1995 Ford Aspire Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1995 Ford Aspire 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57981 miles
Most recent distance58222 miles

Summary:

Good little puddle jumper

Faults:

Windshield washer pump was shot when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This car is not your high performance sports car. It's very small and can be very slow off the line, but that's quickly overlooked once you take in factors like it's cheap running costs and it's ability to really zip around once you get it up to speed. I have never been fond of four cylinder cars, or cars without power steering. But, the Aspire changed my mind. The car's small size makes it easy to handle, and it's easy to get up to speed after you reach 30.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2002

1995 Ford Aspire 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

A gas saving car

Faults:

I have never had any problems with my Ford Aspire, because I drive responsibly. I have only had to replace windshield wipers and tires.

General Comments:

I enjoy the fact that I get an insane amount of mileage per gallon. I don't mind owning it even though my classmates think it's funny because I drive a small car. I believe the only downfall to the Aspire is its small size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

1995 Ford Aspire from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Excellent value in the economy car class!

Faults:

The only problem I've had to date with the car is a leaky rear main oil seal.

General Comments:

This is a great little car. Very cheap to run and well built for what it is. I can only assume that someone else built it for Ford in 1995. They don't have the resources to excel in the small car market.

This little car shines, but don't expect it turn left all day on a NASCAR track!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

16th Sep 2001, 11:10

Actually, Ford didn't make the engine, it's made by Mazda.

1st Mar 2002, 13:54

That last info. was wrong, the engine has KIA written all over it!!!

20th Sep 2003, 13:40

No in fact that is a Mazda engine the cars frame has Kia written all over it, but the engine is a Mazda design.

28th Nov 2006, 11:58

Actually if you look at the throttle body on the motor it has a mitsubishi symbol.

1995 Ford Aspire 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance107511 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A cute, cheap and reliable commuter with loads of space

Faults:

Unnerving rattle from transmission in low gears.

General Comments:

Great basic transportation. I have the four door hatchback and it's comfortable for commuting, but after a few hours it starts to wear you down.

Compared to almost any other subcompact, the Aspire holds up better in terms of styling and reliability.

Gas mileage is outstanding, I get almost 40mpg and that's with the automatic! My Aspire laughs at OPEC.

This car is actually a KIA and the engine is based on a Mazda design, it's cheap, small but reliable. If you need something that you can pick up used to commute with on a small budget you won't go wrong with this little beast.

Don't kid yourself though, any car in this class needs to be driven with care. The airbags are comforting but anti-lock brakes are an option you usually are not going to find on the Aspire, in fact the brakes lock up pretty quickly. The car is *tiny* like the Festiva before it or the Rio after.

I can see being obliterated by some SUV that would barely feel an impact.

Of course there is nothing about the Aspire that inspires aggressive driving or racing anyway.

Finally it's got an incredible amount of space inside, you can haul furniture with the back seat folded down. I've stuffed twenty five bags of groceries in it on one occasion and my sisters new easy chair on another. If you need to haul your life around between home and work you'll love the Aspire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

1995 Ford Aspire 2D from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73500 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great economy car; definitely worth its value

Faults:

Windshield wiper left a scratch along the windshield.

General Comments:

I bought a '95 Aspire from a small dealership for a great price.

I've found it to be a very reliable car. It gets about 30-35 miles per gallon for city driving, and 40+ miles per gallon for freeway driving. I've never had any problems with it. It's always started and run just fine.

I like the fact that mine is has a manual transmission. It doesn't have a whole lot of power on hills, but manually controlling the gear helps a lot. If you plan for it, you can manage hills okay.

The only other thing I can say is it's a great car. I love my Aspire. It doesn't look like much, but it's well worth its price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 46 reviews