1998 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1998 Fiat Punto GT 1.4 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles

Summary:

Badly built rocket on wheels made out of tin

Faults:

The handbrake mechanism froze up in the cold weather, two days later the handbrake stopped working altogether.

General Comments:

Dealer staff are complete idiots, forgot to put the oil filler cap on after a service. Thankfully no damage done. Dealer wouldn't give any sort of refund on the service bill after the car had to go back to them to be cleaned and for a new oil filler cap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

28th Feb 2001, 12:26

I'd have to agree with you about Fiat dealers, they're totally incompetent. Took the car for a service, all OK, apparently, 1 week later strange noise from the wheels, brake pads are worn down to the metal, totally wrecked the discs.

8th Mar 2001, 06:15

Yeah, the same thing has happened to me!!

The handbrake mechanism froze up and the whole handbrake cable snapped. Fiat charged about £100 to fix it. I later found out that the cables only cost £20, so must of charged me £40 per hour!!

I agree that their customer service are crap. I am currently in the process of making a full complaint to Fiat's Headquarters!!!

21st Apr 2001, 11:20

This is a common fault with GT's. don't put the hand brake on in cold weather is the only way round it.

20th Jul 2001, 13:26

Punto Cabriolet 1600. At only 54000 miles the differential exploded wrecking the gearbox casing. £1000 to replace the gearbox.

The timing belt is changed at 64000!

Sent a letter to headquarters, but as usual they cannot reply. Regarded myself as a Fiat enthusiast. No longer unless they can look after their customers.

25th Aug 2004, 04:33

I agree with everyone's comments about Fiat customer service being very very poor. I have a 2001 Sporting, and it's almost at the end of its warranty. Took it to 5 garages; they all said I had a problem with the ABS pump. So took it to a dealer, they did a diagnostic, said nothing wrong with the car's ABS, even though car is not braking and is very dangerous, as they drove it. Gave me a bill for £30 for the diagnostic, and sent me on my way.

When I argued there is something wrong, their next excuse was "sorry we couldn't get the car up on our ramps to check it properly" I think they are telling me porkies, and when my warranty runs out in a week and I take it back to the dealer, I think they will suddenly see the fault, tell me it will cost something like £800 for a new pump, and charge me for it as it will be out of warranty.

This is exactly what happened with another Fiat I had. They would not admit there was a fault. I threatened to take them court that time, and then they decided to do something about it. Once they sell a car, the customer service disappears.

1998 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno 45S

Summary:

Stylish pocket rocket

Faults:

A sensor had to replaced in the engine control unit.

A slow passenger side electric window.

General Comments:

Top car, looks well sounds good now I have just fitted a K&N air induction kit, this has given it better performance.

All in all a good performance bargain for a 1.2 16v engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

21st Apr 2001, 11:04

All puntos seem to have a slow passenger electric window.

8th May 2004, 16:29

This is a common problem because the passenger window isn't used as often, it tends to stiffen up.

Easily sorted with a bit of lubrication on the runners is all it needed for mine, and a quick up and down every so often. Don't use WD40, use a professional lubricant from a dealer, it won't smear oil all over your window, doesn't smell, and doesn't go gunky and attract dirt!

1998 Fiat Punto TD70 SX 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13334 miles
Most recent distance39451 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Fuel guzzling slug

Faults:

New discs and pads at 19,000 miles due to the near side calliper catching a disc.

New rear brake shoes and rear suspension bushes at 28,000 miles.

Just had new glow plugs fitted at 39,300 miles.

Also the car often refuses to turn over due to the code light staying on even though the whole immobiliser system, ignition, keys and locks were replaced a year ago because the supplying garage had lost the red (master) key.

General Comments:

To say this is a turbo diesel, the amount of fuel it uses you would think it was a V8. I struggle to get 300 miles out of a tank even driving sensibly. With all that fuel the thing drinks you would think it was a flyer, wrong, tractors ploughing fields go faster than this making overtaking trucks, never mind cars, a nightmare. It makes me think that Fiat forgot to hook up the turbo because I can't feel it. Take my advice, DON'T GET ONE OF THESE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

10th Dec 2000, 23:54

I would agree 100%. They are utter crap. I've owned a 1999 1.7 TDSX for six months and I can't wait to get rid of it. I too have problems getting 300 miles to a tank full, and considering diesel is now more expensive than unleaded, I wish I'd never bought the damned thing.

I've got one comment about the turbo on this car. The reason they're so slow is, being a Fiat, the turbo dropped off long ago!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 59 reviews