2014, 18:54

I had a 2007 Yaris and sold it. I'm 6'1" (185cm) and it was the only car where I noticed what the original poster described - the steering wheel was too far and the pedals too close. Not that I couldn't drive the car, but in the long term it was an awkward driving position and I never got used to it. I did my driving lessons 20 years ago on a Geo Metro, it had half the space inside and I could hardly get on the seat, but it didn't had that 'steering wheel too far' kind of issue. I also had a older (2001) Yaris model (also called Echo), and despite having less legroom than the newer model, the steering wheel was at a perfect position.

9th Feb 2014, 18:55

I forgot to add, that I have probably longer legs in rapport to my arms/body size.