2003 Fiat Stilo Dynamic from UK and Ireland - Comments

20th Feb 2005, 12:33

My Fiat Stilo 1.9 turbo diesel estate has got to go. Just 13,000 miles it has been back to the garage seven times in total, including being towed in by the AA twice. Engine management light says engine fault, it has loss of power AA say its engine management fault, dealer keeps fitting turbos, and guess what its still not cured along with oil leaks and paint coming of the sills. I am told by the Fiat Area Manager that its the type of dust on scottish roads that causes the paint problem. I think he should take more water with it. In forty years this is without question the very worst car I have ever owned.

25th Jul 2005, 11:21

I have the 115BHP Turbo Diesel Estate. Excellent performance with good economy. Agree with previous comments re wheel geometry. Also, warning lights coming and going. However, overall a good car and I would buy again. Fiat has side protection plastic film kits to reduce stone chipping on the sills. No problems with oil leaks or oil consumption and dealers have been very good. Servicing costs the same as comparable cars as far as I can tell. The city setting for the power steering is actually very good and not just a gimmick.

1st Jan 2006, 06:29

I have an 03 ex-demonstrator 1.9 JTD Multi wagon.

It's a lovely car. Very comfortable, extremely frugal.55mpg on a run. Over 43 around town.

It has been back to the garage at least 4 times. With spurious fault lights. Particularly the air bag warning.

Quite often these lights go off if you just stop the engine for a few seconds.

New front tyres at about 22000mls.

The really serious fault was when the drivers seat went all the way forward on its own after I pressed the memory button. This meant that I could not get behind the wheel to drive the car, even though the engine was running. The AA man said that the battery was defective. The seat reset alright when the car was on his jump leads. I bought a new battery and the fault seemed to have disappeared.

However, the fault has now reappeared, but luckily this time the seat has not gone quite all the way forward so that I can just squeeze behind to drive with some difficulty. until I can get to the garage in the New Year.

I don't want to get rid of the car, but I cannot be doing with an unreliable one.

I cannot think why the seat adjustment is so big. I defy even the shortest person to drive the car with the seat that far forward.

25th Jan 2006, 06:47

Got a '03 1.2 Active. Reasonably well made, but not a patch on the solidity and ride of my previous Skoda. Engine management light s sometimes give false warnings and it always warns of failed rear light bulbs in cold weather. Doors freeze in very cold weather.

Burns as much oil as my old 2l Coupe Fiat and wears tyres in the same way.. Fiat family trademark?

Aircon packed up twice, once in Spain in the summer. Dealer tried to claim it wasn't covered by warranty, took a solicitors letter to get it fixed. Love Fiat dealers...

Average car, comfy, but dismal performance from the 1.2 motor, but excellent mpg at 14km/l.

Selling it for another Skoda. Sorry Fiat.

21st Jul 2006, 04:48

I've had my Stilo 1.2 for 4 years and I've enjoyed owning it.

I have to say that my front tyres were worn out at 22k and I've had various warning lights flashing intermittently - namely rear fog bulb out and currently engine light a problem.

I would consider buying another.

5th Aug 2006, 03:33

OK, we have a 2002 fiat stilo 1.6. I think this is possibly the worst car I have ever worked on (and that’s saying a lot)! Forever having warning lights come on and off air bags, ASR, engine warnings rear fog lights out when they're not. It’s starting to do my head in a bit. And now the battery has decided it will charge and discharge it's self (even when ignition is switched off) so frustrating.

13th Dec 2006, 10:04

I have a 3 door Fiat Stilo 1.6 Sport with 17" alloys.

First problem about 12 months ago was that the windows kept dropping while it was parked and unattended. Garage couldn't explain. Claimed to have referred to Fiat HQ. After 3rd attempt hasn't recurred.

Sep 2006 Car had it's 2yr service. Keys handed back with comment " only had to change a bulb" Ever since I 've had recurring Engine fault messages, loss of power, countless trips back to garage. AA Fiatcare didn't help. AA refused to tow to garage and "fixed" fault so I could drive car back to garage. Garage not happy. Ever since I've had more than five instances.

I have been a loyal Fiat customer for 12 years. This is the first time I've had a problem.

Still like the car. Just wish it was more reliable.

6th Feb 2007, 09:45

I've got a 2002 fiat stilo 1.6 dynamic and have had nothing, but problems since I've had it. I've had it now for about 6 months and within the first 2 months of having it it had to go back to the garage 5 times with engine management problems. New engine management unit was fitted 3 months ago and the problem has now started all over again. In cold conditions when it has been freezing at night it is impossible to open the passenger, so my partner has to go in through the driver side and climb over.

25th Feb 2007, 08:36

I have a 1.6 stilo dynamic which I have found to be very reliable until now. Whilst driving my engine fault light came on, I had no power in accelerating, car was vibrating and my wheels were shaking. anybody have any ideas on what could be the problem?

4th Apr 2007, 17:16

I have had a Fiat Stilo 1.8 Dynamic for a few months now the service light has been on since I've had it, but I just have not been able to get the money together for a service. I have had no problems until recently now randomly the ASR and ESP turn off along with an error message and tone. This isn't a major problem as of yet maybe a service will solve the problem. I am however running a very powerful amplifier off the battery maybe the huge draw of current is messing up the ECU. Hopefully I won't end up with any problems with the airbags ETC. If anybody else has this problem and knows how to fix it please email me at greeny200399@hotmail.com. I will post again if the service does fix it. I'm about to try reset the ECU as well.

Cheers.

Andy.

7th Sep 2007, 08:56

I have 1.8 dynamic anyone no how much to replace weight sensor in passenger seat?sharonwong@cwctv.net.

4th Jun 2008, 11:40

I have a 53 plate Fiat Stilo Active, about 1 month ago the engine blew up, cracked cylinder head, a complete melt down, with no warning. This was about a month after a service, I've regularly serviced the car and had every problem fixed, I even spent £60 on having a headlight bulb replaced, but only once, I must have had 6 or 7 in its lifetime. I now have the error message Oil pressure switch faulty, which I can't clear, I'm going to try the switching the ignition on and off a number of times, to see if this works, but knowing my luck it will probably cause another fault! Took it to the main dealer and told them the problem, they charged £80 and told me I had a problem and wanted £140 to look into it plus the prospect of having to replace the loom. I can't imagine ever buying a Fiat again, they look nice, but the build quality and backup is rubbish.