2004 Fiat Punto active sport 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland


Love - hate relationship with my punto!


Cooling fan was coming on from a cold start.

I am now on my 3rd horn, the previous 2 stopped working!

New slave cylinder for clutch to stop a rather irritating "clicking" noise when the clutch was released.

Starting problems - has failed on me a few times although 99% of the time it is fine, however there are a lot of bumps and rattles when starting from cold.

Irregular revs - they drop very very slowly - fiat admit it has a fault, but don't know what it is... surely that's why all cars have a warranty is it not?

Blowing exhaust - getting gradually worse!

Windscreen washer jets packed up.

General Comments:

Quick for a 1.2 - the 16v version is a lot quicker than the standard 8 valve believe me! It is also quicker than an equivalent corsa as I had one as a hire car and I noticed it was a lot slower straight away, the Punto is a very light car however which certainly helps!!

I like the steering, its very direct, but there is a fair bit of body roll so don't try and go around any corners too quickly.

Have had a handful of problems in its first 19,000 miles, nothing too major, but still very annoying.

Seats are quite comfortable and are fairly good on long journeys.

I will never buy another punto I don't think, I do really like the car, but I am forever wondering what will go wrong next, and also the depreciation is just ridiculous - bought new 18 months ago for £9000, now worth £4000, what a joke!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

2004 Fiat Punto ACTIVE 1.2 from UK and Ireland


Break down after break down


After a week of having the car the brakes failed on me. I ended up hitting someone (not hard) but not the point. This was June 2005.

In July 05 the engine malfunction light came on, so I had another trip to the garage who then fixed it.

August 05 and the horn went so this needed to be fixed.

October 05 the engine started making funny noises, I took it to fiat in November who said it is the cam belt that has worn thin and needs replacing. 2 days after that the power steering packed in and the battery acid has leaked, corroding the battery.

General Comments:

I have decided to take the car back to the place where I bought it from where they are giving me a new car (not a punto). I found the people who work at fiat to be rude and were not interested in looking after me. Other than that the car is semi comfortable, has good controls and is nice to drive. Shame it kept going wrong! I think I had a friday afternoon job off the production line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

27th Mar 2006, 06:33

I have just read your review on the Punto and I have been to the garage 5 times about the power steering failing. I would like to know how you went about getting a new car. I have contacted Watchdog, Trading Standards, and Fiat Auto, and I do not want this car back.

My car is only 10 months old, and has done only 6.000 miles. I read that you had a problem with your power steering too. I have written to the finance people and am awaiting their reply. My friend has had the same problem with her car, so I encourage anyone and everyone who's had a fault with their power steering to please come forward!

2004 Fiat Punto Sporting 1.4 6-speed from UK and Ireland


Quick 6-speed machine

General Comments:

Performance is excellent for the 1.4 sporting with the 6 speed gearbox well matched to the engine.

Lot of extras for your money including air con, sports seats, leather trim, on board computer and lots of nice little touches inside the car.

0-60 in 9 seconds is excellent for a 1.4 and is capable of hitting 120+ in 6th gear.

Insurance group 7.

Would recommend this car to anyone thinking of choosing a Clio, Saxo, Corsa or Fiesta. Had doubts when I first bought it with it being a Fiat, but I wouldn't change it for any alternative excellent car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

28th May 2006, 06:00

I should have stated mine has been chipped, but Standard I can guarantee them figures. Standard I had 120 mph and 0-60 9.1 Secs.

4th Sep 2006, 12:28

After further testing I have to agree with the 120mph claim I also had my bhp tested as standard and had a reading of 100.4bhp I have heard its commen with this engine.

6th Sep 2006, 10:11

I've driven a few Punto's and I was not impressed. I picked a Clio over them, reason being the Punto's handling just wasn't up to that of the Clios, but then again the Clio is a cracking car and in sport trim there's not really another hot hatch that can touch it.

13th Jun 2007, 07:35

They are capable of doing 120. The 95bhp engine is sometimes under rated as 95bhp and can be more around 98-100bhp. I've got my 1.4 16v with a re-routed performance air supply, full stainless exhaust, full remap and engines been seen to (new internals) and it's pushing 135bhp and easily surpasses 130mph now in 6th.

It's a really tunable engine :)

3rd Jun 2008, 15:51

Hi, I have a 2004 Punto Sporting 1.4 16v with 6 gear, I have full stainless exhaust and induction kit with 17 inch alloys, blacked out windows and lights, and just getting lowered an extra 35mm. Can I ask where can I get my Punto chipped or remapped, and to what bhp and cost?