1995 Fiat Punto Reviews

1995 Fiat Punto 55 S 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Rubbish, badly made, and a money pit

Faults:

Bought as faulty (miss firing). Replaced coil pack (solved).

Needed new front discs and pads.

Head gasket went.

Engine spewing out oil because of head gasket.

One of the worst cars I have ever owned.

Everything about it is crap.

General Comments:

Would have been good if the head gaskets weren't so prone, and the manufacturer actually paid more attention to the quality of parts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2010

1995 Fiat Punto SX 1.1 from Turkey

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carRenault 11

Summary:

Fiat`s pride

Faults:

Actually nothing unexpected when considering the age..

General Comments:

An old-tech little car, but I still drive it with pleasure and have had no big problems..

I think Fiat is one of the best petrol-engine producers.. and this Punto confirms that lively..

I believe this Punto is the most reliable one of all its newer models. Well normally Grande Punto is too young to be commented correctly...

For the money you pay, this little car gives you bit more, plastic quality is `almost` OK!

So in short, all I can say to anyone who wants to buy a second-hand Punto is `get one especially with the 1.1 petrol-engine`.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2009

22nd Jul 2009, 05:00

You are right, I have one and now the engine passed 296 000 km, usual problems, but TUV was given with the second try, running 160 km / h is not a big deal on the highway.

1995 Fiat Punto 45 1.0 petrol from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Good city/short distance car. Not recommended for long trips

Faults:

Replaced a bulb in the back stop light.

Clutch replaced right after bought.

General Comments:

The car was bought pretty old, but in good condition, with the main idea that my wife would learn to drive on a cheap thing.

I have been surprised by how strong the car is - no problems at all, the engine does not burn oil and there are no leaks.

Maintenance costs in general are low for Punto, but this one has not required anything exceptional. Yes, the clutch was replaced, but it was about time for it - they do not last forever.

The Punto is a no thrills car, inside it is pretty simple. Seats are uncomfortable for a long drive. Dashboard is cheap plastic. Controls are limited.

When driving at fast speeds car is unstable. When going down a hill and the road is wet it is awful. I guess these come from the light weight.

The Punto is perfect for a city car and for short distance - economical, small, easy to park. The only negative is that it does not have assisted steering, so you might find it hard to turn the steering wheel when not in motion at first, but will get used to it fairly quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2009

1995 Fiat Punto SS50 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Victor

Summary:

Good value and price with top mechanics

Faults:

My Battery went last year at 100,000 and cost £25 to replace.

My Brake servo burst due to hardcity braking I do.

General Comments:

This is a good value for money car I paid 850 in 2000 and sold it for 800 last week.

Has served me very well and not cost me a thing hardly, never serviced it and it is a sweet as a nut.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

1995 Fiat Punto 55S 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

The exhaust front pipe went (£50 to replace)

Some welding was needed to the jack points because they had broken.

Front and back brakes needed replaced.

Handbrake didn't hold car.

CV gator needed replaced.

General Comments:

This has been a great first car. Although there seems to have been a lot of problems with the car you have to remember that it is old and the problems were easy and cheap to fix.

Interior is still in good condition.

There's a rattling sound comes from the clutch.

Quite a lot of road noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2005

1995 Fiat Punto SX 1109i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1109i Manual
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles

Summary:

I really like my car, nice and comfortable and quite nippy

Faults:

The only thing at first that went wrong with my car was the starter motor. I replaced it withing 3 days and then my car was back to normal. But last Friday (Friday 13th may 2005) I stopped at the traffic lights and my started revin, but my foot was not on the accelerator. When I got home I opened the bonnet and my car kept revin from 1 to 2 then back then 1 to 2 then back then all the way to 4000 revs, but the rev cable was not moving. Can someone try to explain please what might be the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

18th May 2005, 01:02

It should be the idle stepper (electric device which is in charge of regulating the engine rpms on idle)

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews