1995 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1995 Fiat Punto 55S 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

I gotta get me one of these!

Faults:

In the almost 6 years I had this car I had the following replaced/fixed:

Exhaust - don't know what the prob was, but it was £300 odd to sort out!

Head gasket - product recall thing I think or common fault?

Brake pipes - product recall again?

Bumper - but that was driver error!

Probably had more done. but I can't think of anything else!

General Comments:

Nice car, not too big, not too small. Plenty big enough to get a baby seat in the back. You can even get a bicycle in the boot, with the back seat down!

Colour was fading on the bonnet. Officailly called Rosso Red, a bit pinky.

Windscreen used to freeze inside something chronic. Seems to be the same on the 1999 edition I got last week!

Lovely little car till I wrote it off! May it live long as a donor to other Puntos!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

1995 Fiat Punto 55 SX 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Italy, nice food, good footballers, crap car makers

Faults:

Timing belt went.

Radiator blew.75.000 miles.

Head gasket went.75.000 miles.

Body of car damages easily. Have dent.

Window wiper fell off.80.000.

Is very costly due to electronic diagnostics.

Motors in window wiper and car window decided to stop functioning.

Break fluid tube sprung a leak.65.000 miles, causing gear seizure.

Clutch plate nearly collapsed through the floor. 79.00miles.

Plastic fixtures, like seat adjuster and door handles are very brittle, easily affected by frost, general use.

Back window wiper also decided to take early retirement.

General Comments:

I was delighted when I got the car as it looked great, but the problems with it have really depressed me and cost me a lot of money. It has some good points, like fuel economy, and is quite nippy if you are the only one in the car!,but as soon as I get some money I am going to bring this car for a one-way trip to the cliffs of Dover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

18th Dec 2004, 09:22

If the cars timing belt snapped it means the car wasnt correctly maintained.

14th Aug 2005, 11:43

If the head gasket goes on these cars it is usually because the cooling fan is not coming on (check connections) or because the coolent has no been changed. Both are due to poor maintenance. I think you have bought a poor example as your experiences are far from typical. Was your car owned previously by a penny pincher?

1995 Fiat Punto 55SX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Better than FIats of the old

Faults:

Wear and tear in some cases excessive.

General Comments:

Unlike older Fiats, this one is more reliable and better looking. I'm afraid though, Fiat still have an awful long way to go before they can match the Japanese cars for ease of driving and build quality. 73,000 miles for a Punto 1.1 is high, whereas for an equivalent Nissan Micra 1.0 this mileage is average.

Gearbox is stiff and clunky, clutch heavy, idle tick over is not at all smooth. Car feels tired but has f/s/h.

Foot rest is too far forward meaning an uncomfortable driving position.

Roomy & it looks good compared to a Fiat Uno!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

21st Dec 2004, 07:17

But I don't drive it like a racing car.

15th Nov 2005, 18:15

Well if you haven't someone else has, these are good little engines and they don't go into early retirement for no reason.

15th Mar 2009, 07:00

70.000 is not a lot, I've seen FIRE engines with 200.000 miles and more.

1995 Fiat Punto 55S 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Clutch broke after 2 months of ownership despite pre-delivery inspection by the Fiat dealer who I purchased the car from.

Door seals needed replacing due to water ingress.

Rear suspension radius arms needed work at 32,000 miles. A common fault apparently.

General niggles with the electrics, e.g. I lost count of the number of times I had to replace the rear brake light and number plate light bulbs.

General Comments:

Generally a very comfortable ride, if a little rattly.

Lovely and spacious car which happily accommodates 4 adults and luggage. Ideal car if you need a lot of space for not much money.

Loved pottering about town, less willing on long motorway journeys.

The engine is quite punchy for a 1.1.

Bad points: Lots of minor niggles and problems.

Build quality is atrocious, as is the bodywork - it only needs someone to lean against the car to dent it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews